Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 338 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10111 of 10115 Old Yesterday, 05:05 PM
Member
 
D-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Sound from my Onkyo 818, need help

Can anyone provide me some trouble shooting pointers to determine if I have a real problem with my receiver or if I have somehow diverted the sound away from my main speakers? I can't get sound from any of my devices, such as the cable box, the blu ray player, or the CD player. I was once streaming Pandora but I can't get the NET button to even pull it up anymore. Is it something I have done or the receiver? Thanks!
D-Rex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10112 of 10115 Old Yesterday, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Rex View Post
Can anyone provide me some trouble shooting pointers to determine if I have a real problem with my receiver or if I have somehow diverted the sound away from my main speakers? I can't get sound from any of my devices, such as the cable box, the blu ray player, or the CD player. I was once streaming Pandora but I can't get the NET button to even pull it up anymore. Is it something I have done or the receiver? Thanks!

no sound or net functions usually means the HDMI board is pooched.

Try doing couple of factory resets.
old corps likes this.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is online now  
post #10113 of 10115 Old Yesterday, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Rex View Post
Can anyone provide me some trouble shooting pointers to determine if I have a real problem with my receiver or if I have somehow diverted the sound away from my main speakers? I can't get sound from any of my devices, such as the cable box, the blu ray player, or the CD player. I was once streaming Pandora but I can't get the NET button to even pull it up anymore. Is it something I have done or the receiver? Thanks!


Sounds like it might be time for a repair. Read this: Onkyo acknowledges failed units and extending warrranties until 2018
zeus33 is offline  
post #10114 of 10115 Old Yesterday, 11:22 PM
Member
 
D-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus33 View Post
Sounds like it might be time for a repair. Read this: Onkyo acknowledges failed units and extending warrranties until 2018

Yes, after two resets, I suspect this may be my problem! Thanks for the responses guys! Your help is greatly appreciated!
D-Rex is offline  
post #10115 of 10115 Old Today, 04:26 PM
Member
 
TheRealDeal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Returned due to HDMI/network issue

I too experience issues with lost audio on the TX NR818. Up to this point it has been rock solid. I updated the firmware to the latest just to be sure that wouldn't fix the issue. No dice. Unplugging the power cable for 10 minutes seemed to fix the issue for about two weeks but after that no amount of unplugging the power would fix it. Checked the network settings in the GUI and, sure enough, it was greyed out. After reading here about the bad network chip warranty return program, I headed over to Onkyo's site and filled out the form. Onkyo sent me out a box in a little over a week. I packed it real good and sent it back with the prepayed shipping sticker. They didn't even require a copy of the receipt. Tracking says that Onkyo revceived it and shipped it back in two days. I finally had a chance to open the box today and look inside. The HDMI board has the "NEW" sticker over the TI chip like other posters have described. I gotta say, the turnaround time is great. When my Denon Avr3311ci started having issues, I had to pay the return shipping for warranty repair and wait a few months for it to be fixed and returned.

I saved the Onkyo TX NR818 configuration to internal memory before I sent the unit in. There was a little note inside the return packaging that says the unit has been reset back to factory default. I take this to mean a microprocessor reset. I'm wondering if the configuration I saved to internal memory will still be there for reload so I don't have to find my microphone and do the Audyssey configuration again. With the Denon, I was able to save the configuration via the web interface to my laptop and reload it when it returned.
TheRealDeal1 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr818 , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo , Audyssey
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off