Reset sequence for Marantz SR7002-flashing red light - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-15-2012, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
kghaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the dreaded "flashing red standby" light error on my beloved Marantz SR7002. This happened after a lightening storm and I am hoping that I can reset the circuitry and not have to send the unit away for a month.

Does anyone know the reset sequence on the front panel to reset the microprocessor?
kghaddon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-15-2012, 03:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,803
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4845 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Although the reset procedure is listed on p. 82 in your Owner's manual (press/hold MULTI and Speakers A/B buttons while powering on); note that when the AVR shuts down in protection mode, it's most often due to a speaker wire from one post touching another post, so pull out the AVR and visually check all speaker wires are cleanly connected.

Also, is the power ring light blinking at 2x/sec (speaker wire or playing 4Ω speakers too loud) or more rapidly at 8x/sec (amp failure)?

------------------
Ask for "JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 01-01-2013, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
33charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hit 7.1. Pure direct. And clear buttons on front panel all at the same time. Got it from marantz tech support. It's not in the manual. It works. But if it goes back in protective mode it will need service
33charlie is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-15-2013, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
AVgrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much. I had my unit setting at a local repair guy checking the outputs for a short for 2months( older guy ). He concluded it was the microprocessor. Which. He did not have the ability.to test. I was going to the local shipping office this afternoon. To ship it to an authorized repair shop 150 miles away. Read your post, ran an extension cord out to my sefvice truck during lunch to test your magic press buttons and Bingo!!!!
AVgrunt is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-05-2013, 11:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Thebes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 33charlie View Post

Hit 7.1. Pure direct. And clear buttons on front panel all at the same time. Got it from marantz tech support. It's not in the manual. It works. But if it goes back in protective mode it will need service

Hi,

thank you very much.

I had the same problem with my Marantz and this is the only way I've found to reset my amplifier. Very useful smile.gif
Thebes is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 01-01-2014, 01:00 AM
Newbie
 
sryans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Life saver! Experienced the dreaded flashing Standby and after following your reset instructions, I was back in business. Many thanks as this was the only posted reference on the web that worked!
sryans is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-03-2014, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
Karlo Bazdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello,

 

I am knew to Marantz - was able to obtain a used one, which has the 'red light blinking' problem. Don't have the exact model in front me, but I assume they all work under the same principle.

 

Could you care to explain how I can reset the unit, and what exactly I need to do to fix the 2/sec blinking. 

 

Thanks a lot,

K

Karlo Bazdan is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-03-2014, 02:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,803
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4845 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
The reset procedure depends on the model number, however, the issue is likely a result of one of the following issues ...

1. A loose speaker wire from one speaker post touching another speaker post.
2. Driving 4-ohm speakers too loud.
3. Amp failure.

------------------
Ask for "JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9 of 10 Unread Today, 12:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Which exactly buttons and in what order?

"Hit 7.1. Pure direct. And clear buttons on front panel all at the same time. Got it from marantz tech support. It's not in the manual"
Please, let me know how to "clear button on the front panel at the same time"? Which exactly bitton should I press for this?
Thanks in advance!
Balio Dinev is online now  
post #10 of 10 Unread Today, 12:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,803
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4845 Post(s)
Liked: 2514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balio Dinev View Post
"Hit 7.1. Pure direct. And clear buttons on front panel all at the same time. Got it from marantz tech support. It's not in the manual"
Please, let me know how to "clear button on the front panel at the same time"? Which exactly bitton should I press for this?
Thanks in advance!
It is indeed confusing the way it was originally posted. It should read as the following:


Press and hold the following three buttons on the front panel: 7.1 CH Input, Pure Direct, and Clear
Power on the AVR and continue holding the 3 buttons for at least 4-5 seconds.

------------------
Ask for "JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off