Blown Amp? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-17-2012, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RangersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was running some speaker cable above my paneled ceiling. when I finally finished and connected my surrounds i went into my avr's setup to test the channel levels. whenever i get to the RS channel the receiver shuts down and blinks red. all other channels work fine. does that mean the amp for the RS is blown? will I need to buy a new AVR?
RangersFan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-17-2012, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cctvtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
One way to find out: disconnect that speaker wire. If everything works OK, connect a different speaker to that connector or run a new wire to the RS speaker. You can just drape the new wire across the floor, or whatever as a temporary test. Most AVRs will either shut down a channel with a shorted wire or go into total shutdown. They will return to normal when the short is removed (and sometimes after a power reset).

Be seeing you!
cctvtech is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-17-2012, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bfreedma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 9 iron from Philly
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Check your speaker wires carefully and make sure you don't have a loose strand creating a short.

It's possible the amp has a problem, but rule out the wiring first.
bfreedma is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-17-2012, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RangersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OK good thing I had spare speakers lying around from the surround backs I removed from my back wall. I proceeded to test the SR connection with another speaker and the same thing happened. Changed the connection end of the receiver end and connected the SR run cable to the SL avr connection same thing happened. So I determined it was indeed the SR cable I run. I opened up the wall plate for all my surround cable terminate, and ends up the +/- wires were slightly touch on the wall plate, corrected that works fine, whew! I'm pretty impulsive, in years pass I would have sooner just ordered a new AVR on assumption rather than taking my time to check everything out lol. Thanks guys.
RangersFan is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off