Help with Denon AVR-1612 Setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 05-05-2012, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
islanderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm following people's directions on setting up my receiver to my hdtv, blu ray and cable box. I have a panasonic plasma TC-P58V10 a sony blu ray and a denon avr-1612 receiver. I believe the cable box is a samsung. Each connection is hdmi. The way I have it configured is

Blu Ray hdmi out to receiver BD port in.
Cable box hdmi out to receiver SAT/CBL port in.
Receiver out to hdmi 1 on panasonic tv.

In this config I get no sound and no picture. If I setup the following everything works.

Cable box optical connection to receiver.
Cable box hdmi out to hdmi 1 on Panasonic tv.
Receiver out to hdmi2 on Panasonic tv.
Blu ray hdmi out to BD port in on receiver.

I know I can keep it this way, but I'd like to remove as many cables as possible. Is there some config I'm missing?
islanderman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 05-05-2012, 04:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,276
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1407 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
Try connecting the cable box to each of the other HDMI inputs first. If one works then connect the Blu Ray to another jack. Otherwise, go with the config that works as cable boxes often cause HDMI handshake issues which require bypassing the AVR.

For more help on your 1612, join us in the dedicated Denon AVR-XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig, especially reviewing posts #3-6 in that thread.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 05-06-2012, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
islanderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. I'll give that a shot. If everything runs through the receiver and then runs into the television, how do I end up watching a dvd as opposed to the tv. In other words with my setup now I switch the tv to hdmi 1 to view tv and switch the tv to video 1 to watch the dvd player. But with this configuration everything runs thru hdmi 1, so how does that work?

I will post to the xx12 thread the next time I start a post.
islanderman is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 05-06-2012, 05:28 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,276
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1407 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
When all sources are connected to the AVR, you simply select the source you want to watch on the TV (via the remote) to have the video pass through to the TV.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 05-07-2012, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
islanderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I tried all the inputs to the receiver and still I get no picture and no sound. I can pull up the menu for the 1612 receiver. However when I select 'TV' on the receivers remote I just get a blank screen, no sound either.
islanderman is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 05-07-2012, 08:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Why would you select TV if you have the sat receiver connected to the SAT/CBL input?

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 05-07-2012, 08:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,276
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1407 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
Quote:
Originally Posted by islanderman View Post

Ok, I tried all the inputs to the receiver and still I get no picture and no sound. I can pull up the menu for the 1612 receiver. However when I select 'TV' on the receivers remote I just get a blank screen, no sound either.

Unless you have reassigned an HDMI jack to "TV", selecting TV defaults to the audio input from the TV, either via an optical cable from the TV, or via ARC over the HDMI cable connecting the 1612 to the TV. In those two instances, the TV is actually the "source", otherwise, as afrogt notes, if you are using the cable box as the source, then you would select whatever HDMI jack you have the cable box plugged in to (eg. SAT/CBL).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 05-07-2012, 08:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
islanderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That was it. I was trying to use 'TV' as the input instead of 'SAT/CBL'. Working now. Thanks for the help.

Do you feel that the picture quality is the same going through the receiver as opposed to directly from the cable box?
islanderman is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 05-07-2012, 09:08 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,276
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1407 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
It should be as there is no video card in the 1612 ... strictly pass through, however, for the GUI to show up on the TV (to include volume display), you must pass the video source through the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 10-02-2012, 02:13 PM
Newbie
 
jonasfisher2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HELP!! I am going mad trying to get the Denon AVR 1612 gui to display on my 2006 vintage Sony Bravia KDL V32XBR1 . I have tried everything I can find on the web including resetting the processor and have talked with Denon. Still no gui. Could this be a handshake issue? I have run out of ideas.
jonasfisher2002 is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 10-02-2012, 03:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,276
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1407 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
Yup. Denon AVRs have had issues with older model Sony TVs in the past, so possibly the case with your model as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 02-07-2013, 02:05 PM
Member
 
dcnblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm considering the AVR-1612 as I'm looking for an audio processor that has a preout which can output a line level controllable mix of channels to my preamp. At the same time, I'd like to use the center channel speaker output (so not send the center channel or subwoofer to the preamp). I'm under the impression after looking at the manual that I can't do this with the AVR-1612, but if I'm wrong, please tell me how. Thank you.
dcnblues is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 02-07-2013, 04:30 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,276
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1407 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
The pre-outs on the 1612 can only be used for either the Surround Back or Front Height speakers to expand the 5.1 setup to a 7.1 setup. The lowest Denon model with FL/FR pre-outs is the 3312CI or newer 3313CI. You may want to consider the Marantz models all of which at a minimum have the FL/FR pre-outs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 02-08-2013, 08:59 AM
Member
 
dcnblues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you.
dcnblues is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 02-08-2013, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 43
which one is better for denon 1612, energy takes 5 or the jamo s?

Panasonic 60VT60
Energy RC 70 fronts
Energy RC LCR center
Energy RC LCR surrounds
Rythmik LV12R and Mirage Omni 12 subwoofers
Denon 2112CI
caloyzki is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1612 Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off