Marantz NR1403 and NR1603 Slim Line Receiver Thread - Page 30 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRDave View Post
Tell me a bit more about the Bluetooth transmitter you have such as type and model number and I'll look.


Sent from using Tapatalk
It is a Rayson BTA-131.
Thank you for your help.
I ordered a headphone amplifier from Amazon just in case it works with the Marantz pre out.
Aradman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 12:43 PM
Member
 
RRDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wouldn't it be possible to just use the existing 1/4" headphone jack on the 1403 with a adapter cable as the input to the Rayson box? It looks like it has a 3.5mm input jack. Otherwise if this is not possible, than this:

http://www.parts-express.com/topping...utput--310-310

should work.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
RRDave is online now  
post #873 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 12:50 PM
Member
 
RRDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the headphone jack on the 1403 is available, than this:

http://www.parts-express.com/parts-e...-6-ft--240-069

May be all you need.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
RRDave is online now  
post #874 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRDave View Post
If the headphone jack on the 1403 is available, than this:

http://www.parts-express.com/parts-e...-6-ft--240-069

May be all you need.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
If the headphone jack is used, the speaker outputs are disabled. My wife wouldn't like that. She is listening to the TV using the speakers.
The pre out works in parallel with the speakers. I bought the https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to amplify the pre out output. What do you think?
Thank you
Aradman is offline  
post #875 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 01:04 PM
Member
 
RRDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see. Didn't know that. Than the amp may be your best bet.


Sent from using Tapatalk
RRDave is online now  
post #876 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRDave View Post
I see. Didn't know that. Than the amp may be your best bet.


Sent from using Tapatalk
Did you see my edited comment on the amplifier I bought?
Aradman is offline  
post #877 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 01:08 PM
Member
 
RRDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Might even want to check Craigslist. Really most any stereo amplifier would work as long as it has the inputs and headphone jack.


Sent from using Tapatalk
RRDave is online now  
post #878 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 01:35 PM
Member
 
RRDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the Pyle amp will not work. I believe this amp functions more as a "splitter", taking a already amplified headphone level output as its input and then splitting it to four outputs. The 12VDC, 150ma input seems to confirm this. That is not enough power for a true headphone amplifier.

If you would like to learn more, here's a good read:
http://www.goodcans.com/HeadphoneRev...oneAmp101.html

Dave


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
RRDave is online now  
post #879 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRDave View Post
I think the Pyle amp will not work. I believe this amp functions more as a "splitter", taking a already amplified headphone level output as its input and then splitting it to four outputs. The 12VDC, 150ma input seems to confirm this. That is not enough power for a true headphone amplifier.

If you would like to learn more, here's a good read:
http://www.goodcans.com/HeadphoneRev...oneAmp101.html

Dave


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Are you sure? I am really upset by all of this.
Aradman is offline  
post #880 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 02:09 PM
Member
 
RRDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty sure without actually trying it out myself. I know with certainty the topping amp would work. The unknown is the Rayson box. It's data sheet is vague in regards to its input specs "·2.5mm phone jack that accepts various kinds of Audio sources." It says to plug into a headphone jack, which means to me it is expecting an already amplified signal.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
RRDave is online now  
post #881 of 892 Old 03-28-2015, 02:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,826
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3437 Post(s)
Liked: 2105
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRDave View Post
The 1403 is still available at accessories forless.com. They are the authorized Marantz reseller for last year models and factory refurbs. Full factory warranty I believe.


Sent from using Tapatalk
Full 3 year factory warranty is only available with "new" in box units, while an authorized refurb would only have a 1 year warranty.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #882 of 892 Old 03-30-2015, 06:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRDave View Post
Pretty sure without actually trying it out myself. I know with certainty the topping amp would work. The unknown is the Rayson box. It's data sheet is vague in regards to its input specs "·2.5mm phone jack that accepts various kinds of Audio sources." It says to plug into a headphone jack, which means to me it is expecting an already amplified signal.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
You were absolutely right. It did not work.
Now I am finally going to do what I should have done first. I am going to get a couple of handymen to unmount the TV off the wall and I am going to connect the TV audio out to my hearing aid transmitter. End of story!!!
Aradman is offline  
post #883 of 892 Old 03-30-2015, 11:58 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,826
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3437 Post(s)
Liked: 2105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aradman View Post
I have hearing aids that can accept a Bluetooth audio signal from a Bluetooth transmitter that gets a stereo audio signal. I have used my DirecTV box audio out to stream the audio to my hearing aids but I would like to have any device connected to my receiver (DirecTV, DVD, Apple TV) audio to be streamed.
I found out that Marantz has such an audio signal called Pre Out. I tried to connect it to my Bluetooth streamer but nothing is coming out. I even put a set of headphones on it but I hear nothing whether the HDMI sound goes to the TV or the Amplifier.
So my question is: Is the Pre out signal, from the Marantz NR-1403, a regular audio signal that I can use with my Bluetooth audio streamer?
If you are using the red/white analog outputs from your DTV box connected to your Bluetooth transmitter, then as long as the AVR is set to STEREO mode, so to should the FL/FR pre-outs of the AVR work as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aradman View Post
You were absolutely right. It did not work.
Now I am finally going to do what I should have done first. I am going to get a couple of handymen to unmount the TV off the wall and I am going to connect the TV audio out to my hearing aid transmitter. End of story!!!
Doing so would require you connecting all of your sources directly to the TV instead of the AVR otherwise when connected to the AVR will only be transmitting video to the TV but no audio.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #884 of 892 Old 03-31-2015, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
If you are using the red/white analog outputs from your DTV box connected to your Bluetooth transmitter, then as long as the AVR is set to STEREO mode, so to should the FL/FR pre-outs of the AVR work as well.



Doing so would require you connecting all of your sources directly to the TV instead of the AVR otherwise when connected to the AVR will only be transmitting video to the TV but no audio.
You are not correct. You missed an important part of the thread where I wrote that I currently have a Pioneer receiver that has all of my home theater devices as HDMI inputs with one HDMI output to the TV. I am returning the Marantz receiver which I bought because I got misleading information that its pre-outs would be compatible with the Bluetooth transmitter. They are not and even the headphone amplifier did not generate a proper signal from those pre-outs.
Bottom line, I am back with the Pioneer for all my devices to use with my TV and I am going to connect the Panasonic TV Prog Out RCA audio outputs to my Bluetooth transmitter. I should have done that first instead of trying all of the other things.
Aradman is offline  
post #885 of 892 Old 03-31-2015, 08:09 AM
Member
 
RRDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you already confirmed that the Panny's RCA audio outputs work with the Bluetooth transmitter? Those may also be pre-out level output level connections where you may be in the same boat as the Marantz receiver, in other words looking for a proper amplifier to boost the signal to where the BT transmitter will work.


Sent from using Tapatalk
RRDave is online now  
post #886 of 892 Old 03-31-2015, 09:11 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,826
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3437 Post(s)
Liked: 2105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aradman View Post
You are not correct. You missed an important part of the thread where I wrote that I currently have a Pioneer receiver that has all of my home theater devices as HDMI inputs with one HDMI output to the TV. I am returning the Marantz receiver which I bought because I got misleading information that its pre-outs would be compatible with the Bluetooth transmitter. They are not and even the headphone amplifier did not generate a proper signal from those pre-outs.
Bottom line, I am back with the Pioneer for all my devices to use with my TV and I am going to connect the Panasonic TV Prog Out RCA audio outputs to my Bluetooth transmitter. I should have done that first instead of trying all of the other things.
More likely simply an incorrect setting on the AVR, but if you have already returned it, no way to confirm. However, my second note still applies ... no audio from the TV unless playing smart apps from the TV or sources connected directly to the TV.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #887 of 892 Old 03-31-2015, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRDave View Post
Have you already confirmed that the Panny's RCA audio outputs work with the Bluetooth transmitter? Those may also be pre-out level output level connections where you may be in the same boat as the Marantz receiver, in other words looking for a proper amplifier to boost the signal to where the BT transmitter will work.


Sent from using Tapatalk
The manual for the Panny shows the audio Prog. Out going to a VCR as an audio input. That is good enough for me.
Aradman is offline  
post #888 of 892 Old 03-31-2015, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
More likely simply an incorrect setting on the AVR, but if you have already returned it, no way to confirm. However, my second note still applies ... no audio from the TV unless playing smart apps from the TV or sources connected directly to the TV.

Incorrect again on the first part.
I checked all the AVR settings for the receiver, read the detailed manual that I got on-line and even called Marantz support. They confirmed that the Pre Out audio outputs are not suitable as regular audio inputs to other devices.
Like you said, I returned it and it is over for that approach.
As far as the second part, incorrect again.
Please see my response above to another post.
Aradman is offline  
post #889 of 892 Old 04-02-2015, 12:19 PM
Member
 
RRDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if you have the solution for this in place or not, but I just saw this:
http://www.mcmelectronics.com/produc...1343-/50-14818

In a catalog. Relatively cheap at $25. Disregard if solved.


Sent from using Tapatalk
RRDave is online now  
post #890 of 892 Old Today, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
drogulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Arlington, MA
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using my NR1403 with optical out from my Sony TV feeding a 2.1 system. I have a media player (WDTV) and cable box connected by HDMI directly to the TV then through the optical to the receiver. The problem is the optical 2 channel connection sounds like it doesn't mix down multichannel at all, probably because the TV only sends LF/RF with some sound schemes. Rather than connect a bunch of devices directly to the receiver, can I do the ARC connection from receiver to TV with my devices connected to the TV and get sound that way? That would allow me to keep my input settings for cable and media player. The question is whether all TV sound would go to the receiver with ARC (Amazon VOD, WDTV, cable). Thanks for any guidance.

ernie
drogulus is online now  
post #891 of 892 Old Today, 07:39 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,826
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3437 Post(s)
Liked: 2105
There would likely be no difference whether you use the optical output or HDMI(ARC) as the TV is likely only capable of receiving 2CH audio from the source device.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #892 of 892 Old Today, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
drogulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Arlington, MA
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see, it's a receive problem, not a send. My WDTV sends DTS/DD and the TV only sees LF/RF with no mixdown, which is OK for cable and Amazon, definitely not for the media player. So I connect everything to the receiver and lose the ability to set separate video settings (PC for WDTV, for example).

ernie
drogulus is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Nr1403 Slim Line Av Receiver , Marantz Nr1603 Slim Line Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Nr1403 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off