The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX13 Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 226 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6751 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 5,007
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 793 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by bourmb View Post

Need some advice, please. I am about to become a first time HT owner but having a hard time deciding which Denon receiver is right for my situation. Here is what I am thinking:
1. 80% movies/tv, 20% music
2. I own an iMac which has all my CD's stored in lossless format on it's drive. 200 CD's downloaded in lossless, about 5 CD's of actual downloaded music from iTunes. However, all my music going forward will not be CDs.
3. I have a Cat 5e connection at the receiver
4. 5.1 and single zone, only

Q1. Is the compression format enhancer on the 1713 worth the price over the 1613?
Q2. Will AirPlay work off my iMac or will it only tie into music on my iPhone? If it works on my iMac, since most of my music was ripped off CDs, would it work in lossless mode through AirPlay?
Q3. Is Dolby PLII to on the 1913 worth the extra cost in the receiver to convert stereo to 5.1? I am thinking about all the tv we watch that is not surround encoded.

Thanks for your help

I have a 3313 and I use the PLII Music setting. I really enjoy it as the surrounds add a nice ambient sound for your front three. I guess you will need to weigh in what speakers you have or will have.

You can always get an Apple TV for $100 and use the home sharing feature from your iMac. This will wirelessly allow you to access your iTunes library to any device with AirPlay such as an ipad or iPhone or another Mac.

On a side note have you had any issues with your apple lossless files skipping?

PSN ID: Jlpowell84
DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1531107/di...axial-speakers
My Setup Thread
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...4-s-setup.html
jlpowell84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6752 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 04:56 PM
Member
 
anarchoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know where exactlyy is the IR eye of the 3313ci ? I need to stick an IR repeater over it so i can use my NextGen IR to RF transmitter
anarchoi is offline  
post #6753 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 04:58 PM
Member
 
anarchoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im also still trying how to set the receiver to convert stereo sound to stereo x2 so i also get stereo sound in my back speakers when watching a stereo source
anarchoi is offline  
post #6754 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 04:58 PM
Member
 
angelboc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No issues with airplay here with my 3313ic. Iast weekend I had zone 2 on and amp assigned two backs speakers to zone 2. The day of the party I had a pair of sony speakers outside playing spotify and itunes library from my iphone all day while the kids were in the living room watching the blu ray movies with my klipsch reference 7.1 (only 5.1 working since assigned 2 backs to zone 2) surround sound. No issues. The sound quality was very good and my guest were impressed by the sound coming from the sony speakers in my patio.

The only thing is that while in the middle of the party I decided to switch with the denon app from playing itunes library in zone 2 to spotify and when I applied the change, it also changed zone 1 in the living room to spotify while the kids were watching avatar. I had to manually select zone 1 to play blu ray again. I dont know why that hapened but it was a quick fix.
angelboc is offline  
post #6755 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 05:02 PM
Member
 
AMGala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by anarchoi View Post

im also still trying how to set the receiver to convert stereo sound to stereo x2 so i also get stereo sound in my back speakers when watching a stereo source

Hold down the green "Movie" button until a window pops up and then scroll down to MULTI CH STEREO

HT Setup
TV: Samsung UN65ES8000
AVR: Denon AVR-3313CI
Front Speakers: Polk Audio LSi15 x 2 | Center Speaker: Polk Audio LSiC | Rear Speakers: Polk Audio LSiF/X x 2
Subwoofers: Polk Audio PSW-505 x 2
Amp: Emotiva XPA-5
AMGala is offline  
post #6756 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 05:58 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,886
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4419 Post(s)
Liked: 2376
Quote:
Originally Posted by anarchoi View Post

does anyone know where exactlyy is the IR eye of the 3313ci ? I need to stick an IR repeater over it so i can use my NextGen IR to RF transmitter

p. 158 OM .... just left of center


------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6757 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 07:36 PM
Member
 
64deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so let me ask this. What's the best "Movie" sound setting for movies to you guys? I originally was under the impression that DTS was supposed to be great but to me Multi Ch stereo gives me the best "surround" sound. DTS seems to make the volume low for no reason. There's no "pop" in acoustic scenes.
64deuce is offline  
post #6758 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by 64deuce View Post

Ok so let me ask this. What's the best "Movie" sound setting for movies to you guys? I originally was under the impression that DTS was supposed to be great but to me Multi Ch stereo gives me the best "surround" sound. DTS seems to make the volume low for no reason. There's no "pop" in acoustic scenes.
Multi Ch is not a surround mode. You are basically reducing 5.1 to 2.1 and taking all the "surround sound" separation out. The music may sound better but you are removing all of the sound effects. Like when a helicopter flies over and sounds like it is coming from back to front. You will not get that with MC stereo. If DTS volume is too low then turn it up.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #6759 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 08:12 PM
Member
 
64deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok but WHY is it low? I don't understand....
64deuce is offline  
post #6760 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 08:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by 64deuce View Post

Ok but WHY is it low? I don't understand....
Basically you are taking the same power and spreading it out over 5 channels instead of 2.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #6761 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 08:22 PM
Newbie
 
blind99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CentralCoaster View Post

Why not program the TV codes into the Denon remote? It may be able to change your TV input even, there's a button for it anyhow. Anything beyond that and you may find the need for a good universal remote. This irule system I'm using is badass so far (after 2 weeks of programming it, lol).


BTW, wanted to let some of you experts know your help on here is greatly appreciated. Hopefully as some of us noobs learn the ropes of this complex AVR we can get the easier questions at least.


Someone else pointed out what I just poked around to find- my Denon remote is nonprogrammable (RC-1167)

The setup works fine for my wife, who can turn on just the cable box and TV.

With a programmable remote, could I program the buttons so that it could power on TV/cable/AVR, then use the channel buttons to control the cable box, but the volume buttons to control the Denon? What's the best bang for the buck to do this?
blind99 is offline  
post #6762 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 08:28 PM
Member
 
64deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Basically you are taking the same power and spreading it out over 5 channels instead of 2.


But I hear multi ch stereo in all 5 speakers. Sorry just trying to understand. On another note, it doesn't matter that I have the HDMI cable from the PS3 plugged into the "game" connection on the denon right?
64deuce is offline  
post #6763 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 08:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by 64deuce View Post

But I hear multi ch stereo in all 5 speakers. Sorry just trying to understand. On another note, it doesn't matter that I have the HDMI cable from the PS3 plugged into the "game" connection on the denon right?
I dont own a Denon but I seriously doubt it.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #6764 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 08:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,312
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by blind99 View Post

Someone else pointed out what I just poked around to find- my Denon remote is nonprogrammable (RC-1167)

The setup works fine for my wife, who can turn on just the cable box and TV.

With a programmable remote, could I program the buttons so that it could power on TV/cable/AVR, then use the channel buttons to control the cable box, but the volume buttons to control the Denon? What's the best bang for the buck to do this?
A Logitech Harmony remote will do all that and much more. The 650 would be the best bang for the buck.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #6765 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 504
don't feel to bad about your remote not being programmable for CABLE; the remote for my 3312 and remoteS for my 3311, while programmable, I've yet to find a code that will work with my COMCAST boxes...

just 1 more pair of KLIPSCH Classic speakers...
RED AND BLUE=MAROON!

PANASONIC 60" PLASMA 3D, DENON AVR-3312CI, LG BD670 3D NETWORK BRD (iPhone APPs), TOSHIBA HD-XA2 HD DVD, SAMSUNG BD-UP5000 HD DVD/BRD, iPod 8 GB, 13.2: KLIPSCH La Scala 1980 (Crites Rebuilt Type AA Crossovers Sonicaps) FRONT, HERESY II "SIGNATURE EDITION" WIDE, HERESY II CENTER/SURROUND, kg2 SB, kg3/kg1 Front/Rear HEIGHT, RW-12d SW, km-rsw
SanchoPanza is offline  
post #6766 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 5,007
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 793 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

I dont own a Denon but I seriously doubt it.

No it doesn't matter. I have my Mac plugged Into game.

PSN ID: Jlpowell84
DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1531107/di...axial-speakers
My Setup Thread
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...4-s-setup.html
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #6767 of 11210 Old 03-30-2013, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 5,007
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 793 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by 64deuce View Post

But I hear multi ch stereo in all 5 speakers. Sorry just trying to understand. On another note, it doesn't matter that I have the HDMI cable from the PS3 plugged into the "game" connection on the denon right?

Just because something is louder doesn't mean it sounds better. When you switch from DTS to multi ch stereo you think it sounds better because the volume is perceivable louder. The same voice that usually comes through your center channel is now coming through all 5 speakers. Surround speakers are effect speakers basically. The surround you to give you surround sound so when a table is thrown it will move across your room by a team effort of your speakers. Your surrounds are on, they are just the car driving by or kids yelling in the park in your movie, not the central voices.

PSN ID: Jlpowell84
DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1531107/di...axial-speakers
My Setup Thread
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...4-s-setup.html
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #6768 of 11210 Old 03-31-2013, 01:52 AM
Member
 
thewonderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Has anyone had any luck connecting a USB powered 2.5" HDD to the front port? Would like to put some hi-res flacs on a FAT32 formatted drive. I tried a old usb 2 WD drive but it was not recognised / not enough power.

I also have been trying my Windows 7 PC with WMP to use the DNLA feature to allow the network connection to view all shares but it seems even though it can see a share and folders, not all the folders are fully present... does anyone have any ideas what i can do to allow all folders to be seen by the denon? Want to allow hi-res FLACs to be streamed in original quality to the amp.


One other thing i noticed was that if i have a multi channel disc and i select direct/pure direct it won't stay as 2 channel, it will revert to multi channel. is there a way i can force the audio to be just 2 channel?

thanks!
thewonderer is offline  
post #6769 of 11210 Old 03-31-2013, 02:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,886
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4419 Post(s)
Liked: 2376
^^
1. If the following applies to your files, try the tip ---> http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_L30
2. If they are multi channel files, then they will play as multi channel files.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6770 of 11210 Old 03-31-2013, 05:36 AM
Member
 
anarchoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGala View Post

Hold down the green "Movie" button until a window pops up and then scroll down to MULTI CH STEREO

But if i do that the sound will always be Multi Channel Stereo even if the source is dolby digital

Let me explain it clearly: when i watch a movie from my HTPC most of the time the sound is dolby digital but sometimes i get stereo sound. I want multi channel stereo ONLY when the source is stereo sound, i don't want all movies to have multi channel stereo sound.

It was possible to do it with my Onkyo receiver, can i do it with Denon ?
anarchoi is offline  
post #6771 of 11210 Old 03-31-2013, 07:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,886
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4419 Post(s)
Liked: 2376
Nope. The setting would apply to whatever signal source is being received when it is set so if you make that setting when a stereo signal is received, then it would apply to any stereo signal only.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6772 of 11210 Old 03-31-2013, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
MarkEHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by anarchoi View Post

But if i do that the sound will always be Multi Channel Stereo even if the source is dolby digital

Let me explain it clearly: when i watch a movie from my HTPC most of the time the sound is dolby digital but sometimes i get stereo sound. I want multi channel stereo ONLY when the source is stereo sound, i don't want all movies to have multi channel stereo sound.

It was possible to do it with my Onkyo receiver, can i do it with Denon ?

Yes, that is how it works. The sound modes only come into play when the input is 2-channel stereo. When the input is Dolby Digital (or something else like that) it is decoded natively. Also, the 2-channel "up mixing" (sound mode) is remembered per input. At any time, you can press and hold the "movie" (or whatever) button and get the list of sound modes to change it. Once changed, that becomes the default for that input.

Edit: I see JDSmoothie has a different answer - go with his smile.gif
MarkEHansen is offline  
post #6773 of 11210 Old 03-31-2013, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
Roger99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Guys!

My first post here and I need some help.

Which Klipsch fronts and center speakers would you consider a better match for a Denon AVR 2113 receiver? RF/RC 52 II or RF/RC 42 II? The room is rather small...
Roger99 is offline  
post #6774 of 11210 Old 03-31-2013, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
igorek82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Guys!

I'm having a strange issue with my 3-month old 2113ci - it worked fine for the first 3 months and all of a sudden any 5.1 movie/sound/etc (regardless of input source) would cause the receiver to shut off with red light blinking at 0.5 sec intervals. I also noticed that it only did this when surrounds were in use and worked fine when only the front 2 speakers (stereo) were playing... upon investigation i found it to be caused by rear left speaker (audessy always shuts off the receiver when it gets to rear left) ...

Here's what i've tried thus far

1) replaced speakers - same issue - rear left not working with a different speaker, old speaker working fine elsewhere
2) disconnected the speaker - isolated wire ends - receiver does the same thing - it shuts off during audessy when it tries to test rear left (even though there is no speaker attached only wire)
3) disconnected the in-wall wire and used a temporary speaker wire (not the same length) but it actually works fine... the in-wall wire is about 35 feet long, 14 guage (here @ amazon)

so it sounds like it's a wire, right? Well, i tested the in-wall wire with a multimeter - no shorts, perfect continuity, etc... When one end is shorted, the impedance reads 0 and no AC or DC current found (checking for strange things here)....

What else do i do !? What am i missing?

p.s. front speaker's wire is almost 2 times longer than the one thats acting up ;-(

Thank you in advance!!!
igorek82 is offline  
post #6775 of 11210 Old 04-01-2013, 02:34 AM
Newbie
 
atebit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by igorek82 View Post

so it sounds like it's a wire, right? Well, i tested the in-wall wire with a multimeter - no shorts, perfect continuity, etc... When one end is shorted, the impedance reads 0 and no AC or DC current found (checking for strange things here)....

What else do i do !? What am i missing?

p.s. front speaker's wire is almost 2 times longer than the one thats acting up ;-(

Thank you in advance!!!

Does the in-wall wire terminate in binding posts or something at each end, or does it truly just come "out of the wall"? If its the former, did you try to use a different patch wire between the wall and the components? If its the latter, could the in-wall wire maybe have a nick somewhere along it's length, such that if you held the wire one way it would read zero ohms but if you held it a different way or jiggled it a bit it might read as open?

Also your multimeter is only actually reading resistance. I guess it's possible if the wire were damaged in some way that the AC load of the speaker signal could create extreme reactance (which is sort of the "AC component" of impedance). Sounds like a long shot, but given you've tested all other individual components I'm not sure what's left, besides trying a "temp" wire that's as long as the one in the wall.
atebit is offline  
post #6776 of 11210 Old 04-01-2013, 02:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,886
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4419 Post(s)
Liked: 2376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger99 View Post

Hello Guys!

My first post here and I need some help.

Which Klipsch fronts and center speakers would you consider a better match for a Denon AVR 2113 receiver? RF/RC 52 II or RF/RC 42 II? The room is rather small...

In this case "better match" really equates to "better quality" as they would both match well. Choose the set your budget can best afford and which gets the best consumer ratings.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6777 of 11210 Old 04-01-2013, 02:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 51,886
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4419 Post(s)
Liked: 2376
Quote:
Originally Posted by igorek82 View Post

so it sounds like it's a wire, right? Well, i tested the in-wall wire with a multimeter - no shorts, perfect continuity, etc... When one end is shorted, the impedance reads 0 and no AC or DC current found (checking for strange things here)....

What else do i do !? What am i missing?

Regardless of the wire test, it would seem the wire is indeed the culprit. Replace it.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6778 of 11210 Old 04-01-2013, 04:03 AM
Member
 
Saliss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger99 View Post

Hello Guys!

My first post here and I need some help.

Which Klipsch fronts and center speakers would you consider a better match for a Denon AVR 2113 receiver? RF/RC 52 II or RF/RC 42 II? The room is rather small...

Agree to what JD has suggested!

If it helps, I have Denon 3313CI with Klipsch RF 62-ii Fronts, RC 52ii Centre and RS52 ii surrounds. I originally was contemplating between 52iis and 42iis but ended up with 62ii fronts. If you usually do not upgrade very often then my advise would be to get the biggest you can fit in your room and budget. In my opinion, more amp power would be better but Klipsch with high sensitivity can easily be driven without requiring much power. However, do you use a good speaker cable at least 16 gauge regardless of the distance.

You should also post this on Klipsch owner's forum here at AVS to get different perspectives.
Saliss is offline  
post #6779 of 11210 Old 04-01-2013, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
Roger99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saliss View Post

Agree to what JD has suggested!

If it helps, I have Denon 3313CI with Klipsch RF 62-ii Fronts, RC 52ii Centre and RS52 ii surrounds. I originally was contemplating between 52iis and 42iis but ended up with 62ii fronts. If you usually do not upgrade very often then my advise would be to get the biggest you can fit in your room and budget. In my opinion, more amp power would be better but Klipsch with high sensitivity can easily be driven without requiring much power. However, do you use a good speaker cable at least 16 gauge regardless of the distance.

You should also post this on Klipsch owner's forum here at AVS to get different perspectives.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

In this case "better match" really equates to "better quality" as they would both match well. Choose the set your budget can best afford and which gets the best consumer ratings.
ratings.[/quote]


Thank you guys, thats very helpfull!

Roger
Roger99 is offline  
post #6780 of 11210 Old 04-01-2013, 06:13 AM
Member
 
AMGala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Nope. The setting would apply to whatever signal source is being received when it is set so if you make that setting when a stereo signal is received, then it would apply to any stereo signal only.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkEHansen View Post

Yes, that is how it works. The sound modes only come into play when the input is 2-channel stereo. When the input is Dolby Digital (or something else like that) it is decoded natively. Also, the 2-channel "up mixing" (sound mode) is remembered per input. At any time, you can press and hold the "movie" (or whatever) button and get the list of sound modes to change it. Once changed, that becomes the default for that input.

Edit: I see JDSmoothie has a different answer - go with his smile.gif

JD, my 3313 automatically switches from Dolby PLII to Dolby Digital when the source provides DD 5.1 audio. Does the same auto-switching not work when it is set to multi channel stereo?

HT Setup
TV: Samsung UN65ES8000
AVR: Denon AVR-3313CI
Front Speakers: Polk Audio LSi15 x 2 | Center Speaker: Polk Audio LSiC | Rear Speakers: Polk Audio LSiF/X x 2
Subwoofers: Polk Audio PSW-505 x 2
Amp: Emotiva XPA-5
AMGala is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1513 Receiver , Denon Avr 1613 Receiver , Denon Avr 1713 Receiver , Denon Avr 1913 Receiver , Denon Avr 2113ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2313ci Receiver , Denon Avr 3313ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off