Marantz NR1403 and NR1603 Slim Line Receiver Thread - Page 27 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 798 Old 06-13-2014, 05:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,123
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1813 Post(s)
Liked: 1714
^^
TV - Anynet+ set to ON, audio set to External speakers
AVR - HDMI Control set to ON

Although the cable shouldn't matter, try changing the cable from the AVR to the TV. Also, there's always the optical from the TV to the AVR which for many is the better connection as it can pass DD 5.1 as well as the AVR not always changing to TV Audio when you don't want it to.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 798 Old 06-13-2014, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
joeybutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Gang, I have one time been able to airplay over Zone 2 without interfering with zone 1. I got it to happen again but was a huge pita. Now I can't get it to do it.

Was I dreaming? what am I missing here? Thanks!
joeybutts is offline  
post #783 of 798 Old 06-13-2014, 06:16 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,123
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1813 Post(s)
Liked: 1714
Will normally interfere by design.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #784 of 798 Old 06-27-2014, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I had the Marantz NR1403,
I changed to the Yamaha slimline RX-S600.
The auto setup was spot on to my old manual settings.
I use Cambridge min 11 speakers,
The difference in sound was a walkover,
Sky tv Digital tv Disc players huge success soundwise
coenish is offline  
post #785 of 798 Old 07-01-2014, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry in advance because I'm sure this has been asked a lot but are the 50 wpc in the NR 1403 enough to drive 5 channels? I have the andrew jones pioneer speaker set and everything I've read seems like it would be enough however I would like some owner input on this. My pioneer avr crapped out on me and I'm looking to replace it/ get a slight upgrade (it was the cheapest one I could find). thanks
majortom412 is offline  
post #786 of 798 Old 07-01-2014, 05:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,123
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1813 Post(s)
Liked: 1714
^^
It wouldn't be sold as a 5CH AVR if it couldn't.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #787 of 798 Old 08-19-2014, 10:09 AM
Member
 
zerodeefex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Jose/Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any clues as to the output voltage for the preouts on the 1603 model?
zerodeefex is offline  
post #788 of 798 Old 08-19-2014, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
insync44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Would the Marantz 1403 be enough to drive my B&W 802 Matrix Series 2 speakers? Replacing my Yammy 671. Would that be considered a step up in sound? Only reason I'm asking is that I picked up the Marantz yesterday for $250 CDN at BestBuy.ca (one day sale only).
insync44 is offline  
post #789 of 798 Old 08-28-2014, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Just bought an AppleTV and trying to determine which HDMI input to connect to, Media Player or Aux input? Is it possible to reassign HDMI imputs, can I reassign the CD input so it outputs audio and video?

Last edited by mbroadus; 09-03-2014 at 12:36 PM.
mbroadus is offline  
post #790 of 798 Old 09-08-2014, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ColdsnapBryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Whats the difference between the cheaper and more expensive mode?
ColdsnapBryan is offline  
post #791 of 798 Old 09-08-2014, 05:34 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,123
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1813 Post(s)
Liked: 1714
More features and better version of Audyssey.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #792 of 798 Old 10-21-2014, 03:31 PM
Newbie
 
lacro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if the 1403 receiver has any 12v 100 MA output ports that could trigger a Niles Audio SPK-1? It's a switching devise to be able to use 2 amps with one set of speakers. It works by using a 12V 100 MA (min.) trigger to switch to the second amp. On a receiver with a switched 120V outlet, a 12V wall wart will trigger the switch when the receiver is powered on. I just wondered if there is any of the ports on the 1403 that are used to trigger other components might have 12V's available. I can trigger the switch another way, but using the receiver would be ideal....

Thanks,

Larry
lacro is offline  
post #793 of 798 Old 10-21-2014, 03:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,123
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1813 Post(s)
Liked: 1714
^^
No it does not as this is a feature only offered on the "SR" models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #794 of 798 Old 10-23-2014, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Would like to add a turntable to my NR-1504, first, can I do this? Looking at the Marantz TT42P Fully Automatic Belt Drive Turntable with On-Board Phono EQ (Link to turntable) The instructions indicate that I can plug it into the CD input, I'm assuming I connect the RCA plug into the CD Audio In on the receiver? Anyone know of a turntable that uses HDMI?

Last edited by mbroadus; 10-23-2014 at 01:41 PM.
mbroadus is offline  
post #795 of 798 Old Yesterday, 02:09 PM
Member
 
cacophonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've a 1603 that i bought from best buy early this year, and off late, its display seems to turn off. Every thing works ... i can change inputs, volume etc, but the display on the receiver goes blank after a few seconds of turning it on.
Anyone have this problem?
cacophonix is offline  
post #796 of 798 Old Today, 06:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,123
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1813 Post(s)
Liked: 1714
^^
The unit is likely set to PURE DIRECT mode which will cut off analog video processing to include the front panel display as you describe.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #797 of 798 Old Today, 11:03 AM
Member
 
cacophonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The unit is likely set to PURE DIRECT mode which will cut off analog video processing to include the front panel display as you describe.
Thanks for the response.

Turns out that the problem was with the display settings in the Menu. No idea how that happened,but somehow the display was turned off. Once i selected auto-off or on, the problem went away.

Great receiver though. Works very well and does what is expected of it.
cacophonix is offline  
post #798 of 798 Old Today, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Having a problem with my NR-1504 pass through when the receiver is on standby mode. When I turn my Panasonic 60VT60 on to watch TV without the receiver, the pass through will switch from cable/sat to TV audio and does not pass the signal to the display. I then have to use the remote to change the input to cable/sat which turns the receiver on and when I turn the receiver back off, it continues to work fine until I turn the TV off. Then we're back to square one when I turn the TV on the next time. Suggestions?
mbroadus is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Nr1403 Slim Line Av Receiver , Marantz Nr1603 Slim Line Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr1403 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off