The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX13 Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 115 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
MarkEHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by From Batpig's 'Understanding Zones' FAQ 
With certain higher level Denon receivers, there is a bonus capability in that you can output digital audio to Zone 2 as long as it is 2.0 PCM via an S/PDIF connection (optical toslink or digital coax). So, practically, this will only really help with something like a CD player or MP3 player that is outputting two-channel digital PCM. It still won’t do much for your cable box outputting Dolby Digital. And it still won’t work with HDMI, only optical/coax. So, the analog cable solution described above is probably still your best bet.

Batpig,

Which higher-level AVR's support taking 2.0 PCM via S/PDIF to Zone 2?

Thanks,
MarkEHansen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 08:00 AM
Member
 
mwg47x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Buy.com an authorized seller of Denon receivers?
mwg47x is offline  
post #3423 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 08:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
AFAIK, no they are not.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3424 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 08:05 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkEHansen View Post

Batpig,
Which higher-level AVR's support taking 2.0 PCM via S/PDIF to Zone 2?
Thanks,

As I noted a few posts up, only 33XXCI (excluding 3313CI) and higher level 4XXX (excluding 4520CI) and 5XXX support this feature. Denon has dropped it from all current models.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3425 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
skidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Waconia, Minnesota
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I have a 2113ci and for some reason now it won't let me access Pandora, I hit the ok and please wait shows up for a second and then nothing. Anyone else have this issue, and what fixed it.

Panasonic TC-P65VT50
Denon 2113ci
Panasonic DMP-BDT220P
Ascend CMT-340SE L/R
Ascend CMT-340SE Center
Ascend CBM-170SE Surrounds
Klipsch RW12-D x 2
skidog is offline  
post #3426 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 08:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Please read post #3403 above.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3427 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
skidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Waconia, Minnesota
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Thanks jdsmoothie. I did a search but nothing came up.

Panasonic TC-P65VT50
Denon 2113ci
Panasonic DMP-BDT220P
Ascend CMT-340SE L/R
Ascend CMT-340SE Center
Ascend CBM-170SE Surrounds
Klipsch RW12-D x 2
skidog is offline  
post #3428 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 08:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Using the correct search words is key for more accurate results ... I used "Pandora issue" and it was the first post to pop up.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3429 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 10:51 AM
Member
 
DGCanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As an interim solution, I want to use an old but good Yamaha stereo receiver just to drive floor standing Paradigms for stereo music only. This is instead of an A/B speaker switch like older receivers. This would reside in the same room and TV stand/cabinet as the Denon.

From what I have read so far from this and batpig's excellent website, I should be able to use the 1713 zone 2 connects to the Yamy amp. Does this mean I can direct Airplay, or usb connected iPod or BlueRay played cds using the Denon that way?
DGCanuck is offline  
post #3430 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 10:56 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Nope, you can ... what it does mean however, is you can only pass "analog" external sources (ie. no HDMI or optical/digital coax).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3431 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
swizzchard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwg47x View Post

Is Buy.com an authorized seller of Denon receivers?
Buy.com themselves aren't, but like Amazon, buy.com is a marketplace and some sellers are. Often times wwstereo and others will post up on buy.com. Look for the 'ships and sold by' to see if its a authorized retailer.
swizzchard is offline  
post #3432 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 11:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Good point as I do recall seeing some authorized resellers from time to time, although most are not.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3433 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 11:48 AM
Member
 
DGCanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, but does that mean I would need analog connections to the Blueray or say an AppleTV v3 that has no analog connectors or is it just that the Denon dums it down from the existing HDMI digital connections when using the Denon analog outs?

My apologies if this is obvious but this is an important interim solution until I can matchup good home theater speakers and reasonably pure music stereo in the same room.
DGCanuck is offline  
post #3434 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 11:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Correct. Zone 2 ONLY accepts analog connected sources so if you have a source that doesn't have analog outputs, you'll need to purchase a 3rd party DAC that can convert the audio to analog.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3435 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 12:41 PM
Member
 
DGCanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks again. I am thinking the "going to digital" has more limitations than I anticipated at least with this Denon. So for the zone 2 use I can't plug in an iPod in the front USB port, can't use the AppleTV as a source but maybe use the analog connectors in the back of the BlueRay player so back to music cd's for zone 2? Seems like 2 steps forward and 1 back with this unit. I never thought I would be wishing for an A/B speaker switch.

At some point I was planning to use the zone 2 in another room so it's a good thing I have been made clear on this. Any recommendations for a simple DAC to do that or should I be looking at a higher model again?

I originally looked at an Onkyo 414 or 515 because of legacy device connections but didn't think I would need them. It seems I was right and wrong because it's the digital devices I would like to use like iPod, iPad, Apple TV are very limited at least as far as zone 2 music is concerned.
DGCanuck is offline  
post #3436 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,078
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1609
I do believe iPod connected via USB will go to Zone 2. I can test this later. Remember that AirPlay and other network steams also go to Zone 2.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #3437 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkEHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This is the digital to analog converter that was recommended to me on this thread:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?seq=1&format=2&p_id=6884&CAWELAID=1329453854&cagpspn=pla&gclid=CL3A2a-76rMCFQjznAodtl8A0A&ref=c

I haven't been able to try it yet, as the Denon hasn't arrived smile.gif any minute now...
MarkEHansen is offline  
post #3438 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
Bahamut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When i connect my laptopt to the front hdmi port on my avr1613. I dont get any video or audio? I have not try connectig my laptop to the other hdmi ports on the avr1613 yet. Also. Does the usb port on this av receiver support ntfs hard drive. I have optical cable connection with the tv and the receiver and a hdmi cable connecting tv to the hdmi out on the receiver
Bahamut is offline  
post #3439 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 01:53 PM
Member
 
DGCanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the link, thatDAC is simpler and cheaper than I expected. If I can select the optical out as a source from the Denon I have at least 4 Toslink cables kicking around. I think the new Apple TV v3 has an optical out but I don't want to mess up the 5.1 connection through HDMI to the receiver for downloaded movies. As long as I don't have an issue with my Cable box and need an optical connection for that. There is only one optical input on the back of this Denon.

Thanks also batpig I was not sure about Airplay as a good option so that helps too.

Maybe I am the only one seeking the ability to get good music out of floor standing speakers with zone 2 and retain the 5.1 out of another speaker set. Home theater versus music. The plan is to use in-wall speakers front and back with a center channel for the 5.1 but that's a reno after Christmas. That way I could have floor space for the Paradigm floor speakers and the Sub.
DGCanuck is offline  
post #3440 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 02:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahamut View Post

When i connect my laptopt to the front hdmi port on my avr1613. I dont get any video or audio? I have not try connectig my laptop to the other hdmi ports on the avr1613 yet. Also. Does the usb port on this av receiver support ntfs hard drive. I have optical cable connection with the tv and the receiver and a hdmi cable connecting tv to the hdmi out on the receiver

HTPC video cards often have problems connecting so try the ones on the rear panel as well. NTFS will not work, rather only FAT16 or FAT32.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_L12

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3441 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 02:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGCanuck View Post

Thanks again. I am thinking the "going to digital" has more limitations than I anticipated at least with this Denon. So for the zone 2 use I can't plug in an iPod in the front USB port, can't use the AppleTV as a source but maybe use the analog connectors in the back of the BlueRay player so back to music cd's for zone 2? Seems like 2 steps forward and 1 back with this unit. I never thought I would be wishing for an A/B speaker switch.
At some point I was planning to use the zone 2 in another room so it's a good thing I have been made clear on this. Any recommendations for a simple DAC to do that or should I be looking at a higher model again?
I originally looked at an Onkyo 414 or 515 because of legacy device connections but didn't think I would need them. It seems I was right and wrong because it's the digital devices I would like to use like iPod, iPad, Apple TV are very limited at least as far as zone 2 music is concerned.

USB input should work as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3442 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,078
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1609
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

I do believe iPod connected via USB will go to Zone 2. I can test this later. Remember that AirPlay and other network steams also go to Zone 2.

I just checked and confirmed that my iPhone plays to Zone 2 just fine when connected via USB.

That said, if your goal is to use Zone 2 as a dedicated high quality 2ch rig, you may be better off setting it up as "B" speakers. Assuming you don't need to use both at the same time, this would allow to to switch automatically between them and would remove any restrictions on source audio.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #3443 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 03:04 PM
Member
 
DGCanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow this is so much fun!!! Well maybe not but I am somewhat of a geek and want the challenge. I am about to pick up a Polk Audio DL250 set of 5 speakers. Are they the best home theater? I am assured they are not but at $249 here they will be an inexpensive transition and surely better than the TV speakers or the one speaker soundbar. Having the zone2 working will be the big bonus for me.
For a while these good looking little speakers will sit on top of the Paradigm floor standing fronts. Better speaker stands?cool.gif
DGCanuck is offline  
post #3444 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 03:25 PM
Member
 
DGCanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

I just checked and confirmed that my iPhone plays to Zone 2 just fine when connected via USB.
That said, if your goal is to use Zone 2 as a dedicated high quality 2ch rig, you may be better off setting it up as "B" speakers. Assuming you don't need to use both at the same time, this would allow to to switch automatically between them and would remove any restrictions on source audio.

Thanks, that's excellent on the iPod connect over usb. Should work for iPod, iPhone and iPad, they are all here.

I am confused by the last part because the 1713 does not have a B speaker option so that's why I was looking to run out of the zone 2 connection. Digging in my spare parts storage I have an old HK20, a good Yamaha and an older Onkyo receivers I can slide into the media center and hook up to the Paradigm 5SE v3's and would only switch on when listening to music. In the future, I could do the same to serve music to the back patio, etc.
DGCanuck is offline  
post #3445 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 08:18 PM
Member
 
njtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Might not be the right spot to post, but what is the best price would I be able to expect to find for the 2113ci? Thx
njtv is offline  
post #3446 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,078
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1609
Quote:
Originally Posted by DGCanuck View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

I just checked and confirmed that my iPhone plays to Zone 2 just fine when connected via USB.
That said, if your goal is to use Zone 2 as a dedicated high quality 2ch rig, you may be better off setting it up as "B" speakers. Assuming you don't need to use both at the same time, this would allow to to switch automatically between them and would remove any restrictions on source audio.

Thanks, that's excellent on the iPod connect over usb. Should work for iPod, iPhone and iPad, they are all here.

I am confused by the last part because the 1713 does not have a B speaker option so that's why I was looking to run out of the zone 2 connection. Digging in my spare parts storage I have an old HK20, a good Yamaha and an older Onkyo receivers I can slide into the media center and hook up to the Paradigm 5SE v3's and would only switch on when listening to music. In the future, I could do the same to serve music to the back patio, etc.

My bad, I forgot you had the 1713 which is only a 5.1 receiver.

IMO - if you are going to have another receiver in the same rack for the 2ch setup, and you already have to run extra cables, might as well just make direct connections from the components to the 2nd receiver (i.e. not even using zone 2 of the Denon as the "switcher"). Then it will be like two "parallel" setups, with the old boss powering the Paradigms for 2ch. If you want to access the Denon streaming sources you can still make an analog pre out connection from the 1713 to the 2nd receiver, but it will just be another input on the 2nd receiver. Just another option to consider.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #3447 of 10890 Old 12-01-2012, 10:33 PM
Member
 
PTS21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all. I have the 1913 and I recently bought a Panasonic VIERA TC-L55ET5 HDTV that does ARC at Input 2. My HDMI cable is one of the better ones from Monoprice that supports ARC.

I simply can't get the ARC to work and I'm not sure what I'm missing. Are there any settings I need to alter with the 1913?

Thanks in advance!
PTS21 is offline  
post #3448 of 10890 Old 12-02-2012, 01:36 AM
Newbie
 
Hillhounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgive me... This will be my first receiver purchase ever. I have 2 speakers on my patio that are in need of power and I would like to have 5.1 channels in the living room. I would like to only have to purchase one receiver and this have 2 zones.

The main feature I care about is Airplay. I would like to be able to select "Patio" and/or "Living Room" from the airplay speaker menu in iTunes. Please note the "and/or". There seems to be a lot of ambiguity about how independent the zones are in the 1913 and 2313CI models.

Is it possible to have streaming music in the zone 1 and not in zone 2? And vice versa? How about in both simoltaneously?

I'm not sure if I need the 1913 or 2313CI. I'm okay with a different manufacturer as well if these features are possible on it. I'm okay with buying an airport express if it saves me money.

Any help is appreciated.
Hillhounds is offline  
post #3449 of 10890 Old 12-02-2012, 03:06 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTS21 View Post

Hey all. I have the 1913 and I recently bought a Panasonic VIERA TC-L55ET5 HDTV that does ARC at Input 2. My HDMI cable is one of the better ones from Monoprice that supports ARC.
I simply can't get the ARC to work and I'm not sure what I'm missing. Are there any settings I need to alter with the 1913?
Thanks in advance!

First, understand that ALL HDMI cables surpport ARC, rather an HDMI cable is only limited by what "video" it can pass, either 1080p (High Speed) or lower resolution (Standard Speed). To enable ARC, you must set VierraLink on the TV to ON as well as to "external speakers" and then also set HDMI Control on the AVR to ON as well. Note however, that you will be limited to only stereo 2.0 using ARC, while if you connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR, you will also get DD 5.1 (eg. Netflix).

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_E5
PTS21 likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3450 of 10890 Old 12-02-2012, 03:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,772
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2107 Post(s)
Liked: 1775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillhounds View Post

Forgive me... This will be my first receiver purchase ever. I have 2 speakers on my patio that are in need of power and I would like to have 5.1 channels in the living room. I would like to only have to purchase one receiver and this have 2 zones.
The main feature I care about is Airplay. I would like to be able to select "Patio" and/or "Living Room" from the airplay speaker menu in iTunes. Please note the "and/or". There seems to be a lot of ambiguity about how independent the zones are in the 1913 and 2313CI models.
Is it possible to have streaming music in the zone 1 and not in zone 2? And vice versa? How about in both simoltaneously?
I'm not sure if I need the 1913 or 2313CI. I'm okay with a different manufacturer as well if these features are possible on it. I'm okay with buying an airport express if it saves me money.
Any help is appreciated.

No apologies necessary as this is where you can come to have all Denon XX13 questions answered (or at least try to get an answer) regardless of whether you own an XX13 model or are considering one. smile.gif

Airplay works the same in both the 1913 and the 2313CI (on all the network XX13 models in fact), in that although you can get independent Airplay to Zone 2 with another non-Airplay source playing in the main zone, you must first hijack the main zone with Airplay to get it to Zone 2, and THEN you can select (or reselect) another source in the main zone. So if someone is watching a movie in the main zone and you want to send an Airplay source to your patio speakers, you would have to interrupt the movie for a few minutes while you get Airplay going to Zone 2 and then you could return the main zone to the movie. Using an Airport Express or AppleTV would avoid this issue as well as the AppleTV can pass video whereas the on board Airplay can only do audio.

The 1913 can only use "powered" Zone 2 (ie. speaker posts) as it has no Zone 2 pre-outs, whereas the 2313CI can also use Zone 2 pre-outs to another (external) amp if you should ever decide to expand to 7.1 in the main zone. Note also, that there is never any issue when just playing a source to the main zone (as Zone 2 is simply turned OFF).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1513 Receiver , Denon Avr 1613 Receiver , Denon Avr 1713 Receiver , Denon Avr 1913 Receiver , Denon Avr 2113ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2313ci Receiver , Denon Avr 3313ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread - 2113ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off