The **OFFICIAL** Denon AVR-XX13 Model Owner's Thread & FAQ - Page 375 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11221 of 11232 Old 07-17-2015, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just reconnected it. Still no display on the front. I also can not get the on screen menu to work on the tv BUT I could connect to it via the phone app and the web gui. I could even change some basic config items but could not get it to play sound. I tried multiple sources net/usb, cable tv and FM and was unable to get audio from any of them.

Kind of ironic with the history these have with network issues that now the only thing that appears to be working is the network.
blackbirdpilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11222 of 11232 Old 07-17-2015, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
To clarify that last post a bit:
Via the app it was connecting and indicating that on net/usb it was streaming pandora or when on FM I was able to tune in stations and even see the station/artist/song info but was getting no audio.

Since this thing is out of warranty is there any benefit to cracking it open and looking around or is it a waste of time since I prob would not be able to order parts for it anyway?
blackbirdpilot is offline  
post #11223 of 11232 Old 07-17-2015, 03:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbirdpilot View Post
To clarify that last post a bit:
Via the app it was connecting and indicating that on net/usb it was streaming pandora or when on FM I was able to tune in stations and even see the station/artist/song info but was getting no audio.

Since this thing is out of warranty is there any benefit to cracking it open and looking around or is it a waste of time since I prob would not be able to order parts for it anyway?
No reason not to open it up. Perhaps you can see a loose board or something out of the ordinary.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11224 of 11232 Old 07-17-2015, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I opened it up for a look hoping for something obvious. I am a UNIX admin and I have seen servers with fewer cards. I looked it over for anything loose or the tell tale signs of the magic smoke having escaped but everything I could see looked fine.
blackbirdpilot is offline  
post #11225 of 11232 Old 08-01-2015, 10:22 AM
Member
 
johnc847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a AVR-1913 and when using airplay from my iPhone, every once in a while the screen flashes green and the audio skips and it lasts a few seconds then it is back to normal. It does this a lot at times and sometimes not at all. I'm using a Netgear R6250 router and with a 3ft CAT6. I saw this post but it references it could be the HDMI cable. I'm not sure that could be the case with the Audio issues when the audio isn't even going through the HDMI cable. Anyone have ideas? I've tried resetting the microprocessor and that didn't solve it. I reset my router as well and nothing helps.
johnc847 is offline  
post #11226 of 11232 Old 08-01-2015, 10:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnc847 View Post
I have a AVR-1913 and when using airplay from my iPhone, every once in a while the screen flashes green and the audio skips and it lasts a few seconds then it is back to normal. It does this a lot at times and sometimes not at all. I'm using a Netgear R6250 router and with a 3ft CAT6. I saw this post but it references it could be the HDMI cable. I'm not sure that could be the case with the Audio issues when the audio isn't even going through the HDMI cable. Anyone have ideas? I've tried resetting the microprocessor and that didn't solve it. I reset my router as well and nothing helps.
You could try doing a soft reset by unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes. Could be the video card is going bad. Does it happen with video source devices?

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11227 of 11232 Old 08-01-2015, 10:35 AM
Member
 
johnc847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You could try doing a soft reset by unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes. Could be the video card is going bad. Does it happen with video source devices?

No it only happens with AirPlay. Never with other sources. Would that mean my video card is good?
johnc847 is offline  
post #11228 of 11232 Old 08-01-2015, 01:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnc847 View Post
No it only happens with AirPlay. Never with other sources. Would that mean my video card is good?
Likely yes. For Airplay you may want to consider purchasing an AppleTV which would also allow streaming of video as well.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11229 of 11232 Old 08-25-2015, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
AVR-3313CI HDMI is shot No replacement available

My 3 year old unit is out of warranty and the authorized repair shot just told me that HDMI board is shot and that Denon no longer makes it and there are not any available. Any advice on what next? Love this unit.

Denon will not extend warranty as I already checked. Should I just trash it?

If I have to buy a replacement, any suggestion on last year model with similar features (with 3 zones)?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Best

Jay
Jay Groundwater is offline  
post #11230 of 11232 Old 08-25-2015, 10:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Groundwater View Post
My 3 year old unit is out of warranty and the authorized repair shot just told me that HDMI board is shot and that Denon no longer makes it and there are not any available. Any advice on what next? Love this unit.

Denon will not extend warranty as I already checked. Should I just trash it?

If I have to buy a replacement, any suggestion on last year model with similar features (with 3 zones)?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Best

Jay
The X4100W is the 2014 successor to the 3313CI. Refer to the first few posts in the 2014 Denon AVR Owner's thread linked below for more information on it and the higher X5200W (9CH).


The "Official" 2014 Denon Atmos+XT32 Model Thread (X4100/X5200/X7200)

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11231 of 11232 Old 08-25-2015, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for your help. Do you know anything regarding HDMI surge protectors? Seems like that would be a sound investment. Any thoughts and thanks again.

Regards Jay
Jay Groundwater is offline  
post #11232 of 11232 Old 08-25-2015, 11:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 53,704
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5302 Post(s)
Liked: 2677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Groundwater View Post
Thank you for your help. Do you know anything regarding HDMI surge protectors? Seems like that would be a sound investment. Any thoughts and thanks again.

Regards Jay
A better option is to spend about $200 - $300 and have an electrician install a Whole Home Surge Suppressor on the outside power line before it goes into the house.

--------
2015 Denon AVR thread ----> http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...dcp-2-2-a.html

Think your AVR is defective? Check the Owner's manual and do a factory reset 4-5 times if necessary.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 1513 Receiver , Denon Avr 1613 Receiver , Denon Avr 1713 Receiver , Denon Avr 1913 Receiver , Denon Avr 2113ci Receiver , Denon Avr 2313ci Receiver , Denon Avr 3313ci Receiver , Denon
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off