Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 333 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9961 of 9988 Old 09-11-2014, 06:51 PM
Member
 
tofurky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i had an issue a couple times in the last few days where there was no sound (but video) over both hdmi and optical. the first time, just cycling the power with the remote fixed it. the second time i actually had to pull the power to do a complete "reboot" of the receiver.
does this sound like the unfortunate hdmi/network chip problem? or maybe it was just a temporary glitch/lockup on the receiver? i'm hoping for the later but i am eligible for the repair if need be.
tofurky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9962 of 9988 Old 09-11-2014, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Livin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Same thing happened to mine... Power off and on fixed it for two weeks, then it becomes permanent. Waiting for my unit to get returned from service now

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

________
Ltek

my setup: XBMC, Windows Media Center, Z-Wave/Insteon automation, Paradigm-Parasound-Onkyo-Velodyne Home Theater, 110" DIY Screen & BenQ W1070
Livin is offline  
post #9963 of 9988 Old 09-12-2014, 07:12 AM
Newbie
 
unwarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question

I just recently acquired tx-nr818 and had a question. When I setup "game1" I want it to only output audio (and video of course) through HDMI. However when I set it to TV speakers, all of my other sources (ie, cd) only output through the TV. How do I setup individual outputs for each of the sources. I have gone through the manual and can't seem to figure it out.


Hopefully my question is clear.
unwarez is offline  
post #9964 of 9988 Old 09-13-2014, 07:58 AM
Member
 
iamwildbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same issue. Repair center (which happens to be 15 minutes from my house) currently has my 818. Hopefully the turnaround time is quick. They received it on the 11th.
iamwildbill is offline  
post #9965 of 9988 Old 09-13-2014, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
Grayswandir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: DC-NoVa
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weird, same thing started happening to me 2 days ago, so came to this thread to see if it's happened to others in the past.
Pulling the plug seems (so far) to always fix the problem. Sometimes just turning it on and off fixes it. There have been no changes to my setup in months.Everything is via HDMI and it affects any of the inputs I select.
Odd that it's happened to 3 of us all at the same time, was hoping to get 1 more year out of this receiver until the true 4k receivers were released.

edit - thanks for the link earlier in the thread about the official statement from Onkyo about this issue and recall info.

Last edited by Grayswandir; 09-13-2014 at 10:47 AM.
Grayswandir is offline  
post #9966 of 9988 Old 09-14-2014, 11:09 AM
Member
 
tofurky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
argh, it keeps doing it. not too happy about having to ship it out and trust fedex to be gentle with it
anyhow, since it seems to be happening to a lot of people, the service/recall link is at http://www.onkyousa.com/Support/service_info.php
tofurky is offline  
post #9967 of 9988 Old 09-14-2014, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Send us your receiver in a prepaid box and label that we will provide at no cost to you

Looks like Onkyo is paying for the shipping both ways.

is there any way to pull up serial number on the unit without ripping it out of rack?

Last edited by NODES; 09-14-2014 at 09:36 PM.
NODES is offline  
post #9968 of 9988 Old 09-15-2014, 04:13 AM
Member
 
6sj7gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for posting this link tofurky.

Mine is still 100% flawless but it's good to know Onkyo has effectively extended its warranty for this particular problem through 2018. I'll want to upgrade well before then anyway.
6sj7gt is offline  
post #9969 of 9988 Old 09-15-2014, 08:21 PM
Member
 
tofurky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post
is there any way to pull up serial number on the unit without ripping it out of rack?
i used my cell phone camera to get the serial number. took several tries to get it in focus.
tofurky is offline  
post #9970 of 9988 Old 09-17-2014, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
MrBlonde83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem with Onkyo Net Features

Sorry that this isn't related to what you were all talking about in the previous replies...

But, All of a sudden, nothing over network works with this receiver. Not the internet radio or my iPhone remote app. I am very disappointed. I was able to ping it's IP address from my macbook pro. It HAS an IP address and sees the gateway. Has a subnet mask and Hardware/MAC address. Another weird thing. I have a USB laptop fan on top of the unit for extra cooling plugged into the rear USB port. It usually shuts off with the unit, it doesn't anymore. Would a factory reset fix these issues?
MrBlonde83 is offline  
post #9971 of 9988 Old 09-17-2014, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlonde83 View Post
Sorry that this isn't related to what you were all talking about in the previous replies...

But, All of a sudden, nothing over network works with this receiver. Not the internet radio or my iPhone remote app. I am very disappointed. I was able to ping it's IP address from my macbook pro. It HAS an IP address and sees the gateway. Has a subnet mask and Hardware/MAC address. Another weird thing. I have a USB laptop fan on top of the unit for extra cooling plugged into the rear USB port. It usually shuts off with the unit, it doesn't anymore. Would a factory reset fix these issues?

You have nothing to lose besides your settings...give it a whirl.
NODES is offline  
post #9972 of 9988 Old 09-18-2014, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
MrBlonde83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, tried it last night. It worked! Network is back.
MrBlonde83 is offline  
post #9973 of 9988 Old 09-18-2014, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
malmstump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 279
hey guys ,had an issue with my 818 ,after calibrating 7.1 klipsch system the next day i turn the unit on and it shows 5.1 losing the fh channels just weird ......any thoughts on this ,i am gonna recalibrate on the weekend
malmstump is offline  
post #9974 of 9988 Old 09-18-2014, 04:06 PM
Member
 
runcliffyrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My 818 has just developed some problems with the audio from the centre speaker - it cuts in and out. Its been happening for a few days, but has just now become unbearable.

I haven't changed or moved anything, and I will be checking all my connections, wiring etc, but I was wondering if this might be a larger problem?

A few days ago I kept losing sound altogether, but a power on/off cycle worked.

I'm getting a little worried.

Behringer B212XL (x3), Axiom QS8 (x2), SVS PC12 NSD, PB1000 (x2) . Onkyo TX-NR818. Mini DSP 2x4. Sony BDP-S3200. Samsung PS50B650 . Epson 8350 Projector, Grandview pulldown 92" screen, Aura Bass Shakers (x3).
runcliffyrun is offline  
post #9975 of 9988 Old 09-18-2014, 04:28 PM
Member
 
slimDub13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Okc.
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 22
^^^
You should.
It sounds like the infamous hdmi board issue.
Try to give Onkyo a call and see if they can fix it at no cost to you.

Receiver: Denon AVR-4520CISpeakers:Fronts: Polk Rti A7 /Center: Polk csiA6 /Surrounds: Polk Fxi A6SUB: Rythmik LV12R X2Source: Pioneer BDP62FDDisplay:Panasonic TC P50S60[/SIZE]
slimDub13 is online now  
post #9976 of 9988 Old 09-18-2014, 07:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
malmstump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by runcliffyrun View Post
My 818 has just developed some problems with the audio from the centre speaker - it cuts in and out. Its been happening for a few days, but has just now become unbearable.

I haven't changed or moved anything, and I will be checking all my connections, wiring etc, but I was wondering if this might be a larger problem?

A few days ago I kept losing sound altogether, but a power on/off cycle worked.

I'm getting a little worried.
sorry to hear that run ,is it an audio cutoff during cable /sat tv ?could be the reception i get that on certain channels as well .if your getting it while playing games and music then an hdmi board problem and like previous poster said ,a service call is needed
cheers
malmstump is offline  
post #9977 of 9988 Old 09-19-2014, 04:35 AM
Member
 
RPGMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hurst, TX
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlonde83 View Post
Yup, tried it last night. It worked! Network is back.
If anything like mine, the problem will return, repeatedly. Don't factory reset, though. Pull the power plug for a couple of minutes and network should return.

Sometimes our circuits get shorted by external interference,
Signals get crossed and the balance distorted by internal incoherence.
RPGMasta is online now  
post #9978 of 9988 Old 09-22-2014, 04:55 AM
Newbie
 
LilScrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have problem with my Onkyo TX-NR818
When i play TrueHD 7.1 in my 7.1 home setup the receiver is down from 7.1 for input to output 5.1 this prоblem is only for TrueHD 7.1 audio !
With DTS-HD MA 7.1 no problem !
I use MPC-HC + Lac filters tried with PotwerDVD and have same problem, please for help !

Last edited by LilScrappy; 09-22-2014 at 05:27 AM.
LilScrappy is offline  
post #9979 of 9988 Old 09-22-2014, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilScrappy View Post
I have problem with my Onkyo TX-NR818
When i play TrueHD 7.1 in my 7.1 home setup the receiver is down from 7.1 for input to output 5.1 this prоblem is only for TrueHD 7.1 audio !
With DTS-HD MA 7.1 no problem !
I use MPC-HC + Lac filters tried with PotwerDVD and have same problem, please for help !
How is your 7.1 setup? Surround backs or front high/wides?
PlayNice is online now  
post #9980 of 9988 Old 09-22-2014, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
LilScrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlayNice View Post
How is your 7.1 setup? Surround backs or front high/wides?
I use front high, no idea why is obtained only with TrueHD 7.1
LilScrappy is offline  
post #9981 of 9988 Old 09-22-2014, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,400
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilScrappy View Post
I use front high, no idea why is obtained only with TrueHD 7.1

IIRC, you either need to be running Audyssey DSX or DTS Neo X for the front height speakers to be active. Native 7.1 doesn't play front heights or wides by default.
zeus33 is online now  
post #9982 of 9988 Old 09-22-2014, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
LilScrappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
IIRC, you either need to be running Audyssey DSX or DTS Neo X for the front height speakers to be active. Native 7.1 doesn't play front heights or wides by default.
Yes when i use Audyssey DSX work but i want TrueHD 7.1, when play DTS-HD MA 7.1 for input receiver display writes output DTS-HD MA 7.1 no problem but TrueHD 7.1 is down every time to 5.1, if this is the only option to play TrueHD 7.1 i use every time Audyssey DSX !
LilScrappy is offline  
post #9983 of 9988 Old 09-22-2014, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by LilScrappy View Post
Yes when i use Audyssey DSX work but i want TrueHD 7.1, when play DTS-HD MA 7.1 for input receiver display writes output DTS-HD MA 7.1 no problem but TrueHD 7.1 is down every time to 5.1, if this is the only option to play TrueHD 7.1 i use every time Audyssey DSX !
The TrueHD 7.1 soundtrack included standard 5.1 the front left/right, center, surround left/right and also the 2 other channels which are only the surround back left/right.

You are using front high/wides, that is not included in the TrueHD 7.1 track. You must use a DSP mode such as Pro Logic IIz, THX S2, THX Surr, DTS Neo X or Audyssey DSX to add the front channels.
PlayNice is online now  
post #9984 of 9988 Old 09-29-2014, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
WannaTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got off the phone with an Onkyo Rep about losing audio in my 818. It started last week- Cable/Sat HDMI video was passed through, but no audio. I turned the unit off and then back on, which corrected the problem. Today I cannot get any audio, from any HDMI source. The relays do not click, and the speaker symbol does not show up. I did try to do a factory reset. Further investigation shows that the network setup is also now grayed out. This appears to be known issue with Onkyo, as they have a repair or trade-in program on their website:


http://www.onkyousa.com/Support/
Then click Special Service Program, and follow link for loss of audio. From here, you can see if your unit qualifies for repair or trade-in.

I purchased my unit 20 months ago, under their trade-in program. I am glad they are making this right, as I have been loyal Onkyo customer since the 80s.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
WannaTheater is offline  
post #9985 of 9988 Old Yesterday, 03:29 AM
Senior Member
 
theoneofgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Any word of this special service program being used in the UK? I find it ****ed up If they acknowledge there's a problem with the device but only help those in the states and Canada.

Home Theatre:
Onkyo TX-NR818
Onkyo C7030

DALI Zensor 7, Zensor 1, Vokal, DALI E-12F
theoneofgod is offline  
post #9986 of 9988 Old Yesterday, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
WannaTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be F*ed up, but it doesn't appear that Onkyo is doing any bad-behaving. A quick search of their UK Support Site resulted in this link:


http://www.uk.onkyo.com/en/customer-...am-118747.html

So it appears that if your 818 has the problem, and the serial number is one that is known to be impacted, you can send yours in for free repair. The warranty period for this defect appears to have been extended until Dec 31, 2018, so even if yours doesn't have the issue yet, it appears that you will be covered if it does act up before the end of their stated period.


I processed my return form today through the US support site, and received a confirmation email and order/service number. The next step is for them to send me a shipping box and a prepaid return shipping label.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
WannaTheater is offline  
post #9987 of 9988 Old Yesterday, 06:21 PM
Newbie
 
fretwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[QUOTE=WannaTheater;27824194]I just got off the phone with an Onkyo Rep about losing audio in my 818. It started last week- Cable/Sat HDMI video was passed through, but no audio. I turned the unit off and then back on, which corrected the problem. Today I cannot get any audio, from any HDMI source. The relays do not click, and the speaker symbol does not show up. I did try to do a factory reset. Further investigation shows that the network setup is also now grayed out. This appears to be known issue with Onkyo, as they have a repair or trade-in program on their website:

The same thing started happening to me with the audio two weeks ago but the dropped network problem started a year ago. I would lose the network connection and would have to reboot the receiver to get it to reconnect. Now the audio amps don't click on and it just passes through the video. I have to turn it on/off to get audio to play. I am going to go grab the SN and see if mine qualifies for the repair.
fretwater is offline  
post #9988 of 9988 Old Yesterday, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
fretwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just confirmed my SNs is one of the recall units so I just filled out the return request and they will send out the packaging supplies in about a week. All settings will be reverted to factory defaults...I guess that is good as it will force me to recalibrate the speakers and change around my settings and reacquaint myself with the receiver. At least I won't lose the 5 remote controller codes saved on the remote...reprogramming them would not be fun. Does anybody have any specific setup info that I should record before sending it back? I don't recall any custom settings other then the Through and direct settings to prevent the VP.
fretwater is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr818 , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo , Audyssey
Gear in this thread - Nr818 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off