Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 274 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8191 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
EternalFlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello

If someone can help me with info, I want to use my old Denon AVR-3802 as preamp for onkyo tx 818 is this posible?

 

Thanx

EternalFlame is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8192 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
sahmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post


The only issue I'm having is that I can't configure the 12 volt trigger to switch on my power amp without having to manually select the zone 2 on the remote. Having discussed this on the UK AVForums there doesn't seem to be a way round it unless anyone on here knows a solution:

Ideally I need for anyone in the family to be able to simply press the front panel button on the 818 and for the power amp to be triggered on (and off again for the reverse). I'm 99% sure it can't be done, but just incase anyone here has found a workaround I'd be glad to hear before I go to the trouble of building a separate device to do this for me.

All the "workarounds" i know of would involve more than that "one-button-press" solution, so can't help you there... If all else fails, you can try teaching your family the zone 2-trigger method: they might turn out to be more tech-savvy than you're giving them credit for, especially if you can demo the procedure for each member repeatedly until they get it smile.gif Sorry I can't be of more help than that.
Kelvin1965S likes this.
sahmen is offline  
post #8193 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by EternalFlame View Post

Hello
If someone can help me with info, I want to use my old Denon AVR-3802 as preamp for onkyo tx 818 is this posible?

Thanx

You could do two ch from the 3802 preouts to one of the line level inputs on the 818, but the 818 doesn't have multich inputs...

lovinthehd is online now  
post #8194 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
sahmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Onkyo 818 + Oppo bdp 103 video output configuration:

1. How do I configure video output between these two units in order to get the best results in pq on my tv?

2. Implied in the above question: which of the two does the best video processing?

3. In case I need the hdmi video signal of the Oppo to go through the 818 untouched, what settings should I use on the 818?

4. Last question, which may or may not be related to the previous ones: What functionality will I gain or lose by using the 2nd (or sub) hdmi output jack on the 818 for video?


PS... I could also opt to have video from my Apple tv and Roku 3 processed through the Oppo if it can do a better video processing job than the onkyo, so please take that into account if you respond to this query.

Thanks.
sahmen is offline  
post #8195 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
hey guys, im moving into a new apartment and its a smaller place, now, im having some issues with the WAF in regards to the living room home theatre setup, she doesnt want me to have a tv stand at all, she wants to mount the LCD on the wall which is great, but where am i going to put the Onkyo Receiver/XBOX and PS3?

Is there any nice looking quality rack you guys could recommend to replace the tv stand so that i can place my AV reciever / ps3 and box on?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
post #8196 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
EternalFlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post


You could do two ch from the 3802 preouts to one of the line level inputs on the 818, but the 818 doesn't have multich inputs...

 

 

Thanx for help, yeah I see now that i can use 818 as preamp for 3802, devolution of technology :)

EternalFlame is offline  
post #8197 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:31 PM
Member
 
fokakis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post

The only issue I'm having is that I can't configure the 12 volt trigger to switch on my power amp without having to manually select the zone 2 on the remote. Having discussed this on the UK AVForums there doesn't seem to be a way round it unless anyone on here knows a solution:

Ideally I need for anyone in the family to be able to simply press the front panel button on the 818 and for the power amp to be triggered on (and off again for the reverse). I'm 99% sure it can't be done, but just incase anyone here has found a workaround I'd be glad to hear before I go to the trouble of building a separate device to do this for me.

Program one of the macro buttons on the Onkyo remote to power on zone 2 and the receiver. Be sure to power the receiver first, then zone 2 in the program sequence. This will turn both on and off with one button press.
Kelvin1965S likes this.

fokakis1 is online now  
post #8198 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake608 View Post

If u don't mind me asking what's your speaker layout? I'm still debating front heights vs rear surrounds.

My secondary amp is running my front wides and I still have a surround back but just one speaker. So I am actually running 10.2![/quote][quo


I am running front Heights and Surround backs...External amps I use the 818 as a pre pro.
NODES is offline  
post #8199 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamonsasa View Post

hey guys, im moving into a new apartment and its a smaller place, now, im having some issues with the WAF in regards to the living room home theatre setup, she doesnt want me to have a tv stand at all, she wants to mount the LCD on the wall which is great, but where am i going to put the Onkyo Receiver/XBOX and PS3?

Is there any nice looking quality rack you guys could recommend to replace the tv stand so that i can place my AV reciever / ps3 and box on?


glass A/V floating shelves. cool.gif
NODES is offline  
post #8200 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahmen View Post

Onkyo 818 + Oppo bdp 103 video output configuration:

1. How do I configure video output between these two units in order to get the best results in pq on my tv?

2. Implied in the above question: which of the two does the best video processing?

3. In case I need the hdmi video signal of the Oppo to go through the 818 untouched, what settings should I use on the 818?

4. Last question, which may or may not be related to the previous ones: What functionality will I gain or lose by using the 2nd (or sub) hdmi output jack on the 818 for video?


PS... I could also opt to have video from my Apple tv and Roku 3 processed through the Oppo if it can do a better video processing job than the onkyo, so please take that into account if you respond to this query.

Thanks.


Simple run one HDMi to the 818 for sound and the other HDMI directly into TV.
NODES is offline  
post #8201 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim_1335 View Post

Hi guys,

My 3009 has the 24p bug even after updating the firmware to the latest one. Any ideas on how to fix this?

I think the bug is similar to the 818 24p bug.

Thanks.


did u ask in the 3009 forum? Something tells me Onkyo never fixed the x09 models...
NODES is offline  
post #8202 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post

glass A/V floating shelves. cool.gif

can u recommend any to me?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
post #8203 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by fulhamx5 View Post

i ve purchased an onkyo cr n755
same specififaticions with onkyo 818.
it has wifi

but i s not easy to see its screen. i have lots of flac files . i have to go closer to see music files.

it has dlna. can i conenct it from my macbook air and see the files on my laptops screen


Are you saying the N755 has the same specs as the 818?
NODES is offline  
post #8204 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamonsasa View Post

can u recommend any to me?

something like this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2-Tier-Dual-Glass-Shelf-Wall-Mount-Bracket-Under-TV-Component-Cable-Box-DVR-DVD-/400572933082
NODES is offline  
post #8205 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by EternalFlame View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

You could do two ch from the 3802 preouts to one of the line level inputs on the 818, but the 818 doesn't have multich inputs...


Thanx for help, yeah I see now that i can use 818 as preamp for 3802, devolution of technology smile.gif

I think you're wasting your time personally.

lovinthehd is online now  
post #8206 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

that one says it holds "17.6 lbs each shelf" so thats not good for the nr818 which weighs 40 lbs..


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
::
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lamonsasa is offline  
post #8207 of 9988 Old 10-06-2013, 10:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamonsasa View Post

that one says it holds "17.6 lbs each shelf" so thats not good for the nr818 which weighs 40 lbs..


Of course not....I am just showing what it looks like....There is much more heavy duty ones available.
NODES is offline  
post #8208 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 01:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by fokakis1 View Post

Program one of the macro buttons on the Onkyo remote to power on zone 2 and the receiver. Be sure to power the receiver first, then zone 2 in the program sequence. This will turn both on and off with one button press.

I find my family seems incapable of using a remote with macros as they seem to wave it around while the macro is running which leaves some devices out of sync with each other and no sound or picture. (I have a Harmony remote that I use for everything but have removed the macros). rolleyes.gif

However I have found a simpler workaround: Just to use an 'intelligent' power extender cable that uses the 818 as 'master' and this then turns the other sockets on when the 818 draws power. Much neater solution and the family continue to operate 'the amp' as before (by pressing the front panel button rather than the remote). However, I'd gladly have given up the network stuff, which I have zero interest in just for a simple assignable 12 volt trigger.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #8209 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 05:31 AM
Newbie
 
EternalFlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post


I think you're wasting your time personally.

Why?

EternalFlame is offline  
post #8210 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Fishtank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by EternalFlame View Post

Why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by EternalFlame View Post

Why?

Without knowing your denon specifically you will likely gain very little to nothing.

While I'm more that satisfied with using my 818's internal amps, the $800 I spent mostly went to Audyseey / THX / HDMI ports.... licensing and connectivity. You generally pre-amp to quality power or don't bother.

Unless you just want a few more channels powered, at which case your gonna run an entire Denon avr just to get 2 extra channels, going from the Denon to the Onkyo makes even less sense as you loose the 818's processing.... which is why you bought it.

Fishtank is offline  
post #8211 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by EternalFlame View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

I think you're wasting your time personally.
Why?

Well, what do you think you will achieve by doing this? Why did you get the 818 if you want to use the other unit?

lovinthehd is online now  
post #8212 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tbird8450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by myoda View Post

tbird:

Are your speakers bookshelf or floorstanders? What were your settings before adjusting the crossover? The 818 has a more complex version of Audyssey than the 805. It runs it faster too. Have you thought about adding another sub?

FL and FR are floorstanders. Audyssey set my fronts (including center) to 40Hz, surrounds I believe were set to 60Hz. I bumped each of them up. Another sub is not really doable with my current setup. I'm not wanting in the LFE department, though.
tbird8450 is offline  
post #8213 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Sorry to change subject, but has anyone had to put fans on this unit?

My HDMI switching board just blew after 10 months. It is in an air controlled room with exauhst fan running through the cabinet it is in. I believe mine failed due to internal heat.

My thought is to add a fan to the case to help remove the heat on hte board. has anyone else had to do this? If so what did you use?

Thanks,
Skybolt

skybolt is offline  
post #8214 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Fishtank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
IMO heat is just an easy-mode answer. Onkyo's run hot, it's an easy target.

EVERYTHING ELSE in the receiver is almost always OK... but the non-wearable part at the top near the back... likely one of the cooler internal locations... dies from heat all the time. How much heat kills an Onkyo HDMI board??? Why did they only use heat sensitive material there. It's gonna be some pcb with some chips, I'm not personally concerned about heat anyhow.

I would have to guess as well to provide an alternative theory, poor mounting and stress from taught / heavy hdmi cables would be my guess, or just bad QC. Sourced a bad part and bought a few million of em'.

Fishtank is offline  
post #8215 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 306
From my reading i thought it was an inferior part on 2011 and 2012 models, that they caught too late ('11 problems showed up as '12s were coming out) so they corrected it for 2013?

My 818 has been pushed a couple of times and does not get what Id call "hot".

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #8216 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 02:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
skybolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stony Brook, NY
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

From my reading i thought it was an inferior part on 2011 and 2012 models, that they caught too late ('11 problems showed up as '12s were coming out) so they corrected it for 2013?

My 818 has been pushed a couple of times and does not get what Id call "hot".

Thats good to hear.

The parts that went on the PCB where caps, they typically only go from over heating, over voltage usually pops them. But from what I understand there is a new PCB added to this one to "Fix" the issue. So you're probably spot on with the defective parts not being caught in time.

skybolt is offline  
post #8217 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by skybolt View Post

Sorry to change subject, but has anyone had to put fans on this unit?

My HDMI switching board just blew after 10 months. It is in an air controlled room with exauhst fan running through the cabinet it is in. I believe mine failed due to internal heat.

My thought is to add a fan to the case to help remove the heat on hte board. has anyone else had to do this? If so what did you use?

Thanks,
Skybolt


Oh boy....here we go again. It is not the heat that killed your unit, its the crappy HDMI board that was put in it

Onkyo + HDMI = mad.gif
NODES is offline  
post #8218 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

From my reading i thought it was an inferior part on 2011 and 2012 models, that they caught too late ('11 problems showed up as '12s were coming out) so they corrected it for 2013?

My 818 has been pushed a couple of times and does not get what Id call "hot".


The day when there is no HDMI failures on the Onkyo is the day they finally get rid of their last defective HDMI board....but who knows when that will be this started in 2007 eek.gif
NODES is offline  
post #8219 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Hehe. I just hope mine is G2G smile.gif

the 809 I bought my Dad is still kicking, he is at 12 months.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #8220 of 9988 Old 10-07-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Just tried to search for this but 'THX' gets too many results on this thread. rolleyes.gif

Regarding the subwoofer setting in the THX audio setup for 'THX Select which was set to 'OFF' after I'd run set up. I switched it back to 'ON' but does this mean I won't get EQ below a certain frequency or does it simply turn on or off a filter to protect smaller subs? I'll be building a pair of 15" sealed subs soon enough, but my current sub goes down to 18Hz -3dB and is boosted by being in a corner too.

I'm still playing around with the set up as it's taking me a while to get my head around the way Onkyo do things (having owned Denon and Arcam amps/processors previously). I can't seem to get it to turn on to the last input, so I've set everything up on the BD input which it always defaults to; analogue connection from my TV, HDMI connection from my Lumagen video processor which switches sources between PVR or BluRay. It seems to work OK this way since I only have three sources to listen to, but I'm surprised it can't just revert to the last used input.

Zooming: Been there, done that, bought the lens...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr818 , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo , Audyssey
Gear in this thread - Nr818 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off