The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX13 Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 238 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7111 of 10611 Old 04-11-2013, 09:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,986
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
Quote:
Originally Posted by F1Kobe View Post

Hello I'm new here, just picked up a 1613 last night and have a few questions for you all... I've got my cable box and ps3 going into the receiver via hdmi and have the receiver on hdmi1 input on my tv. I also have a logitech bluetooth speaker adapter plugged into the receiver via the rca "dvd" port to stream music from my android tablet. Everything works great so far, but I would like to be able to listen to audio and watch tv at the same time. For example I prefer watching NFL while listening to my local radio station call the game. The guys at Best Buy didnt think this would be possible? but I'm sure there's got to be a simple solution that I'm just overlooking...

You can use the "Video Select" setting (p. 92 OM) using an analog video source (ie. composite cable from the cable box to the AVR).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7112 of 10611 Old 04-11-2013, 09:26 PM
Member
 
angelboc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingdavid21 View Post

I am using 5.1+ 2 height speakers. If I understand you correctly In order to get the 7.1 as recorded I need to switch from heights to surround backs. Otherwise I must engage PLIIz. I am in a smaller room so I use height speakers due to the fact that my seating is flat against the back wall.

Thanks for the quick reply batpig!

Do you have "front height speakers" above the left and right fronts or two height speakers placed against your back wall at a height?

I have a 7.1 with my two back speakers placed on the ceiling at back wall. My blu ray movies with dts hd master 7.1 plays as dts-hd mstr with all seven channels active. No need for pllx or pllz. Also movies with dts-hd master 5.1 play the same in my 3313 with dts-hd mstr(sb on) having all 7 channels active, no need to choose pllx for all seven channels to work and i can confirm both back speakers are active with 5.1 dts hd master movies
angelboc is offline  
post #7113 of 10611 Old 04-11-2013, 10:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 920
height speakers ARE front height speakers. If they are behind you they are surround back speakers... even if they are high up wink.gif

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #7114 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 05:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Is the best iPod sound quality on my 3313 going to be the ASD-11R dock? Is stereo the only option?

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #7115 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Nevermind, I just noticed I can connect direct with the iPod USB or airplay from iTunes on my laptop. Would AQ differ between those or would it be the same? I mainly want to get the most I can out if the music.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #7116 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 07:07 AM
Member
 
ShadowJ20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for advice, I just wanted to make sure that I get it right the first time. The receiver is high on a bookshelf and it would be a pain in the neck to turn it back and re connect the HDMI cable.
ShadowJ20 is offline  
post #7117 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 08:20 AM
Member
 
pmcl77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While listening to an internet radio station on the AVR 3313 and the pressing Option -> add favorite nothing happens, I simply can't add favorites. (not talking about the Favorite Station buttons). Upgraded to the latest firmware but didn't help. I know I could do,it on radiodenon but wonder why this doesn't work on the device... Maybe it's a broken unit? Anybody experience the same problem?

Phil
pmcl77 is offline  
post #7118 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 10:48 AM
Member
 
kingdavid21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelboc View Post

Do you have "front height speakers" above the left and right fronts or two height speakers placed against your back wall at a height?

I have a 7.1 with my two back speakers placed on the ceiling at back wall. My blu ray movies with dts hd master 7.1 plays as dts-hd mstr with all seven channels active. No need for pllx or pllz. Also movies with dts-hd master 5.1 play the same in my 3313 with dts-hd mstr(sb on) having all 7 channels active, no need to choose pllx for all seven channels to work and i can confirm both back speakers are active with 5.1 dts hd master movies

I am aware that 7.1 recorded tracks are played in 7.1 with the basic 7.1 speaker setup but im using front height. I have front height speakers above my left and right front mains. So your saying that 5.1 dts hd sends a signal to 7 speakers without using pllx or pllz? I have experienced the same but I believe in that case the extra 2 speakers just replicate the rear speakers sound. Im not positive, that is just my assumption. Somebody please correct me if im wrong. However, if you are correct and the receiver does split the audio into 7.1 from 5.1 automatically what was the point of including Pllx and pllz?
kingdavid21 is offline  
post #7119 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 920
What he is referring to is specific to DTS-HD tracks. There is a "feature" built into the DTS-HD decoder where, if you have a 7.1 system, it will automatically play a 5.1 DTS-HD track as 7.1, with the surround info duplicated to the surround back speakers.

You would still have to select PLIIx to matrix surround backs with any other 5.1 audio source.

Neither of the above is relevant to your setup, which uses front height speakers, and would require PLIIz to be active to generate front height info from any input signal.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #7120 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 11:14 AM
Member
 
kingdavid21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

What he is referring to is specific to DTS-HD tracks. There is a "feature" built into the DTS-HD decoder where, if you have a 7.1 system, it will automatically play a 5.1 DTS-HD track as 7.1, with the surround info duplicated to the surround back speakers.

You would still have to select PLIIx to matrix surround backs with any other 5.1 audio source.

Neither of the above is relevant to your setup, which uses front height speakers, and would require PLIIz to be active to generate front height info from any input signal.

Thanks for clearing that up batpig!
kingdavid21 is offline  
post #7121 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 12:27 PM
Member
 
angelboc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes batpig said it right. Only with my drs hd master tracks in 5.1 my system does not turn on pllx for me. For all other 5.1 content, my receiver automatically selects pllx
angelboc is offline  
post #7122 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 12:47 PM
Member
 
dta721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowJ20 View Post

Got a question, just got my 1713 today and I'm just wondering the HDMI inputs are labeled "DVD Player", "Blu Ray", "Game Console" and "Media Player", does it matter which one I use to plug into my computer?

The answer has been given but I want to "complicate" your life (or mine) a bit.

Since the CBL/SAT and DVD source can alternately be connected using non-HDMI cables, i.e. RCA type, and if for any reasons you don't need to use these reserved HDMI inputs, you can free them up for any other possible HDMI sources, theoretically speaking.

The same can be said for other receivers that offer component video, digital audio associated with the CBL/SAT, DVD sources.

You'd never know if you need to just control one more HDMI source, then the option to trade the CBL/SAT HDMI in for this source become desirable. It may be because the CBL/SAT box is not really a HDMI compatible device at the first place.

smile.gif
dta721 is offline  
post #7123 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
Echovolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the handshaking issues with the AVR 1913? I just got a Samsun UN60ES8000, Denon AVR 1913, and am on Direct TV Genie. Just got everything set up the other day, and got my Harmony 650 today. Whenever I turn everything on, after a few seconds, the Denon cuts the signal from "Sat/Cbl" to "TV stero", and I lose video input, and I have to press the input key again to get it to come back. Is there a fix for this?


Thanks!
Echovolk is offline  
post #7124 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 920
That isn't a handshake problem, it's caused by the Anynet+ in your Samsung TV trying to control the receiver. Turn off Anynet+ and it will stop happening.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #7125 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 02:07 PM
Member
 
dave trimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all! I'm pretty sure I know my answer, but I thought I'd ask anyway before I make a purchase. I'm pretty much narrowed down my options for a new receiver to either the 2113 or the 2313. As far as I can tell, the only real benefit I would get from the 2313 is the extra sub output, but since it's just an internal splitter on the LFE out, I would get the exact same effect by using an RCA splitter externally on the 2113. Am I missing anything here? Is there any other significant difference between these two I should be worrying about?

The only other option I would be considering is the 4311 (for the Audessey XT32), but it's well over twice the price. Also, since it's an older model, doesn't it have the older, uglier, lower-res GUI? Or is that something that got updated via software?

Finally, last dumb question for y'all, are there any known issues with 3D pass through on the 2113, 2313, or 4311?

Edit: Also, do we know if there is an impending release of updated CI models? Perhaps non-flagship models with XT32?
dave trimble is offline  
post #7126 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 920
You are correct in that the dual sub out of the 2313 doesn't provide any real benefit because you can just use an RCA y-splitter to achieve the same thing.

There are other differences between the models and they are all listed in detail in the first post. The main other differences are the dual HDMI outputs, enhanced multizone options, Audyssey DSX, and because it's built on the larger platform (shared with the 3313) it has more legacy inputs on the back plus a beefier amp section.

The 4311 is a totally different class. It has a different GUI but it's NOT the low-rez thing from the older models, it's still very nice (but not as simple to navitage as that on the xx13 models). This Youtube video review shows the GUI well (it's the 4310ci but it's basically the same GUI): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qbfXIYy9dIk

No known issues with 3D pasthrough, although note that on the 4311 any graphics overlays (volume bar, GUI) will not work with a 3D signal input.

The higher level (replacement for the CI models) series will be announced in a month or two I think. I highly doubt XT32 will trickle down below the 4xxx level models.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #7127 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 02:48 PM
Member
 
dave trimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, batpig, for taking the time to answer my questions. I know some of the answers to my questions were likely in this thread, but sifting through 238 pages was getting mind-numbing. I don't care about multi-HDMI or multi-zone, really. I don't know whether DSX is worth it for me, because I'm only running a 3.1 system at the moment. I don't think I have any plans to add height or width speakers.

So I guess I'm either looking at $649 for the 2113, or $1579 for the 4311. If I go 2113, the wife will be happier, and I'll get my new speakers sooner. But I'll also wind up replacing the 2113 in the next few years. The 4311 will probably last me a good decade or so. (My current receiver is an old Onkyo that I've had since 2003 or 2004)

It's a toughie, but I think I'll probably end up getting the 2113, and spend more money on speakers. Then I'll worry about a better receiver in a couple of years.

Thanks again for your help.
dave trimble is offline  
post #7128 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 920
If you're only running a 3.1 setup I wouldn't spend that much on a receiver. Save your money for more speakers.

I also wouldn't be so sure the 4311 would last that long, receiver technology is moving very fast these days and it's smarter to spend less so you take less of a hit when you upgrade for new technology in a few years. The money is definitely better spent on good speakers since they won't become "obsolete" as long as they are making sound smile.gif

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #7129 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Frankfort,IL
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Disappointed in my 2113,couple months old.

First issue, sound drops out from time to time then comes back,has always been like this.

Second, when plugging in a pair of headphones yesterday, no signal was sent over the phones. Then upon unplugging the phones, no sound would output at all from the speakers. After much fiddling, had to unplug to reset it and came back normal. Didn't try the headphones again.

Should I just exchange for another?
slapshot is offline  
post #7130 of 10611 Old 04-12-2013, 04:35 PM
Newbie
 
Echovolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

That isn't a handshake problem, it's caused by the Anynet+ in your Samsung TV trying to control the receiver. Turn off Anynet+ and it will stop happening.

That fixed my issue... THANKS!
Echovolk is offline  
post #7131 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 06:40 AM
Member
 
andremal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcl77 View Post

While listening to an internet radio station on the AVR 3313 and the pressing Option -> add favorite nothing happens, I simply can't add favorites. (not talking about the Favorite Station buttons). Upgraded to the latest firmware but didn't help. I know I could do,it on radiodenon but wonder why this doesn't work on the device... Maybe it's a broken unit? Anybody experience the same problem?

Phil

Hey Phil. not sure what's going on there. I'm currently using a 1913, waiting for my 2113 to arrive. I've been able to add my 3 favorite Digitally Imported internet stations to my Favorites without issue. Have you tried multiple stations with the same issue?

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A | Denon AVR-2113ci | PSB Image T6 | PSB Image C5 | PSB Image B6 | PS4 w/1TB Hybrid HD | 320G Slim PS3 | Woefully poor Comcast HD DVR
andremal is offline  
post #7132 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 07:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,986
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapshot View Post

Disappointed in my 2113,couple months old.

First issue, sound drops out from time to time then comes back,has always been like this.

Second, when plugging in a pair of headphones yesterday, no signal was sent over the phones. Then upon unplugging the phones, no sound would output at all from the speakers. After much fiddling, had to unplug to reset it and came back normal. Didn't try the headphones again.

Should I just exchange for another?

Depends on whether the audio dropouts occur with just one source (eg. cable/sat box, which is normal although can be mitigated by connecting HDMI directly to the TV with optical from the box to the AVR) or with all sources (not normal). If all sources, try doing the HDMI reset procedure listed in my post below.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_L11

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7133 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 07:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,986
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcl77 View Post

While listening to an internet radio station on the AVR 3313 and the pressing Option -> add favorite nothing happens, I simply can't add favorites. (not talking about the Favorite Station buttons). Upgraded to the latest firmware but didn't help. I know I could do,it on radiodenon but wonder why this doesn't work on the device... Maybe it's a broken unit? Anybody experience the same problem?

Phil

Make sure content is playing from the station. If still no joy, then power off the unit and unplug for about 10 minutes, plug back in and try to save again.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7134 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 10:15 AM
Member
 
shashchatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wowubbzy View Post

I'm not sure if this is news. From reading the first page I thought the AVR-1613 is not browser control capable. I just picked up a cheap 1613 to mess with. Accessing its IP alone on my browser, nothing happens, but if I enter the complete URL (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/MainZone/index.html) I am able to access and control it like I can with the 1913 and 3313. Entering /Setup_index.asp takes me to the setup page there's even the save/load buttons, but it errors out when I tried to save the config.

First, thanks for posting, great find! This is one of two things compared to AVR-1713 that I was regretting. But as they say, "Close, but no cigar!". The night I first saw this, I tried "Save" from my iPad browser, I got no error, but the file save dialog never came up. Today, on my Linux box, I did get to save the config.dat file. I then tried to load it, saw the front panel go to "Loading" with the red LED lit, but it never completed, and the browser errored out with "not completed". I looked in config.dat, and it was all nulls, 340K worth. I tried again to save, and it failed. Turned off the receiver, tried again, and again it saved the file, but still zeroes.

EDIT: SUCCESS!!!! I used wireshark to watch the packet transfers. It appears that even after the file save dialog shows up on the browser, the 1613 is still sending file contents to the browser. Solution: wait for a while after the dialog opens, then save the file. On my system, it took almost 1 minute 40 secs for the file save dialog to show, then packets kept flowing for another 30-35s. With this config file, loading works, and browser says:

Load Completed
AV AMP is restarted automatically.

I next want to try a network and micro reset , then load a saved config, and see if indeed my changes show up. But, I have ordered a tripod and mic-adapter from Amazon, will wait till those arrive, just in case I am forced to go through another Audyssey calibration.

In any case, big thank you to wowubbzy!

Shash
shashchatter is offline  
post #7135 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
Alim Huseynov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Turned off the Anynet+ function of Samsung TV ... and everything went OK !!!
Alim Huseynov is offline  
post #7136 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by F1Kobe View Post

Hello I'm new here, just picked up a 1613 last night and have a few questions for you all... I've got my cable box and ps3 going into the receiver via hdmi and have the receiver on hdmi1 input on my tv. I also have a logitech bluetooth speaker adapter plugged into the receiver via the rca "dvd" port to stream music from my android tablet. Everything works great so far, but I would like to be able to listen to audio and watch tv at the same time. For example I prefer watching NFL while listening to my local radio station call the game. The guys at Best Buy didnt think this would be possible? but I'm sure there's got to be a simple solution that I'm just overlooking...

I have updated an avs Denon 12 series forum post for watching one source and listening to another source using the Video Select or Input Mode feature to include avr's with no Video Conversion. Here is a link.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/17520#post_23114164
spager is offline  
post #7137 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 03:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,986
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
Although the 2012 XX13 models are on clearance at reduced prices, for those looking for newer features, check out the new "E" series models which replace the lower level XX13 models as noted below .....

1513 --> E200
1613 --> E300
1913 --> E400

Some of the new features in these "E" series models include ...
1. Return of AM tuner to all models (so all models have AM/FM tuners)
2. Easier to use and color coded speaker clips (E200) / speaker posts (E300 and higher) - note that although these new posts will not be able to accept banana plugs, they should be much easier to use bare speaker wire than the speaker posts on previous year's models.
3. Return of HDMI input assignment and addition of analog audio input assignment for first time (E300 and higher)
4. Listen to USB/Tuner/Network audio source while watching separate video source (to include HDMI for first time) (E300 and higher)
5. New "HDMI Pass Through" setting and which acts separately from the HDMI Control setting and factory defaults to ON with the "Pass Through Source" setting defaulting to CBL/SAT, such that right out of the box the CBL/SAT box should pass audio/video through to the TV when the AVR is in Standby without making any further setting changes.
6. Network Diagnostics feature added (E300 and higher)

More info available in posts 1-2 in the new 2013 Denon AVR thread linked in my sig.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7138 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
F1Kobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can I listen to music on all the speakers? It's just playing through th front two and sub right now
F1Kobe is offline  
post #7139 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Use PLII or DTS Neo:6 to expand stereo to 5.1.
BIslander is online now  
post #7140 of 10611 Old 04-13-2013, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 2,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

Use PLII or DTS Neo:6 to expand stereo to 5.1.

I use PLIIx MUSIC and PLIIx CINEMA which I've read is STEREO, where dts Neo:6 is not (Correct me if I'm wrong)

Will I find La Scala, or better, to displace my La Scala fronts, before I displace my kg1, kg2 & kg3 with Heresy or better?

RED AND BLUE=MAROON!
SanchoPanza is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1513 Receiver , Denon Avr 1613 Receiver , Denon Avr 1713 Receiver , Denon Avr 1913 Receiver , Denon Avr 2113ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2313ci Receiver , Denon Avr 3313ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off