The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX13 Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 360 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10771 of 10788 Old 10-13-2014, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Impala1ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
On that model, the Zone 2 pre-outs are your only option. You would have to upgrade to the 3313CI to get the FL/FR pre-outs.

No amps/pre-amps can be used with the 2113?
Impala1ss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10772 of 10788 Old 10-13-2014, 05:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,309
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
^^
Zone 2 only.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10773 of 10788 Old 10-16-2014, 11:46 AM
Member
 
gdog5775's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all...another zone 2 question. I have the 1713 and I'm struggling with why I just don't use a separate setup in zone 2 vs running a 50 foot RCA cable and then have to have two receivers/amps running just to listen to music in zone 2? Other than the cost savings of a simple two channel unit vs. a fully functional receiver of course. Can anyone give an example of their "real life" zone 2 setup when using the pre-amp outputs?
gdog5775 is offline  
post #10774 of 10788 Old 10-16-2014, 12:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,309
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
^^
Useful only if you want to pass a 1713 source to the Zone 2 amp without having to bother about dedicated sources in Zone 2.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10775 of 10788 Old 10-17-2014, 04:45 AM
Member
 
raymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Adding another HDMI connection:

Can I do this:

I have the following setup and need to add another HDMI device.

HDMI IN:

1. CBL/SAT - Cable Box
2. DVD - Blu-ray Player
3. Blu-ray (empty)
4. Game - WiiU console
5. Media Player - AppleTV

I also have Component Video in RGB for "Wii Console" and have this assigned to use the Blu-ray input.

As you can see I have the "blu-ray" HDMI empty but if I attach the new device will it stop the "Wii" working?
Or will it only display what is powered on so in theory I could have two different devices plugged into the same input

Hope that makes sense.

AVC-A1SE with mission speakers and REL sub
AVR-2113CI with Polk TL350s and Polk sub
raymate is offline  
post #10776 of 10788 Old 10-17-2014, 04:53 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,309
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
^^
Although you can double up, might be easier to just assign new source (or Wii) to "AUX."

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10777 of 10788 Old 10-17-2014, 05:44 PM
Member
 
raymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cheers for that, why didn't I think of that. That worked fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Although you can double up, might be easier to just assign new source (or Wii) to "AUX."

AVC-A1SE with mission speakers and REL sub
AVR-2113CI with Polk TL350s and Polk sub
raymate is offline  
post #10778 of 10788 Old 10-18-2014, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Impala1ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Zone 2 only.
JD - not sure I understand. I know Zone 2 is a pre-out but do you mean that no other amp(s) can be added to the 2113 to increase the number of pre-outs, whether on the 2113 or on the amp??
Impala1ss is offline  
post #10779 of 10788 Old 10-18-2014, 08:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,309
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
^^
Correct. The 2113CI has no main zone pre-outs. The 3313CI and 4520CI are the only 2012 models with main zone pre-outs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10780 of 10788 Old 10-19-2014, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
hooderAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon 1713 that is having issues. One night, not one HDMI port would work. It took 3 micro-processor resets before it finally started working again. The following night while watching a movie, my sound went from DTS-HD to Stereo then back to DTS-HD. it did this a couple times but it hasn't done it since. Should I be worried about this receiver? Is this a sign the HDMI board is going out?
hooderAZ is offline  
post #10781 of 10788 Old 10-19-2014, 02:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,309
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
^^
Could be, yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10782 of 10788 Old 10-20-2014, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
beerisgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon 1613. The front HDMI input doesn't work, yet the USB input right next to it does work. Any suggestions?

Also, can the 1613 play music from airplay source, with the TV input on the screen at the same time?
beerisgood is offline  
post #10783 of 10788 Old 10-20-2014, 11:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,309
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
^^
Has it ever worked or you're just trying it for the first time? Try first doing a soft reset (ie. unplug the power for 10 minutes), otherwise, if no joy then try resetting the microprocessor as noted in post 5 of this thread. The "Video Select" setting can be used with an audio source while playing a non-HDMI video source.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10784 of 10788 Old 10-20-2014, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
hooderAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JD-

With these HDMI issues I have encountered, would it be wise to replace this receiver? Or does the micro-processor reset usually fix these? I figure if the hDMI port is going out,it would be fairly expensive to get repaired.
hooderAZ is offline  
post #10785 of 10788 Old 10-20-2014, 01:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,309
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
^^
In some cases a microprocessor reset(s) will help, but if continued resets are required, then repair/replace the unit. If purchased with a credit card, the card may add an additional 3rd year of warranty.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10786 of 10788 Old Yesterday, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
jpcamaro70's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
OK, so I just got the 2113ci. I'm used to the volume numbers on the 791, this is backwards so i have no clue where it's too much.

Anyway, I'm pounding away at 80 on the dial for less than ten minutes and she goes into thermal shutdown.......It's only 63 degrees in the house. Normal?

My Gear
jpcamaro70 is online now  
post #10787 of 10788 Old Yesterday, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
jpcamaro70's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
One more thing....how do you set this to full channel stereo, all amps throwing out the same power.

My Gear
jpcamaro70 is online now  
post #10788 of 10788 Old Yesterday, 04:58 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,309
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1425 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpcamaro70 View Post
OK, so I just got the 2113ci. I'm used to the volume numbers on the 791, this is backwards so i have no clue where it's too much.

Anyway, I'm pounding away at 80 on the dial for less than ten minutes and she goes into thermal shutdown.......It's only 63 degrees in the house. Normal?
Both the 791 and the 2113CI have the same two volume scales. The 791 simply defaults to the "relative" scale where the volume increases to reference volume of 0db and the 2113CI defaults to "absolute" volume where volume increases from 0 to 98 and 80 is reference volume. You can change the volume scale and select the relative scale on the 2113CI if you prefer. You generally won't want to go above 80 and apparently you'll have to lower it below 80 so it doesn't shut down. Select Multi CH Stereo for stereo audio in each speaker pair.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1513 Receiver , Denon Avr 1613 Receiver , Denon Avr 1713 Receiver , Denon Avr 1913 Receiver , Denon Avr 2113ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2313ci Receiver , Denon Avr 3313ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread - 2113ci by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off