Help...lost my TV Audio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-20-2012, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
thomas2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why can I not get audio while watching TV using an HDMI cable? I have an HDMI cable from comcast box into a Denon AVR 1612 amp. I have video but no audio.

I can get audio if I use the RCA plug type of connector - the white red yellow plugs. By doing this I cannot get my rear speakers to play.

Any idea as to what the heck is going on? I had the HDMI cable checked and it is fine. I replaced the comcast box and that didn't fix the problem...Could it be the amp? It was working fine for about 6 months, and our of the blue, while changing channels I lost the audio.

Any ideas?
thomas2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-20-2012, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas2000 View Post

Why can I not get audio while watching TV using an HDMI cable? I have an HDMI cable from comcast box into a Denon AVR 1612 amp. I have video but no audio.

I can get audio if I use the RCA plug type of connector - the white red yellow plugs. By doing this I cannot get my rear speakers to play.

Any idea as to what the heck is going on? I had the HDMI cable checked and it is fine. I replaced the comcast box and that didn't fix the problem...Could it be the amp? It was working fine for about 6 months, and our of the blue, while changing channels I lost the audio.

Any ideas?

First connect cable box directly to the tv and see if you have audio, then swap HDMI cables most likely it will be one or the other. If that still doesn't work then you'll have to rule out either the TV or the Receiver do you have any other devices feeding through the AVR? Do the still work? Swap HDMI cables around, you'll soon know what the problem is. 90% chance it's the cable box IMHO.
Good Luck,.
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-20-2012, 09:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Sounds like a settings issue to me. Press the MENU button on your Denon remote. Select Input Setup, then Input Mode and make sure the Input mode is set to Auto or HDMI. Sounds like it is currently set to Analog.

Then make sure the Decode mode is set to Auto.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-21-2012, 03:12 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,882
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1412
Welcome to AVS Forum.

As was the case with your previous thread, it's best to be more specific in your thread title when posting. I would agree your issue is more likely settings related. Also note that even with a stereo red/white cable connection you can still get simulated 5.1/7.1 audio by selecting DD PLII/PLIIx.

Also note there is a dedicated thread for Denon AVR-XX12 Owner's linked in my sig.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-26-2012, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
thomas2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
afrogt nailed it. Thank you so much!

I do have one more issue that maybe you could help me with..

When I power up my system - the amp defaults to the last used input which is usually 'sat/cable' which is cool. But, after about 5 seconds it always switches to 'TV' and I have to switch it back to 'sat/cable'.

Any tips as to what is going on and how I can keep it switched to sat/cable?

Thank you again!
thomas2000 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-26-2012, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas2000 View Post

When I power up my system - the amp defaults to the last used input which is usually 'sat/cable' which is cool. But, after about 5 seconds it always switches to 'TV' and I have to switch it back to 'sat/cable'.

Any tips as to what is going on and how I can keep it switched to sat/cable?

Thank you again!

Hi thomas2000, most likely your tv is taking control (HDMI CEC feature). Turn off this feature on your tv, some trade names: Samsung - AnyNet+, Panasonic - Viera Link, Sony - Bravia Sync, etc....
JChin is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-20-2013, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
thomas2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey...me again. this issue continues to be a pain in my butt. everytime I turn on the TV and the amp the TV moves the input to 'TV' when I would like it to stay on 'Sat/CAble'. When I do turn off Anynet+ I can't get audio through my amp.
thomas2000 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-20-2013, 01:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,882
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1412
It's either/or .. you can't have both. Instead of using ARC, set Anynet+ to OFF and simply connect an optical cable from the TV to the AVR instead with no loss of audio quality. Although I've written the below post for Denon models, most of it applies to any brand.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread#user_E5

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off