Marantz NR1403 and NR1603 Slim Line Receiver Thread - Page 29 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #841 of 864 Old 02-20-2015, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 107
JD - I like to adjust Dynamic EQ Ref. Level Offset 0dB for movies and -10dB for TV viewing. Is there a way to quickly toggle between the two without having to go into the setup menu every time?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 864 Old 02-20-2015, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
JD - I like to adjust Dynamic EQ Ref. Level Offset 0dB for movies and -10dB for TV viewing. Is there a way to quickly toggle between the two without having to go into the setup menu every time?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I think you can have a setting for each input. On mine, I have it set to 15 for my cable box (even 10 adds too much bass for my liking) and 0 dB for my blu-ray player (PS4).
milehighou is offline  
post #843 of 864 Old 02-20-2015, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
I think you can have a setting for each input. On mine, I have it set to 15 for my cable box (even 10 adds too much bass for my liking) and 0 dB for my blu-ray player (PS4).

Thanks...there's input source level but I believe that's for all inputs.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #844 of 864 Old 02-20-2015, 01:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,622
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3348 Post(s)
Liked: 2079
^^
You could do it using a Harmony remote as IIRC there are discrete codes for each, otherwise with a 1603 you could also connect a component video cable and optical cable using another source name as the Reference Level Offset is saved independently for each source.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 02-20-2015 at 01:23 PM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #845 of 864 Old 02-20-2015, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
You could do it using a Harmony remote as IIRC there are discrete codes for each, otherwise with a 1603 you could also connect a component video cable and optical cable using another source name as the Reference Level Offset is saved independently for each source.

Thanks...I have a harmony 880 so I'll go in that direction.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #846 of 864 Old 02-20-2015, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I did indeed fill out the parts request form on website to order parts / accessories.
Based on this price, i would have to hold out for used stock. Kinda rare im sure, but i just assume get an original


Hello,



Thank You for submitting your request.
The replacement part you are inquiring about is currently available.
Part# 30701009900AM
Price $53.99
If you would like to place an order, please call our Parts Dept. at 201-762-2042.



Thank You

HT1: UN78HU9000 , AVR: AVR4311CI, AMP: UPA-7, SPKRS: L/R: Veritas 2.3I C: 2.0CI SUR: V2.0R, HGHT: V-MiniCx2, SUB: S10.3x2 ATMOS: 4X RC-6C, NUC i5/XBMC**
HT2: LC80LE844U, AVR: AVR3312CI, SPKRS: L/C/R: Veritas 2.2C, SUR: RC-RCRx2, SUB: 10.3x1, MC0001/XBMC**
STORAGE: DS1812, DX513 x 2 - 4TBx18 Hybrid Raid, (It Just Works!!) R/C: OneX2, 880x1
nc88keyz is offline  
post #847 of 864 Old 02-21-2015, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
JD - I like to adjust Dynamic EQ Ref. Level Offset 0dB for movies and -10dB for TV viewing. Is there a way to quickly toggle between the two without having to go into the setup menu every time?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Tonight I put in a blu-ray movie and remembered that that I needed to change the Dynamic EQ Ref. Level Offset from -10dB to 0dB for the movie. I went to change it and it was already set to 0dB and when I was done watching the movie, I went to check RLO again while watching TV and it was set at -10dB which leads me to believe that the level must be set via input. Anyone know for sure?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #848 of 864 Old 02-21-2015, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Still lll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey guys! I just got my Marantz nr1403. Ran Audyssey and everthing checked out during test (Sub + 2 Front speakers).
For some reason, when I play any music/netflix my sub stays off. Tried switching sources (wii/xbox one/pc) and still no sub output. Here's my setup. 2 towers + E15HP sub hooked up to 2 monoblocks. Amps to high pass outputs on usp-1 preamp. HT inputs on pre to pre out on Marantz NR1403. Any help appreciated!

EDIT: Never mind! It is working now. At least on Xbox One. Trying other sources now
EDIT 2: Sub worked for 30 mins before it stopped working. Still no luck after changing cables. Sub works fine with Audyssey test. Any ideas?

PROBLEM SOLVED: Changed speakers from LARGE to SMALL in the receiver's setting

Last edited by Still lll; 02-22-2015 at 12:54 AM.
Still lll is offline  
post #849 of 864 Old 02-22-2015, 05:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,622
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3348 Post(s)
Liked: 2079
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Tonight I put in a blu-ray movie and remembered that that I needed to change the Dynamic EQ Ref. Level Offset from -10dB to 0dB for the movie. I went to change it and it was already set to 0dB and when I was done watching the movie, I went to check RLO again while watching TV and it was set at -10dB which leads me to believe that the level must be set via input. Anyone know for sure?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes, as I already indicated in my previous post.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #850 of 864 Old 02-22-2015, 05:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,622
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3348 Post(s)
Liked: 2079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Still lll View Post
Hey guys! I just got my Marantz nr1403. Ran Audyssey and everthing checked out during test (Sub + 2 Front speakers).
For some reason, when I play any music/netflix my sub stays off. Tried switching sources (wii/xbox one/pc) and still no sub output. Here's my setup. 2 towers + E15HP sub hooked up to 2 monoblocks. Amps to high pass outputs on usp-1 preamp. HT inputs on pre to pre out on Marantz NR1403. Any help appreciated!

EDIT: Never mind! It is working now. At least on Xbox One. Trying other sources now
EDIT 2: Sub worked for 30 mins before it stopped working. Still no luck after changing cables. Sub works fine with Audyssey test. Any ideas?

PROBLEM SOLVED: Changed speakers from LARGE to SMALL in the receiver's setting
Whenever there is a subwoofer in the setup, you'll generally always want to set the FL/FR speakers to SMALL/80Hz. The sub is generally far more capable of playing lower frequencies than woofers in a speaker. Also, doing so will then always pass lower frequencies in stereo 2.0 music sources to the sub, otherwise not doing so the sub will only fire when playing a 5.1/7.1 audio signal.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #851 of 864 Old 02-22-2015, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Any way to toggle the signal mode display on the nr1603.. Ie I do not need to see Dolby D then five spaces then Direc...cut off. Is this a setting to see the dsp mode or input signal on the front display. ..? I would rather just se Directv or Kodi or FireTv

HT1: UN78HU9000 , AVR: AVR4311CI, AMP: UPA-7, SPKRS: L/R: Veritas 2.3I C: 2.0CI SUR: V2.0R, HGHT: V-MiniCx2, SUB: S10.3x2 ATMOS: 4X RC-6C, NUC i5/XBMC**
HT2: LC80LE844U, AVR: AVR3312CI, SPKRS: L/C/R: Veritas 2.2C, SUR: RC-RCRx2, SUB: 10.3x1, MC0001/XBMC**
STORAGE: DS1812, DX513 x 2 - 4TBx18 Hybrid Raid, (It Just Works!!) R/C: OneX2, 880x1
nc88keyz is offline  
post #852 of 864 Old 02-22-2015, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes, as I already indicated in my previous post.

I completely misread your previous post, thanks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #853 of 864 Old 02-22-2015, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've gone through every setting. Small annoyance . But it's a poor firmware programming decision. To have the signal mode static without switch g back to input only info. I realize I can turn it completely off. Or auto off. But silly to skip all that space and then cut off the input name. You get five characters only so BD FTV CD XBMC all work fine. Like I said minor annoyance and wasteful display usage.

HT1: UN78HU9000 , AVR: AVR4311CI, AMP: UPA-7, SPKRS: L/R: Veritas 2.3I C: 2.0CI SUR: V2.0R, HGHT: V-MiniCx2, SUB: S10.3x2 ATMOS: 4X RC-6C, NUC i5/XBMC**
HT2: LC80LE844U, AVR: AVR3312CI, SPKRS: L/C/R: Veritas 2.2C, SUR: RC-RCRx2, SUB: 10.3x1, MC0001/XBMC**
STORAGE: DS1812, DX513 x 2 - 4TBx18 Hybrid Raid, (It Just Works!!) R/C: OneX2, 880x1
nc88keyz is offline  
post #854 of 864 Old 02-22-2015, 07:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,622
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3348 Post(s)
Liked: 2079
Quote:
Originally Posted by nc88keyz View Post
Any way to toggle the signal mode display on the nr1603.. Ie I do not need to see Dolby D then five spaces then Direc...cut off. Is this a setting to see the dsp mode or input signal on the front display. ..? I would rather just se Directv or Kodi or FireTv
AFAIK, no.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #855 of 864 Old 02-22-2015, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nc88keyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Hey JD. Thanks for confirming what I figured anyways. I'm not displeased at all for 185.00. Love it for the bedroom. I may just go ahead and move some v mini cs in there now. Using an old velodyne ct120 and two polk m3 wedges now ..but this is night and day between my old panasonic xr55 solid state avr ... no hdmi was staring to become minor annoyance as well. The power is very clean on the 1603. And perfect half height... it was always on the list for bedroom but not at 400.500 bucks. And I rather enjoy network options as I likely would not have sprung for a 16 over a 14 or 15 series. Lovin' it seller is meeting me half way on original remote. As it was kinda vague in listing what was included not included.

HT1: UN78HU9000 , AVR: AVR4311CI, AMP: UPA-7, SPKRS: L/R: Veritas 2.3I C: 2.0CI SUR: V2.0R, HGHT: V-MiniCx2, SUB: S10.3x2 ATMOS: 4X RC-6C, NUC i5/XBMC**
HT2: LC80LE844U, AVR: AVR3312CI, SPKRS: L/C/R: Veritas 2.2C, SUR: RC-RCRx2, SUB: 10.3x1, MC0001/XBMC**
STORAGE: DS1812, DX513 x 2 - 4TBx18 Hybrid Raid, (It Just Works!!) R/C: OneX2, 880x1
nc88keyz is offline  
post #856 of 864 Old 02-23-2015, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Tonight I put in a blu-ray movie and remembered that that I needed to change the Dynamic EQ Ref. Level Offset from -10dB to 0dB for the movie. I went to change it and it was already set to 0dB and when I was done watching the movie, I went to check RLO again while watching TV and it was set at -10dB which leads me to believe that the level must be set via input. Anyone know for sure?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yep, it should remember what you have it set to for each input.

How are you all liking the 10 dB offset for TV? I'm finding it usually produces too much bass. I was watching the Oscars last night, and it was a lot better at 15 dB.
milehighou is offline  
post #857 of 864 Old 02-23-2015, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
Yep, it should remember what you have it set to for each input.

How are you all liking the 10 dB offset for TV? I'm finding it usually produces too much bass. I was watching the Oscars last night, and it was a lot better at 15 dB.
No, didn't notice any boominess or excessive bass during the oscars. I do notice excessive or "artificial" bass on some TV shows.

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #858 of 864 Old 02-23-2015, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
No, didn't notice any boominess or excessive bass during the oscars. I do notice excessive or "artificial" bass on some TV shows.
Thanks. Yeah, I notice it a lot on certain TV shows. A lot of them seem to like playing deep bass in the background during some scenes. It gets a little annoying after a while. Not sure if they're mixed that way or it's the DEQ. It's probably a combination of both. Anyway, it's nice to be able to tweak things with the reference offset. If it weren't for that, I'd never use DEQ for TV.
milehighou is offline  
post #859 of 864 Old 02-23-2015, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
Thanks. Yeah, I notice it a lot on certain TV shows. A lot of them seem to like playing deep bass in the background during some scenes. It gets a little annoying after a while. Not sure if they're mixed that way or it's the DEQ. It's probably a combination of both. Anyway, it's nice to be able to tweak things with the reference offset. If it weren't for that, I'd never use DEQ for TV.

Definitely show sound mixers, especially during comedies like Big Bang Theory. Yes, starting to enjoy DEQ now that I'm learning more about it.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #860 of 864 Old 02-24-2015, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 107
There was an update today, anyone know why?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60VT60 Calibrated by Chad B / Marantz NR-1504 / SVS PC-2000 / Velodyne CHT Front Row / AppleTV 3 / Sony PS4
mbroadus is offline  
post #861 of 864 Old 03-06-2015, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Bent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this thread is huge, and I haven't been here for a long time... I hope I can just jump in and quickly ask a couple questions before jumping to a purchase.
I'm looking for a replacement avr, my old Harmon Kardon AVR 525 is finished and I'm thinking the nr1403 will do what I need.

Does the 1403 have discrete IR input selections and discrete power on and power off?
does the automatic set-up eq work well - and does it do the subwoofer as well?

I'm still undecided if I want to look for a 7 channel or if I'd be happy with 5 channel like I've been using for the longest time already..
Bent is offline  
post #862 of 864 Old 03-06-2015, 11:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,622
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3348 Post(s)
Liked: 2079
^^
The IR remote control comes with a single power on/off button for the AVR itself and although will select individual sources does not also power them on. Audyssey works to EQ both speakers and subwoofer.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 03-06-2015 at 11:17 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #863 of 864 Old 03-07-2015, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Bent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it looks like i missed my opportunity to buy the 1403... Thanks, ill keep looking.
Bent is offline  
post #864 of 864 Unread Today, 03:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have hearing aids that can accept a Bluetooth audio signal from a Bluetooth transmitter that gets a stereo audio signal. I have used my DirecTV box audio out to stream the audio to my hearing aids but I would like to have any device connected to my receiver (DirecTV, DVD, Apple TV) audio to be streamed.
I found out that Marantz has such an audio signal called Pre Out. I tried to connect it to my Bluetooth streamer but nothing is coming out. I even put a set of headphones on it but I hear nothing whether the HDMI sound goes to the TV or the Amplifier.
So my question is: Is the Pre out signal, from the Marantz NR-1403, a regular audio signal that I can use with my Bluetooth audio streamer?
Aradman is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Nr1403 Slim Line Av Receiver , Marantz Nr1603 Slim Line Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr1403 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off