Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 337 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10081 of 10090 Old 12-05-2014, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
theoneofgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post
I have not updated since receiving my 818 Refurb...I know there are a couple for it, are they sequential, or cumulative? As in, would I have to do separate updates one by one? Or put the last on in, and have all the updates in one?
Just update to the latest firmware, they are "cumulative" as you don't need access to previous releases. I've been on the latest one since release and haven't had many issues, just some NET related things.
kevin g. likes this.

Home Theatre:
Onkyo TX-NR818
Onkyo C7030

DALI Zensor 7, Zensor 1, Vokal, DALI E-12F
theoneofgod is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10082 of 10090 Old 12-05-2014, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,630
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post
I have not updated since receiving my 818 Refurb...I know there are a couple for it, are they sequential, or cumulative? As in, would I have to do separate updates one by one? Or put the last on in, and have all the updates in one?

Read the instructions for the firmware. One of the firmware updates specifically states that "you must be on xxxxxx firmware before upgrading to this one". It's a lot easier to take a few minutes to read before hand than deal with a bricked unit after the fact.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Firmware.jpg
Views:	288
Size:	365.6 KB
ID:	404466  
zeus33 is offline  
post #10083 of 10090 Old 12-06-2014, 02:31 AM
Senior Member
 
theoneofgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
Read the instructions for the firmware. One of the firmware updates specifically states that "you must be on xxxxxx firmware before upgrading to this one". It's a lot easier to take a few minutes to read before hand than deal with a bricked unit after the fact.


Good point, but as he has already said the AV's running 1110-8103-0101-000 he is good.

Home Theatre:
Onkyo TX-NR818
Onkyo C7030

DALI Zensor 7, Zensor 1, Vokal, DALI E-12F
theoneofgod is online now  
post #10084 of 10090 Old 12-06-2014, 08:14 PM
Member
 
sixtytooneratio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
upgrade

I am currently running the original firmware on my unit.Has the upgrades offered by Onkyo made a BIG difference?
I have zero issues with the unit and adhere to the adage,"If it ain't broke,don't fix it".
I would upgrade only if would make a large difference.
sixtytooneratio is offline  
post #10085 of 10090 Old 12-06-2014, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixtytooneratio View Post
I am currently running the original firmware on my unit.Has the upgrades offered by Onkyo made a BIG difference?
I have zero issues with the unit and adhere to the adage,"If it ain't broke,don't fix it".
I would upgrade only if would make a large difference.
The major fix is a 24Hz bug resolve. Worth the upgrade.
PlayNice is offline  
post #10086 of 10090 Old Today, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
wtxgringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver City, Texas
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quick ?, just got a new Sony tv & setup was a breeze, when I accessed the apps & tried watching Youtube, had no audio. I'm assuming I'll need to connect an optical cable from the avr to the tv correct? Thx

"To the journey..
Sony KDL60W630b; Onkyo TX-NR818
Polk RTi A7 Mains; Polk RTi CSi A6 Center; Polk RTi A5 Wides & Surrounds
HSU VTF2-Mk4
Teac PD-H600; Marantz BD7004; Dual 1218
wtxgringo is offline  
post #10087 of 10090 Old Today, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
theoneofgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtxgringo View Post
Quick ?, just got a new Sony tv & setup was a breeze, when I accessed the apps & tried watching Youtube, had no audio. I'm assuming I'll need to connect an optical cable from the avr to the tv correct? Thx
If the TV/apps don't support ARC, then yes.

Home Theatre:
Onkyo TX-NR818
Onkyo C7030

DALI Zensor 7, Zensor 1, Vokal, DALI E-12F
theoneofgod is online now  
post #10088 of 10090 Old Today, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
wtxgringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver City, Texas
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Gottit, thx. Switched from hdmi1 to hdmi2/arc & enabled rihd on the avr. Works great now.

"To the journey..
Sony KDL60W630b; Onkyo TX-NR818
Polk RTi A7 Mains; Polk RTi CSi A6 Center; Polk RTi A5 Wides & Surrounds
HSU VTF2-Mk4
Teac PD-H600; Marantz BD7004; Dual 1218
wtxgringo is offline  
post #10089 of 10090 Old Today, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
grpape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I decided to replace my Sony 5800es with the 818 (own both, but did it basically for the Audyssey dynamic volume that the wife likes). After setting it all up (FL/FR/Center and highs through Emotiva, surrounds/rear surrounds through 818). I then went ahead and chose front highs in the amp section in the speaker set up. Running neo:x or PLllz should have the highs working correct?

I know there is a step on pg.49 in the owners manual (to choose which set of speakers you want to be prioritized to run first between SB/FH, FW, etc.). I can't get it to work. All I get is "not available" showing up on the front display. Is there something I am doing wrong? Those who run 9.1 or 9.2, did you do this step? Or did you just set the amp selection (to which set of speakers you wanted to run) and then just change the decoding. I'm just wondering if this step is necessary for the FH (or any set of speakers running of an external amp) to work correctly.

Thanks for any help

Last edited by grpape; Today at 08:42 PM.
grpape is online now  
post #10090 of 10090 Old Today, 09:18 PM
Member
 
fokakis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by grpape View Post
So I decided to replace my Sony 5800es with the 818 (own both, but did it basically for the Audyssey dynamic volume that the wife likes). After setting it all up (FL/FR/Center and highs through Emotiva, surrounds/rear surrounds through 818). I then went ahead and chose front highs in the amp section in the speaker set up. Running neo:x or PLllz should have the highs working correct?

I know there is a step on pg.49 in the owners manual (to choose which set of speakers you want to be prioritized to run first between SB/FH, FW, etc.). I can't get it to work. All I get is "not available" showing up on the front display. Is there something I am doing wrong? Those who run 9.1 or 9.2, did you do this step? Or did you just set the amp selection (to which set of speakers you wanted to run) and then just change the decoding. I'm just wondering if this step is necessary for the FH (or any set of speakers running of an external amp) to work correctly.

Thanks for any help
Nothing is wrong. The 818 allows you to connect more speakers than it can process at one time. For instance, if you had 11 speakers connected and set to large/small (IOW not set to "none") this preference setting would no longer be "not available" and you would be allowed to set a priority for your preferred speaker configuration. The 818 would then default to your preference. Since you don't have FW speakers connected (and set to large/small) there are no other configurations available to set as your preference.

And yes, PLIIz will mix in your heights very nicely with pretty much anything you can feed it.

Last edited by fokakis1; Today at 09:21 PM.
fokakis1 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr818 , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo , Audyssey
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off