The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX13 Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 175 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5221 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 05:34 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAYARTS View Post

Hi, currently I own a 2010 Sony Bravia TV set and a Denon 2113. Connected through HDMI. I also have connected an XBOX360, TviX mediabox and my UPC mediabox.

How do I configure that if I turn on the TV, my Denon is automatically turned on at the same HDMI input?
And, vice versa, when I shut off the last HDMI device, the Denon goes into standby mode?

Any help appreciated.

DJR.

You must change the HDMI Control setting (p. 106 OM) from it's default of "OFF" to "ON". Doing so "should" power off the devices although powering on again is not guaranteed. In some instances even the power off won't work ... just depends on how well the devices play together. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5222 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 05:54 AM
Newbie
 
BuffmanUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for getting back to me. The problem exists on more than one HDMI input port. At present I am not even sure whether it is a general bug in the equipment, I have a wrong setting somewhere or one (or both) of the AVR and bluray is defective.........
BuffmanUK is offline  
post #5223 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
BuffmanUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Try connecting the 1713 to each of the other HDMI inputs on the AVR to see if you get the same result. If not, leave it in that HDMI input. If yes, then the issue either lies with the DBT 1713 or the 2313CI. As you have a work around to resolve the issue (ie setting DBT1713 to PCM) you can either stick with that or perhaps try exchanging the 2313CI. The PCM setting results in no loss in audio quality.

Thanks for getting back to me. The problem exists on more than one HDMI input port. At present I am not even sure whether it is a general bug in the equipment, I have a wrong setting somewhere or one (or both) of the AVR and bluray is defective.........
BuffmanUK is offline  
post #5224 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 05:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
More than one, but have you tried them all?

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5225 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 06:04 AM
Newbie
 
BuffmanUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

More than one, but have you tried them all?

Just checked. Problem is on all HDMI ports.
BuffmanUK is offline  
post #5226 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 06:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
When having an issue with a particular device, it's always important to try EVERY available HDMI input as they are not all created equal. That said, as you can create the issue with more than one device it may be AVR related.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5227 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
ProfD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I personally hate having one HDMI port on the front of my 1613. I bought a 1912 last year, and I am almost certainly never going to use the new front HDMI port. I realize it was a strongly desired feature, but now I have one less HDMI port in the back of the 1613 over the 1612. Yes i know i could have purchased a more expensive 1713 or 1913 or higher for more HDMI ports, or a 1612, but I wanted the xx13, and I would prefer one more in the back over the front on my 1613.
ProfD is offline  
post #5228 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 06:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
For an extra $25 you can add (4) more HDMI inputs ..... smile.gif

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?seq=1&format=2&p_id=8203&CAWELAID=1329456281&cagpspn=pla&gclid=COHG6PSumrUCFQeynQodSVIANw

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5229 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
ProfD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks !!!
ProfD is offline  
post #5230 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 225
I noticed after I hooked up the Denon 3313 yesterday after I got it home there is a faint humming coming from my tv (Panasonic 50st50) in the upper right corner on one of the circuit boards. It was isolated to when I unplug/plug in the single hdmi from the 3313. It was actually in and out humming sound that I heard from 15 ft away at first. Never heard it before. It resided to a faint humming. But the initial loudness was briefly worrisome. I called Panasonic and thats when we isolated it to the plugging/unplugging the hdmi from the AVR.

DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Setup Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #5231 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84

I changed it to bitstream but it's still got the 'multi ch in' option. Does this mean it's still feeding pcm to my 3313?

As a reminder, this question and many more troubleshooting tips are answered in the troubleshooting guide linked in my sig.

Ok. Problem solved, secondary audio needed to be off...

DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Setup Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #5232 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 08:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Have you tried the other HDMI output on the 3313CI? Otherwise, it could be an issue with the HDMI board on the TV, especially if you have tried it on another TV and the issue doesn't present.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5233 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 08:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,965
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 986 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post

The 2313 is 4K ready, as is the current HDMI spec (if you have HDMI 1.4, 1.4a or 1.4b cables, you won't need new ones). I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for content, or affordable display devices...could be awhile yet. Although, if you DID find a display you can afford, the 2313 will upconvert all sources to 4K - how that will actually look, I have no idea.

I see these receivers 'upscale' to 4K from the Denon website, but it seems less clear if they can leave a 4K signal untouched and simply pass it through. Does anyone know for sure?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5234 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 09:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Yes, the Denon "CI" models can both pass through and upscale 4k.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5235 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Mike_L_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about replacing my 2309 with a 2313 because I would like to be able to access all of my music files (maybe video also) on my PC (Win 7) via wireless. I have searched this thread and believe that in addition to my existing router, I'll need to purchase a wireless bridge that then connects to the LAN port on the 2313. Am I correct so far? My question is, do the music files appear on the TV as they would on your PC and are you then able to navigate and create playlists without accessing the PC that resides in another room? Also, is there any limitation to the file size? Thanks for your help. Mike
Mike_L_H is offline  
post #5236 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
BuffmanUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

When having an issue with a particular device, it's always important to try EVERY available HDMI input as they are not all created equal. That said, as you can create the issue with more than one device it may be AVR related.
Any clue what?
BuffmanUK is offline  
post #5237 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 11:49 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Sorry, but no. If you can easily exchange it, I'd go that route.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5238 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 11:51 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Anyone sitting on the fence waiting for a good deal on a 2113CI may want to check out my post in the Great Found Deals forum. If you are considering a 1913 this sale may be incentive to upgrade to the 2113CI instead. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5239 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
BuffmanUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else have any suggestions. Batpig?
BuffmanUK is offline  
post #5240 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 225
What listening mode do you guys watch movies in? I have been testing the Dolby try HD audio on blu rays. I did notice some of my blu rays don't have the master hd audio. Why is that? Can you get them in the hd audio format?

DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Setup Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #5241 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
metalforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone - quick newb question. I recently upgraded to the 3313CI and am running Polk spkrs throughout - RT18 fronts, CSI-3 center, FXI3 surround (just 2) and a PSW404 sub. It seems as though I need to crank the volume to 3/4 or higher to get a nice loud sound in the room, and was wondering if I was missing something? I have been through the set up several times. Any suggestions would be AWESOME!
metalforever is offline  
post #5242 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 02:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Modern AVRs use a logarithmic volume scale such that the volume levels you are experiencing are to be expected and normal.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5243 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 02:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post

What listening mode do you guys watch movies in? I have been testing the Dolby try HD audio on blu rays. I did notice some of my blu rays don't have the master hd audio. Why is that? Can you get them in the hd audio format?

DD and DTS are competing audio technologies. Some BDs are recorded using DD TrueHD and others in DTS HD-MA. For a current list of those using each edit the "Audio" field on the right side of the page in the link below.

http://www.blu-raystats.com/Stats/TechStats.php

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5244 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84

What listening mode do you guys watch movies in? I have been testing the Dolby try HD audio on blu rays. I did notice some of my blu rays don't have the master hd audio. Why is that? Can you get them in the hd audio format?

DD and DTS are competing audio technologies. Some BDs are recorded using DD TrueHD and others in DTS HD-MA. For a current list of those using each edit the "Audio" field on the right side of the page in the link below.

http://www.blu-raystats.com/Stats/TechStats.php

I appreciate that link. Of the ones that still use LPCM it's not like it sounds like crap. The 3313 and 7.1 Definitive setup helps

DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Setup Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #5245 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 03:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
Still use LPCM? LPCM is the audio that is played by the AVR regardless of whether it's on the BD or results from the audio being decoded by either the Blu Ray player or the AVR, however, as it takes up far more space than either DD TrueHD or DTS HD-MA so most BDs do not have it. However, note that DD TrueHD and DTS HD-MA are simply "containers" that must be decoded/unzipped to LPCM which the AVR then can play. The audio is the same quality whether in LPCM form or it must be decoded from the DD/DTS format.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5246 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Still use LPCM? LPCM is the audio that is played by the AVR regardless of whether it's on the BD or results from the audio being decoded by either the Blu Ray player or the AVR, however, as it takes up far more space than either DD TrueHD or DTS HD-MA so most BDs do not have it. However, note that DD TrueHD and DTS HD-MA are simply "containers" that must be decoded/unzipped to LPCM which the AVR then can play. The audio is the same quality whether in LPCM form or it must be decoded from the DD/DTS format.

Ok, bare with me as my knowledge level is slim. Some of my blu rays say PCM 5.1 for audio rather than DTS Master or another. I put in Blood Diamond after I got the settings on my blu ray right and didn't have the option for DD TrueHD or DTS HD-MA.

DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Setup Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #5247 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 04:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
If you are familar with compressed PC files called "zip" files that must be "unzipped" before they can be read the same thing applies to audio. DD and DTS tracks are similar to "zip" files and must be "unzipped" to PCM in order for the AVR to play them. BDs that have PCM 5.1 audio is already "unzipped" so there is no further work required other than to just play them.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5248 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
If you are familar with compressed PC files called "zip" files that must be "unzipped" before they can be read the same thing applies to audio. DD and DTS tracks are similar to "zip" files and must be "unzipped" to PCM in order for the AVR to play them. BDs that have PCM 5.1 audio is already "unzipped" so there is no further work required other than to just play them.

So how come the DD True HD and DTS Master HD was removed from my listening mode list? It was there one movie then not the next?

DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Setup Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #5249 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 04:40 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,363
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 971 Post(s)
Liked: 1493
The AVR can only play what is available on the BD/DVD. On the BD you were watching apparently the PCM 5.1 track was the only track on that BD so there's no reason for the AVR to display the DD or DTS options in the GUI menu.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #5250 of 10732 Old 02-03-2013, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
DD and DTS tracks are similar to "zip" files and must be "unzipped" to PCM in order for the AVR to play them. BDs that have PCM 5.1 audio is already "unzipped" so there is no further work required other than to just play them.

^So they are different then right? OR else the same listening modes would be available for each. That is when the back of the dvd say pcm 5.1 as opposed to one of the HD DD or DTS versions.
Quote:
The AVR can only play what is available on the BD/DVD. On the BD you were watching apparently the PCM 5.1 track was the only track on that BD so there's no reason for the AVR to display the DD or DTS options in the GUI menu.

DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Setup Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jlpowell84 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1513 Receiver , Denon Avr 1613 Receiver , Denon Avr 1713 Receiver , Denon Avr 1913 Receiver , Denon Avr 2113ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2313ci Receiver , Denon Avr 3313ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off