Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 229 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6841 of 9977 Old 05-06-2013, 06:01 PM
Member
 
RomanBlade86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguyhileman View Post

And his first post was...

Sony STR-DA80ES Receiver is Awesome!

Hi, first time poster here. I just wanted to say that I'm a big fan of the Sony STR-DA80ES manufactured in 1997. I was given this receiver from a relative who vouched for its awesome sound but I decided that I wanted something modern with HDMI inputs so I bought an Onkyo 818 to power my two Bowers & Wilkins 685 speakers. Whatever my relative and I tried we just couldn't get the Onkyo 818 to sound anywhere near as good as the Sony STR-DA80ES. He told me this is due to the Sony receiver having a more powerful amplifier than the Onkyo 818. The Sony also runs a lot cooler than the newer Onkyo which gets rather warm quickly. Does anyone else use older receivers in their primary setup?

I was also looking to either get another Sony STR-DA80ES (1997) or go with one of the following:

Sony STR-DA50ES (1998)
Sony STR-DB930 (1999)
Sony STR-DA777ES (2000) (By far the most expensive on eBay. Probably $400 shipped).
Sony STR-DA5ES (2001)

Here's an interesting article that brings up the argument that newer isn't always better. Be sure to read the comments section from people who also have had positive experiences with older receivers:

http://news.cnet.com/8301-13645_3-20082026-47/how-can-30-year-old-receivers-sound-better-than-new-ones/

rolleyes.gifcool.gifbiggrin.gif

Good luck with your new forum buddy!

How'd you know it was me. Was it the screen name. redface.gif I'm not really going anywhere and I'll still be around. Just because I joined another forum doesn't mean I'll be leaving this one. I still enjoy browsing through the topics and reading through the Panasonic plasma threads.

HDTV: Panasonic TC-P50ST50
Speakers: Bowers & Wilkins 685
Receiver: Sony STR-DA80ES
Blu-ray Player: Playstation 3
Power Center: Monster HDP 1800
RomanBlade86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6842 of 9977 Old 05-06-2013, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Banks1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: S.C.
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone that has had a onkyo 805 , tell me how the 818 compares to that avr in regards to s.q. I really like the networking stuff on the 818, and also need more hdmi inputs. Thanks for any replys.
Banks1 is offline  
post #6843 of 9977 Old 05-06-2013, 07:06 PM
Member
 
zoomzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If I had the time I would make an extra normal video of Roman talking to his audiophile relative. It would be epic. Heck I might find the time for it
zoomzilla is offline  
post #6844 of 9977 Old 05-06-2013, 07:13 PM
Member
 
RomanBlade86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomzilla View Post

If I had the time I would make an extra normal video of Roman talking to his audiophile relative. It would be epic. Heck I might find the time for it

I'm flattered. redface.gif

HDTV: Panasonic TC-P50ST50
Speakers: Bowers & Wilkins 685
Receiver: Sony STR-DA80ES
Blu-ray Player: Playstation 3
Power Center: Monster HDP 1800
RomanBlade86 is offline  
post #6845 of 9977 Old 05-06-2013, 10:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I want to order a TX-NR1010 onkyo receiverut can not find a good price on one. Does anybody have some information on a good place to order one from. One call has them at list price. I know this is the 818 thread but looking for where people may be ordering from so I can check and see if they have the 1010.
Thanks
Allen
DekPM19 is offline  
post #6846 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
67jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by DekPM19 View Post

I want to order a TX-NR1010 onkyo receiverut can not find a good price on one. Does anybody have some information on a good place to order one from. One call has them at list price. I know this is the 818 thread but looking for where people may be ordering from so I can check and see if they have the 1010.
Thanks
Allen

I'm not sure what a "good price" means to you, but accessories4less.com has the 1010 and it's predecessor, the 1009 for decent prices for refurbs.

1009

1010

I don't need snobs to tell me how to think, thank you!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Why you wouldn't want to join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
forum
67jason is offline  
post #6847 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 06:00 AM
Member
 
jwcole1224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Troutdale, Oregon
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One Call is selling "Open Box" TX-NR1010 for $1000.
Myself and others on this forum have received sealed, brand new receivers, sold as "Open Box".

Of course I can't guarantee you will, but I suggest ordering the "Open Box" from them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DekPM19 View Post

I want to order a TX-NR1010 onkyo receiverut can not find a good price on one. Does anybody have some information on a good place to order one from. One call has them at list price. I know this is the 818 thread but looking for where people may be ordering from so I can check and see if they have the 1010.
Thanks
Allen

jwcole1224 is offline  
post #6848 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwcole1224 View Post

One Call is selling "Open Box" TX-NR1010 for $1000.
Myself and others on this forum have received sealed, brand new receivers, sold as "Open Box".

Of course I can't guarantee you will, but I suggest ordering the "Open Box" from them.

I looked at Onecall, and all I saw was the new ones listed for list. Thanks for the information I will look for the open box or give them a call.

I just went back and checked out onecall and saw the open box link.
Thanks I might get that one.
Allen
DekPM19 is offline  
post #6849 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 07:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67jason View Post

I'm not sure what a "good price" means to you, but accessories4less.com has the 1010 and it's predecessor, the 1009 for decent prices for refurbs.

1009

1010

Thanks, that is what I was using to compare a new price with. I have a price for new for just a little bit more than that, but it is a couple of months old. I am planning on buying this week so just doing the last minute check for best price.
Allen
DekPM19 is offline  
post #6850 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 10:23 AM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 11,749
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Guys, this is an owner's thread. There should be absolutely no non-MSRP price discussion here. Take it to the deals area.

Thanks

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and help support the site. Help Support
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #6851 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 11:47 AM
Member
 
amrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does this add hdcp to hdmi signals? I have my pc going hdmi out into the 818 then back into a different pc to capture video but it says that it wont capture it because it now has hdcp protection

I need to do it this way as I also use the dual hdmi out on the 818 to go to my projector also, has anyone else had this problem?
amrod is offline  
post #6852 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by amrod View Post

does this add hdcp to hdmi signals? I have my pc going hdmi out into the 818 then back into a different pc to capture video but it says that it wont capture it because it now has hdcp protection

I need to do it this way as I also use the dual hdmi out on the 818 to go to my projector also, has anyone else had this problem?

It doesn't add or remove HDCP, it is required to preserve it between the display and the source device.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #6853 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

It doesn't add or remove HDCP, it is required to preserve it between the display and the source device.

It's a bit more complex.

If no source requests HDCP A/V will not use HDCP, but once a device requests HDCP it is enabled on the entire bus. Even if you turn off/remove the initial requesting source it remains enabled until the AVR is power cycled.

Andy VT -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
babgvant is offline  
post #6854 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
keyser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I not use Pro Logic 2z "game mode" when using HDMI input? Thinking of what sound mode I should use for my Wii U.

Birgir "keyser"
keyser is offline  
post #6855 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 07:51 PM
Member
 
shift_grind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by basshead81 View Post

power number ratings have very little meaning in todays AVR market....if you wanted to drive your speakers better than the sony es does you would of went with a preamp/power amp setup. at this point your throwing gasoline on the fire...now leave this thread already and start your own. smile.gif

While I agree, according to the manual the nr818 has a max power draw of 8.1 amps, or nearly 1000 watts. It seems to draw quiet a bit of power. Can't wait until I get my 818, sadly it probably won't be hooked up till next week due to Mothers day!
shift_grind is offline  
post #6856 of 9977 Old 05-07-2013, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
neutro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by shift_grind View Post

While I agree, according to the manual the nr818 has a max power draw of 8.1 amps, or nearly 1000 watts. It seems to draw quiet a bit of power.

According to the specs, the power supply has a 720 W rating. Of course, the available per channel will be way below that even if only a single channel is driven, but it shows that it won't ever do 7 x 135W of course.

neutro is offline  
post #6857 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 01:44 AM
Member
 
crystalineblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi fellow 818 users,

Has anyone bench tested the pre-outs of 818? or knows the volts (RMS)? Just like to know if my XPA3 is utilized to the max by my 818. biggrin.gif

Thanks.
crystalineblue is offline  
post #6858 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I want to use USB for Firmware Update. Instruction says to "please enter [NET] mode before starting the update." What does that mean?
Pres2play is offline  
post #6859 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
theoneofgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post

I want to use USB for Firmware Update. Instruction says to "please enter [NET] mode before starting the update." What does that mean?
Nothing, ignore it. Use the setup button to go to firmware update.

Home Theatre:
Onkyo TX-NR818
Onkyo C7030

DALI Zensor 7, Zensor 1, Vokal, DALI E-12F
theoneofgod is offline  
post #6860 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
awblackmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Boise, Id. U.S.A.
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I bought this reciever a few months ago and I enjoy it very much. I have it set up with 9.2 and love the effects. One thing I would like to try but can't seem to find the magic button is front wide and front high both turned on. I know this turns off the back surround. I cannot seem to find the right button press to get both the front wide and high channels turned on. I thought I had done it once but can't seem to remember how it gets done now. All I can do is toggle between wide and high but not both. As I said I know this will turn off the back surround doing this but I am ok with that. Can anyone tell me if I can do this? Doing a search didn't turn up much except touting that the unit did have front high and wide with nothing about how to select them.

Alan in Boise

103 inch AT screen with 9.x playback. IB sub woofer system. Two manifolds with 2 15s and 2 12s. Line array with 2 15s. Running main channels with Minimus 7s. Have front wide and front hight and rear surrounds. Room is perfect size for smaller speakers like the Minimus speakers. Approx. 17x13x8. Tower speakers were taking up to much room.
awblackmon is offline  
post #6861 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
migraine24-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Centerville Ia
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 191
If my research is correct its one or the other. But I could be wrong because I didn't look into it thoroughly.

GO BLUE
migraine24-7 is offline  
post #6862 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by DekPM19 View Post

I looked at Onecall, and all I saw was the new ones listed for list. Thanks for the information I will look for the open box or give them a call.

I just went back and checked out onecall and saw the open box link.
Thanks I might get that one.
Allen

My 1010 from Onecall is coming tomorrow. I called and got it brand new for the open box price. I am returning my 818 to Crutchfield.
bslep is offline  
post #6863 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
awblackmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Boise, Id. U.S.A.
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by migraine24-7 View Post

If my research is correct its one or the other. But I could be wrong because I didn't look into it thoroughly.

I wondered if that might be the case. I was sure I had found a way to do it, but hey at my age sometimes my memory can play tricks on me.

I tried running external amps from the pre-outs today but that did not work out. Running the audessy test came up with some odd results of what speakers were active. Rear surrounds kept coming through the front high, while front high tested normally. That is both tests for front high and rear surrounds kept being sent to front high. Odd. I know it is me that is goofing up here. I need to do some more studying of how to hook up my external amps. I ran the LCR and side surrounds through my HK2.1 5 channel amp and things were fine there. But the connection for Lw and Rw Lh and Rh and Left back and Right back weren't very clear on how to connect and set up. The outputs are not labeled very clear for me. The external amp I was trying to use for front high, front wide and rear surround was being sent to a 6 channel external amp. Thought I had the signals routed ok but boy, I didn't. The outputs were labeled FH/FW/SB. I need to discover how to select what channel is ouput from each of the pre-outs. Isn't this hobby fun?

Alan in Boise

103 inch AT screen with 9.x playback. IB sub woofer system. Two manifolds with 2 15s and 2 12s. Line array with 2 15s. Running main channels with Minimus 7s. Have front wide and front hight and rear surrounds. Room is perfect size for smaller speakers like the Minimus speakers. Approx. 17x13x8. Tower speakers were taking up to much room.
awblackmon is offline  
post #6864 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
neutro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by crystalineblue View Post

Has anyone bench tested the pre-outs of 818? or knows the volts (RMS)? Just like to know if my XPA3 is utilized to the max by my 818. biggrin.gif

No bench test but here are the specs:

Rated RCA Output Level and Impedance: 200 mV/470 Ω (Line Out)
Maximum RCA Output Level and Impedance: 4.6 V/470 Ω (Line Out)

Not sure how the XPA3 work but input level typically won't change the maximum output that the amp can deliver.

neutro is offline  
post #6865 of 9977 Old 05-08-2013, 07:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That is a great price I called and got a good price but I am calling them tomorrow to order one
Allen
DekPM19 is offline  
post #6866 of 9977 Old 05-09-2013, 12:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by theoneofgod View Post

Nothing, ignore it. Use the setup button to go to firmware update.

Okay. Thanks!
Pres2play is offline  
post #6867 of 9977 Old 05-09-2013, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Patrick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by awblackmon View Post

I bought this reciever a few months ago and I enjoy it very much. I have it set up with 9.2 and love the effects. One thing I would like to try but can't seem to find the magic button is front wide and front high both turned on. I know this turns off the back surround. I cannot seem to find the right button press to get both the front wide and high channels turned on. I thought I had done it once but can't seem to remember how it gets done now. All I can do is toggle between wide and high but not both. As I said I know this will turn off the back surround doing this but I am ok with that. Can anyone tell me if I can do this? Doing a search didn't turn up much except touting that the unit did have front high and wide with nothing about how to select them.

In the manual; page 17, "Connecting a Power Amplifier"
Page 59+60, "Preout to External Amplifier" to activate the speakers
Page 49, for choosing which speakers play (it's on the remote on the left side, #4, between TOP MENU and SP GUIDE)

Patrick Murphy is offline  
post #6868 of 9977 Old 05-09-2013, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Is DEQ on during Audyssey calibration? When I turn it off and run REW, the new measurements show a drop in the low end. This would indicate DEQ was on during previous measurements. Must I turn it off manually in the 818?
Pres2play is offline  
post #6869 of 9977 Old 05-09-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post

Is DEQ on during Audyssey calibration? When I turn it off and run REW, the new measurements show a drop in the low end. This would indicate DEQ was on during previous measurements. Must I turn it off manually in the 818?

No and no. Audyssey measures your speakers with all other processing turned off.

If you want to measure your speakers with REW for example then turn Dynamic EQ off otherwise you'll get wrong results.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #6870 of 9977 Old 05-09-2013, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post

No and no. Audyssey measures your speakers with all other processing turned off.

If you want to measure your speakers with REW for example then turn Dynamic EQ off otherwise you'll get wrong results.

Thanks, Markus. I may have been measuring with DEQ on all this time.
Pres2play is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr818 , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo , Audyssey
Gear in this thread - Nr818 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off