Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 160 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4771 of 9968 Old 02-04-2013, 07:53 PM
Newbie
 
Isao Takahashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the life of me, I can't figure out how to get Video and Audio at the same time from the same Component source...how do I set it up / where to plug in? I see the Component side with Videos, but I don't see corresponding Audio port with it. How do I do this?

basically, this is what I see...composite side has audio's right below the video source, but component only had video...i tried plugging in audio on composite side while components are plugged in the available component slot, but i can't get them to play together. i don't really understand onkyo's manual / can't find it.


http://www.fr.onkyo.com/assets/2/1/7/1/8/TX-NR818__S__Rear_N9999x9999.png.jpg
Isao Takahashi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4772 of 9968 Old 02-04-2013, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Donat76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isao Takahashi View Post

For the life of me, I can't figure out how to get Video and Audio at the same time from the same Component source...how do I set it up / where to plug in? I see the Component side with Videos, but I don't see corresponding Audio port with it. How do I do this?

basically, this is what I see...composite side has audio's right below the video source, but component only had video...i tried plugging in audio on composite side while components are plugged in the available component slot, but i can't get them to play together. i don't really understand onkyo's manual / can't find it.


http://www.fr.onkyo.com/assets/2/1/7/1/8/TX-NR818__S__Rear_N9999x9999.png.jpg

You can pair them up in the onscreen menu so it knows what audio input matches up to the video input. Page 58 and 59 of the english manual.


http://www.intl.onkyo.com/downloads/manuals/pdf/tx-nr818_manual_e.pdf

I only see it reference digital audio input not analog input.
Donat76 is offline  
post #4773 of 9968 Old 02-04-2013, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
Isao Takahashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i still can't figure out....so can you please tell me in a dumb'ed down version. i can get video to output in any button i want..i can't get audio from no matter what composite side port i plug into. i don't understand the onkyo manual

fyi, i'm trying to connect a PSP GO. I am also trying to figure out how to make it so that the whole screen is displayed rather than the square in the middle, anywork around this when using the Onkyo 818?
Isao Takahashi is offline  
post #4774 of 9968 Old 02-04-2013, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,524
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isao Takahashi View Post

i still can't figure out....so can you please tell me in a dumb'ed down version. i can get video to output in any button i want..i can't get audio from no matter what composite side port i plug into. i don't understand the onkyo manual

Hi Isao Takahashi, going into Source Setup menu under "Audio Selector" for that input name and select "ANALOG".
JChin is offline  
post #4775 of 9968 Old 02-04-2013, 11:42 PM
Senior Member
 
theoneofgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isao Takahashi View Post

i still can't figure out....so can you please tell me in a dumb'ed down version. i can get video to output in any button i want..i can't get audio from no matter what composite side port i plug into. i don't understand the onkyo manual

fyi, i'm trying to connect a PSP GO. I am also trying to figure out how to make it so that the whole screen is displayed rather than the square in the middle, anywork around this when using the Onkyo 818?
Change the output resolution with the AV.

Home Theatre:
Onkyo TX-NR818
Onkyo C7030

DALI Zensor 7, Zensor 1, Vokal, DALI E-12F
theoneofgod is online now  
post #4776 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 01:29 AM
Member
 
InfernoST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jantz View Post

^^^^
Thanks InfernoST for your reply and I was able to solve the problem based on my earlier post.

Unfortunately Zone 2/3 with not play any digital source which is why I needed to purchase this Digital to Analog Converter http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=6884&seq=1&format=1&ref=cj#largeimage

As a FYI, other people closer to the beginning of this thread complained that this device had a constant hum. This is not the case for me.

You should be able to use the receivers onboard optical inputs if you have a spare optical input. All you have to do is map the source you choose for your AT2 to an optical input in the Digital Input menu.
InfernoST is offline  
post #4777 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 06:13 AM
Member
 
brunotheboxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston,MA/ Cape Cod
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by farkem View Post

How about this? TP-LINK 802.11n 150Mbps Wireless N Nano Router (TL-WR702N)

More versatile, to say the least.
Thanks.
brunotheboxer is offline  
post #4778 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
Jantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoST View Post

You should be able to use the receivers onboard optical inputs if you have a spare optical input. All you have to do is map the source you choose for your AT2 to an optical input in the Digital Input menu.

I will take a look tonight to see if that can be done however, there have been numerous members with far more knowledge than I who have indicated that Zone 2/3 will only play analog sources. A couple of people have mentioned that when the new 828 comes out that they hope that it will be able to play in Zone 2/3 via HDMI . I still have a long way to go to get through the rest of the manual and I have made it as far as page 140 on here.
Jantz is offline  
post #4779 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The only thing I regret about the 818 is there are no analog audio outputs so I can connect my CD Recorder. I am surprised by this.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #4780 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 08:49 AM
Member
 
InfernoST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jantz View Post

I will take a look tonight to see if that can be done however, there have been numerous members with far more knowledge than I who have indicated that Zone 2/3 will only play analog sources. A couple of people have mentioned that when the new 828 comes out that they hope that it will be able to play in Zone 2/3 via HDMI . I still have a long way to go to get through the rest of the manual and I have made it as far as page 140 on here.

It doesn't say anything in the manual about Zone 2/3 only being analog and didn't see anything about not being able to use HDMI either. I'm going to set up a mock zone 2 and see if both the Optical and HDMI both work, I'll let you know the outcome.
InfernoST is offline  
post #4781 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 08:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoST View Post

It doesn't say anything in the manual about Zone 2/3 only being analog and didn't see anything about not being able to use HDMI either. I'm going to set up a mock zone 2 and see if both the Optical and HDMI both work, I'll let you know the outcome.

It won't work. Only analog sources are passed out Zone 2/3 with the exception of internet radio or DLNA type sources which will also pass on those zones. You will not get audio from Zone 2/3 with optical or HDMI, you'll have to run parallel analog connections for Zone 2/3 use.

This is one of the key shortcomings of this model compared to some of the higher end ones that are out there.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #4782 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 09:43 AM
Member
 
InfernoST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

It won't work. Only analog sources are passed out Zone 2/3 with the exception of internet radio or DLNA type sources which will also pass on those zones. You will not get audio from Zone 2/3 with optical or HDMI, you'll have to run parallel analog connections for Zone 2/3 use.

This is one of the key shortcomings of this model compared to some of the higher end ones that are out there.

Thanks for the info good to know, I couldn't find that info in the manual. Can you pass the digital signal if you were using Zone 2/3 pre-outs?
InfernoST is offline  
post #4783 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoST View Post

Thanks for the info good to know, I couldn't find that info in the manual. Can you pass the digital signal if you were using Zone 2/3 pre-outs?

No idea, but I doubt it. It is in the 818 manual that Zones 2/3 are analog only, as I clearly recall having stumbled across it at some point.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #4784 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 09:48 AM
Member
 
InfernoST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

No idea, but I doubt it. It is in the 818 manual that Zones 2/3 are analog only, as I clearly recall having stumbled across it at some point.

Found it the Multi Zone info is on page 80. That sure is a short coming on Onkyo's part now the end user has to go out and spend even more money on a DAC, silly stuff considering almost everything you buy these days is digital.
InfernoST is offline  
post #4785 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoST View Post

Found it the Multi Zone info is on page 80. That sure is a short coming on Onkyo's part now the end user has to go out and spend even more money on a DAC, silly stuff considering almost everything you buy these days is digital.

That's probably why they don't. It keeps the BOM down.

Andy VT -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
babgvant is offline  
post #4786 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 02:21 PM
Member
 
InfernoST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post

That's probably why they don't. It keeps the BOM down.

How many extra parts if any would be needed. BOM's are overrated.smile.gif
InfernoST is offline  
post #4787 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Amacron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received TX-NR818 Frame Firmware Test from onkyo. Downloading it now.

Panasonic TC-P65GT50
Panasonic DMP-BDT220 BD
Onkyo TX-NR818
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST
Definitive Technology CS-8060HD Center
Definitive Technology SR-8040BP Surrounds
Amacron is offline  
post #4788 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amacron View Post

Just received TX-NR818 Frame Firmware Test from onkyo. Downloading it now.

If your AVR blows up in a puff of smoke, be sure to let us know! smile.gif
jmpage2 is offline  
post #4789 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 02:30 PM
Member
 
Amacron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wont be able to try it out until the 9th. But wanted to download it today cause when they offered the beta i waited to long and onkyo stopped the down load.

Panasonic TC-P65GT50
Panasonic DMP-BDT220 BD
Onkyo TX-NR818
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST
Definitive Technology CS-8060HD Center
Definitive Technology SR-8040BP Surrounds
Amacron is offline  
post #4790 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just received another firmware update from Onkyo via email, has anyone tried this yet? I'm wondering why the folder is dated 07--24-12, it seems to be a later one than the last they sent out, the so called "firmware test" to fix the 24p bug though. Its number is 1141-0108-0400, according to the email. I'm going to give it a shot, since the previous one has been a bit buggy for me on file playback.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #4791 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

I just received another firmware update from Onkyo via email, has anyone tried this yet? I'm wondering why the folder is dated 07--24-12, it seems to be a later one than the last they sent out, the so called "firmware test" to fix the 24p bug though. Its number is 1141-0108-0400, according to the email. I'm going to give it a shot, since the previous one has been a bit buggy for me on file playback.

Interesting. I guess they don't like me, I didn't get this FW update.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #4792 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 02:49 PM
Member
 
InfernoST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I got sent the update as well but the date of the file is the same date of the firmware available for download on their site. I find it fishy, everytime Firmware is updated the folder date/name and revision #'s are suppose to be changed.
InfernoST is offline  
post #4793 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
As I suspected, the firmware file they sent is an old one. When I tried to update, I just got the "Current Firmware" display. Don't know why exactly they sent that out to me, must have been some sort of mix up. At least I got the test firmware that fixed the 24p bug and somewhat dealt with some of the audio dropout issues.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #4794 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 04:20 PM
Member
 
BWD69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

I just received another firmware update from Onkyo via email, has anyone tried this yet? I'm wondering why the folder is dated 07--24-12, it seems to be a later one than the last they sent out, the so called "firmware test" to fix the 24p bug though. Its number is 1141-0108-0400, according to the email. I'm going to give it a shot, since the previous one has been a bit buggy for me on file playback.

I got it, too! I'll go ahead and stick it on my USB drive and let someone else tell me if it's safe!!!tongue.gif
BWD69 is offline  
post #4795 of 9968 Old 02-05-2013, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near the lovely City by the Bay
Posts: 2,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWD69 View Post

I got it, too! I'll go ahead and stick it on my USB drive and let someone else tell me if it's safe!!!tongue.gif
Some say Onkyo has stopped providing the firmware fix for the 24p bug to people requesting it via email. Is this still true, and if so, can you guys who got the firmware post it to a Dropbox location or something? I have my 818 receiver coming next week, and would love to apply the firmware patch to fix these known bugs. Thanks!
raaj is offline  
post #4796 of 9968 Old 02-06-2013, 02:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
You are not supposed to ask for unofficial beta fw openly and we're not supposed to share it. I believe Onkyo support/tech staff read this thread so open requests like this will do nothing to please them but instead discourage Onkyo from releasing beta fw in the future.

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
post #4797 of 9968 Old 02-06-2013, 06:05 AM
Member
 
BWD69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by raaj View Post

Some say Onkyo has stopped providing the firmware fix for the 24p bug to people requesting it via email. Is this still true, and if so, can you guys who got the firmware post it to a Dropbox location or something? I have my 818 receiver coming next week, and would love to apply the firmware patch to fix these known bugs. Thanks!

Someone posted that they would pass out the 24fps fix and Onkyo pulled the download. I don't think they want it passed around, so I won't, sorry!
BWD69 is offline  
post #4798 of 9968 Old 02-06-2013, 07:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Patrick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by raaj View Post

Some say Onkyo has stopped providing the firmware fix for the 24p bug to people requesting it via email. Is this still true, and if so, can you guys who got the firmware post it to a Dropbox location or something? I have my 818 receiver coming next week, and would love to apply the firmware patch to fix these known bugs. Thanks!

This message was posted on 2-5-13 at 6PM at the Onkyo USA Support site;

"Please send your requests for the firmware update to the following email address askOnkyo@us.onkyo.com; we are monitoring the transmission of this F/W update and will monitor all feedback. Have a great evening!!

Forum Moderator"

http://forums.onkyousa.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=138&start=190
Patrick Murphy is offline  
post #4799 of 9968 Old 02-06-2013, 07:57 AM
Member
 
InfernoST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Got another email from Onkyo 10 minutes ago with another FW update to download.
InfernoST is offline  
post #4800 of 9968 Old 02-06-2013, 07:57 AM
Member
 
wlvca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Patrick. I just sent a request for the firmware uodate.
wlvca is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr818 , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo , Audyssey
Gear in this thread - Nr818 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off