Marantz NR1403 and NR1603 Slim Line Receiver Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 803 Old 12-11-2013, 04:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramman949 View Post

Pulling my hair out!

Why does this stupid thing constantly change volume levels every single time I change the channel on my Motorola cable box? One channel is loud and clear but once I change it, the marantz will say "offset -7" or -4 or -5, etc. is there a way to stop this?

I've already disabled dynamic eq (now it sounds flat) and while it helped some, it's still doing it. I'm about to return this junk if any of you good people can't help me. My denon 3312 doesn't do this with the same cable boxes. Nor does my lower end demon 1613. So why this thing is doing it, I don't know but I'm frustrated beyond words right now.

How can I stop this or disable the "offset -7" thing every time I change the channel.

/end rant.

Sorry! Just upset. Anyone got any advice?

Thank you.

As noted on p. 77 in your 1403 Owner's manual ... this offset is embedded in Dolby Digital tracks and cannot be turned off and actually should display the same on your 1613 and 3312 as well. You will find the same note below in those Denon model manuals as well.

ramman949 likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 803 Old 12-11-2013, 05:30 AM
Newbie
 
Cudi912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you JD for your help.

I did figure out the Foxtel issue, like you said, it was a menu setting on the box.

Re tv audio, I did attempt that previously but didn't turn off TV n AVR like you suggested. Also got a bit confused as I use a harmony remote. But I will give it another shot tonight. This will definitely come in handy for when my BD player displays the cinavia warning next time. Thanks again.
Cudi912 is offline  
post #633 of 803 Old 12-11-2013, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

As noted on p. 77 in your 1403 Owner's manual ... this offset is embedded in Dolby Digital tracks and cannot be turned off and actually should display the same on your 1613 and 3312 as well. You will find the same note below in those Denon model manuals as well.


Is this related to reference level at all?
milehighou is offline  
post #634 of 803 Old 12-11-2013, 09:20 AM
Member
 
ramman949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you JD.

This is unfortunate news. While both my Denons might have this feature, I only see the volume change per input. Not every time I change a channel. If they are doing it per channel, they must be doing a better job at it than this Marantz is because the volume is not changing as drastically. With the Marantz, going from one channel to another has the differences of either not hearing the people speak or the volume being where you want it or too loud. So if Im watching TV at night while the wife sleeps and I cant hear anything on a channel, I turn it up. But once I change it to another channel, it might be way to loud and wake her up. You really tell a difference at lower volumes. But neither my Denon 3312CI or 1603 do this. What a bummer. Its a nice looking unit. I only bought it because of its size. I should have just got another 1603. Its just for bedroom tv use.

I guess I will be returning this thing if there is no way to stop that issue.

Thank you JD.
ramman949 is offline  
post #635 of 803 Old 12-11-2013, 06:31 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
Both of my Denon AVRs do this so I'm quite surprised yours don't when connected to the same cable box. You may also want to consider using Dyn Volume and setting the Dyn EQ Reference Level Offset to 10db both of which will help to improve the center channel dialogue.
ramman949 likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #636 of 803 Old 12-12-2013, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
Gogx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am in dilemma between Marantz 1403 Vs Yamaha RX-V 375.I prefer music and from specification it seems that Marantz is better choice.On the other hand Yamaha have some advantages like usb,4k audio,conections..Anyone has experience with this two receivers?

Thanks for help guys!!

Gogx is offline  
post #637 of 803 Old 12-12-2013, 04:18 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
The Marantz will likey produce better audio fidelity as it can EQ the sub while the Yamaha cannot. Also, unless you plan on buying a new 4K BDP and 4K TV (> 85") this feature will likely be of no real benefit to you, not to mention by the time there is an abundance of real 4K content available there will likely be yet another HDMI spec change.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #638 of 803 Old 12-12-2013, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gogx View Post

I am in dilemma between Marantz 1403 Vs Yamaha RX-V 375.I prefer music and from specification it seems that Marantz is better choice.On the other hand Yamaha have some advantages like usb,4k audio,conections..Anyone has experience with this two receivers?
Thanks for help guys!!

I was considering the Yamaha too, but decided on Marantz due to all the great reviews. I think it's a better quality AVR. Look at the THD of the two receivers. Yamaha's is 0.9% while Marantz's is only 0.08%. That's a whole order of magnitude difference.
milehighou is offline  
post #639 of 803 Old 12-13-2013, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
Gogx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you both for quick answers.4K is as you say still in "future" especialy here where I live in Bosnia and Herzegovina.I do not have much choice here and price both of this receivers is about 400$-very expensive compare to USA.Also I noticed that Yamaha do not have HDMI pass through so you must have always receiver on if you are watching tv.As soon as I bought receiver I will write about my impressions.

Gogx is offline  
post #640 of 803 Old 12-13-2013, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gogx View Post

Thank you both for quick answers.4K is as you say still in "future" especialy here where I live in Bosnia and Herzegovina.I do not have much choice here and price both of this receivers is about 400$-very expensive compare to USA.Also I noticed that Yamaha do not have HDMI pass through so you must have always receiver on if you are watching tv.As soon as I bought receiver I will write about my impressions.

Good luck! For the same price, I think the Marantz is definitely a better deal smile.gif
milehighou is offline  
post #641 of 803 Old 12-14-2013, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can someone verify this is correct? I'd like to have my sub (and only my sub) EQ'd when listening to 2-channel music. I think I can achieve this by running the AVR in "bypass L/R" mode. I still like to have DEQ engaged with a reference offset of 10. Since I'm in bypass mode, DEQ will not affect my main speakers, either, right?
milehighou is offline  
post #642 of 803 Old 12-14-2013, 01:35 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
All speakers and the sub are EQ'd when the Audyssey setup is run. The "Bypass L/R" feature simply allows you to turn off the EQ processing on the FL/FR speakers, however, the other speakers and the sub would still have the EQ processing applied. With only a 2.1 setup, the effect of Dyn EQ would only apply to the subwoofer.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #643 of 803 Old 12-14-2013, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

All speakers and the sub are EQ'd when the Audyssey setup is run. The "Bypass L/R" feature simply allows you to turn off the EQ processing on the FL/FR speakers, however, the other speakers and the sub would still have the EQ processing applied. With only a 2.1 setup, the effect of Dyn EQ would only apply to the subwoofer.

Awesome, that's exactly what I was hoping for. I'm glad Marantz decided to include this option. I guess all receivers don't have this choice.
milehighou is offline  
post #644 of 803 Old 12-15-2013, 05:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post

Awesome, that's exactly what I was hoping for. I'm glad Marantz decided to include this option. I guess all receivers don't have this choice.

Denon and Marantz models with Audyssey do. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #645 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 07:02 AM
Newbie
 
Bieffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boochydog View Post

well, i think i actually solved this issue using a PS3 related comment from two pages back. i went to the PS3 screen under "Video Settings" and changed one of the settings from "LPCM" to "bitstream." when i made the switch, there was a warning that all sound from the BD may not be heard, but after the change the NR1403 display now says "DTS-HD MA" and the "dts" light is lit up when Inception is playing at 1080p and 48 kHz. the PCM light is also no longer lit on the display. in addition, DTS-HD MA is now an option when i press the MOVIE button on the remote. i think that took care of it!!!
But how abt what is said here
http://www.engadget.com/2009/04/21/hd-101-how-to-use-dolby-truehd-and-dts-hd-with-your-ps3/
So is urs correct or what is said here?
Bieffe is offline  
post #646 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 12:36 PM
Member
 
ramman949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*Update*

I called Marantz to see if they had anything to offer before I returned this thing. They told me that the "-7 reference" thing I see every time I change a channel is NOT normal behavior. They told me to disable Audyssey and dynamic volume all together. IF that didnt stop it, then to reset the unit and rerun Audyssey. And if that didnt fix it, to call them back. Hope it works because the volume offset thing every time I change the channel is bugging me.
ramman949 is offline  
post #647 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 01:06 PM
Member
 
ramman949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Disabling both and resetting didn't stop the reference thing.

JD, are you saying the "reference -7" is normal every time I change channels?
ramman949 is offline  
post #648 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramman949 View Post

Disabling both and resetting didn't stop the reference thing.

JD, are you saying the "reference -7" is normal every time I change channels?

I think this is normal. Whenever I switch HD cable channels, I see the same thing pop up for a few seconds (although, the numbers change).
ramman949 likes this.
milehighou is offline  
post #649 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 02:06 PM
Member
 
ramman949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post

I think this is normal. Whenever I switch HD cable channels, I see the same thing pop up for a few seconds (although, the numbers change).

Thank you for confirming. That's exactly what mine does. -7 to -4. How do you cope with that? It drives me nuts. Especially at night time listening when its low enough not to wake my wife, but the second I change channels its to quiet or too loud. Im constantly messing with the volume. I hate it.
ramman949 is offline  
post #650 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 02:37 PM
Member
 
CTOM9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here is what my new setup will be comprised of:

TV – Samsung 8500 (3D capable)
STB – FIOS HD
Blu Ray DVD – Oppo 103D
Media Player – Western Digital
Receiver – Marantz NR1403 (3D processing capable)

Ideally I am looking to leverage the Oppo video processing and Darby technology as much as possible. As I watch tv content well more than I will be using the Media Player, I am intending to run the FIOS STB into the Oppo and the Media player straight into the Marantz receiver. The receiver would then feed the TV as a single video source.

Setup Option #1:
1. FIOS STB into Oppo
2. Oppo into Marantz
3. Media Player also into Marantz
4. Marantz into TV
All above the above via HDMI

Or

Setup Option #2:
1. FIOS STB into Marantz
2. Media Player into Marantz
3. Marantz into OPPO
4. Oppo into TV
All above the above via HDMI




Questions:
1. Option #1 - If I have the Oppo send into the Marantz, and then Marantz into TV – does anyone know if I will lose the Darby enhancements by putting the marantz between the OPPO and the TV? Or, can I expect that the Marantz will pass through the Darby enhancement to the TV?
2. Option #2 - Can I have the FIOS STB, and Media player go into the Marantz, then have Marantz into Oppo with Oppo into TV? If I go this route – how can I ensure that Audio output stays at the Marantz and doesn’t get transferred up to the Oppo?


Thank you!
CTOM9 is offline  
post #651 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 02:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
^^
Option #2 is out as there would have to be a cable back from the Oppo to the Marantz for BD/DVD audio and doing so may cause feedback. So Option #1 would likely be your best bet.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #652 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 02:50 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramman949 View Post

*Update*

I called Marantz to see if they had anything to offer before I returned this thing. They told me that the "-7 reference" thing I see every time I change a channel is NOT normal behavior. They told me to disable Audyssey and dynamic volume all together. IF that didnt stop it, then to reset the unit and rerun Audyssey. And if that didnt fix it, to call them back. Hope it works because the volume offset thing every time I change the channel is bugging me.

Sorry, but you were given bad info ... it is indeed very normal and listed in your Owner's manual as I pointed out to you last week.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #653 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 03:03 PM
Member
 
wronganswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramman949 View Post

Disabling both and resetting didn't stop the reference thing.

JD, are you saying the "reference -7" is normal every time I change channels?
I have a Denon 1913 and it does the same. Is normal in Marantz and Denon avr's
wronganswer is offline  
post #654 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 03:11 PM
Member
 
CTOM9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
Option #2 is out as there would have to be a cable back from the Oppo to the Marantz for BD/DVD audio and doing so may cause feedback. So Option #1 would likely be your best bet with the video processing in the AVR disabled.

So I'm disabling the AVR in the Marantz - and this would serve to have it act strictly as a pass through for video correct? (Same video signal it gets in is what it would also send out to the tv?) Thanks.
CTOM9 is offline  
post #655 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 03:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
Oops ... no video processing on the 1403, so nothing to disable. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #656 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 04:52 PM
Member
 
ramman949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wronganswer View Post

I
I have a Denon 1913 and it does the same. Is normal in Marantz and Denon avr's


That's crazy. I have the denon 1613? And 3312 and they only do this between inputs, not channels. If they are doing this under my nose, they are doing a much better job at it. Because on the same tv, same cable box, my volume is not going all over the place.
ramman949 is offline  
post #657 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramman949 View Post

Thank you for confirming. That's exactly what mine does. -7 to -4. How do you cope with that? It drives me nuts. Especially at night time listening when its low enough not to wake my wife, but the second I change channels its to quiet or too loud. Im constantly messing with the volume. I hate it.

No problem smile.gif

I don't notice big differences in sound when changing channels, although maybe it's related to your cable? Some of my channels are a little different. I might not notice it much because I don't do a lot of channel surfing. Most of the time, I'm watching shows I recorded on DVR.
milehighou is offline  
post #658 of 803 Old 12-16-2013, 10:48 PM
Member
 
ramman949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post

No problem smile.gif

I don't notice big differences in sound when changing channels, although maybe it's related to your cable? Some of my channels are a little different. I might not notice it much because I don't do a lot of channel surfing. Most of the time, I'm watching shows I recorded on DVR.


I suspect its a combination of my cable box and the Marantz. I plugged the optical cable from the cable box to the Marantz and it STOPPED showing "offset -7" every time i switched channels, but it limited me to PLII sound output only. No more Dolby digital or DTS. I give up. Im off to find another slim looking AVR.

Thank you to everyone who helped.
ramman949 is offline  
post #659 of 803 Old 12-17-2013, 05:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,598
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2031 Post(s)
Liked: 1758
^^
There is no DTS on cable/sat TV rather the best that can be passed is DD 5.1 which can pass over an optical cable. Check the settings on your cable box. The offset display will appear whenever there is a change in value (eg. going from SD PCM 2.0 channel to a HD DD 5.1 channel).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #660 of 803 Old 12-17-2013, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
There is no DTS on cable/sat TV rather the best that can be passed is DD 5.1 which can pass over an optical cable. Check the settings on your cable box.

^^^ This.

Usually there is a setting under "audio" on your cable box where you can tell it optical, HDMI, etc.
milehighou is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Nr1403 Slim Line Av Receiver , Marantz Nr1603 Slim Line Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr1403 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off