The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX13 Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 307 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #9181 of 10882 Old 09-03-2013, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuscatJeff View Post

Hi,
Sorry if I'm doing this wrong, I just want to ask a new question, not start a new thread. I'm not replying to anything.

I've got an AVR 3312 and can't play movies over my network from an NAS. My Denon Net/USB menu says "Video No Play".
Someone suggested I use a PS3, but after some research I discovered that is a game thing, which I have no use for. Is there an alternative / work-around? Hardware or software, or both?
I am clueless in this matter.
I prefer not to have a computer involved, if possible.

Any suggestions on how I can play movies on my TV via the networked 3312? Also, what format do the movies have to be? VOB, or what?

This is my first attempt at home media stuff, so your patience and help are hugely appreciated in advance.
I'll gladly answer any questions.
BTW, I'm located in Oman and bought the 3312 in Dubai at the Denon store there.

I'm building a new house here and will have many other questions after this basic one is solved.

Thanks and regards,

Jeff

Jeff,

Unfortunately, no receiver provides access to video over the network. They only support audio or still images (jpegs).

There are quite a few alternatives, though. For example, most current model TVs (often marketed as "smart TVs") include their own network connections for access to video services. Other alternatives are networked Blu-ray players (like the Sony BDP-S5100) or any of a variety of media devices like the Roku "stick", AppleTV or WDTV. Also, most modern laptops and graphics cards include HDMI outputs that you can plug into your receiver for both audio and video.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped
Sponsored Links
Advertisement