Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 10022 Old 07-12-2012, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post

No, "Other XT32 AVRs" don't "EQ 2 subs separately". MultEQ always equalizes all connected subs as one.

You know what I meant. Other AVRs with XT32 can EQ multiple subs individually for the best combined single EQ setup for the room, which the 818 cannot do. You can connect as many subs to the 818 as you like, but Audyssey will not be able to balance individual subs and sum them to one subwoofer for EQ purposes.
jmpage2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 10022 Old 07-12-2012, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Semp1 View Post

It's not CBL/SAT button it's the VCR/DVR button. Then while holding that simultaneously hold the Return button then while still holding the VCR button press the Return button again until it says Video Processor:skip on the receivers display.

The 818 actually does not have a VCR/DVR button. The button that performs this function on the 818 is CBL/SAT (in conjunction with return).
jmpage2 is offline  
post #1083 of 10022 Old 07-12-2012, 05:17 PM
Member
 
dumbasbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My audyssey calibration always sets all the speakers level calibration at negative decibles. Is this normal or should I turn up the decibles to positive level? What do you guys think?Just for the info, my center is at -6.0dB, right is at -5.5dB, left at -6.0dB, surround right at +2.5dB, surround left at +2.0db, surround back right at +1.0db, surround back left at 4.0dB. Do these settings seem right or should I turn up the decibles?
dumbasbell is offline  
post #1084 of 10022 Old 07-12-2012, 06:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
chs4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Leave it at whatever Audyssey sets it to, unquestionably.
chs4000 is offline  
post #1085 of 10022 Old 07-12-2012, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Limp Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newmanstown PA
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
dumbasbell
you really only want to mess with the crossover settings if you can help it


yea Emo never meets deadlines thats for sure. there amps are god tho ;0) not sure why it bothers me so much, but Onkyo should've includec the program for each sub. might be the biggest hang up peoplehave withthe 818. its pretty damn perfect other wise for the price

US ARMY 42A2T/11C2T

another Deployment? ...you don't say
Limp Fox is offline  
post #1086 of 10022 Old 07-12-2012, 09:20 PM
Member
 
dumbasbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limp Fox View Post

dumbasbell
you really only want to mess with the crossover settings if you can help it
yea Emo never meets deadlines thats for sure. there amps are god tho ;0) not sure why it bothers me so much, but Onkyo should've includec the program for each sub. might be the biggest hang up peoplehave withthe 818. its pretty damn perfect other wise for the price
So the level calibration settings are same as crossover settings? Just out of curiosity, how come Audyssey Calibration settings are different each time I set it again? I did it number of times from the same position and resulting settings are different each time. Man, I have so much to learn about all this stuff.
dumbasbell is offline  
post #1087 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 12:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 768 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

Other AVRs with XT32 can EQ multiple subs individually for the best combined single EQ setup for the room

That's not correct. MultEQ always calculates the equalization filter based on a measurement signal played through all connected subwoofers at once.
Basically you can split the subwoofer preout to any numbers of subs. This would result in an even smoother in-room response over space and frequency. See papers by Welti or Geddes.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #1088 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 03:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,315
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1429 Post(s)
Liked: 1607
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

You know what I meant. Other AVRs with XT32 can EQ multiple subs individually for the best combined single EQ setup for the room, which the 818 cannot do. You can connect as many subs to the 818 as you like, but Audyssey will not be able to balance individual subs and sum them to one subwoofer for EQ purposes.

Yes, I get the distinction you are trying to make of the benefit of XT32 w/Sub EQ HT. Although to be more specific, as Chris (Audyssey co-founder) has stated ....

Using XT32 (w/Sub EQ HT, eg. 5010) ..... "with dual subs it first finds the relative delay and level difference between them. Then it corrects it so they appear as one properly aligned unit. After that it pings them together to create the sub correction filter. XT32 (w/o Sub EQ HT, ie. 818) doesn't apply time and level correction prior to pinging the two subs together".

Although as Sub EQ HT only comes in to play with multiple subs, it's absence is not an issue for the vast majority using only a single sub.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1089 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
dstew100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

This is correct. As Chris (Audyssey co-founder) has stated ....
Using XT32 (w/Sub EQ HT, eg. 5010) ..... "with dual subs it first finds the relative delay and level difference between them. Then it corrects it so they appear as one properly aligned unit. After that it pings them together to create the sub correction filter. XT32 (w/o Sub EQ HT, ie. 818) doesn't apply time and level correction prior to pinging the two subs together".

EDIT: Deleted post. My reading comprehension suffers this early in the AM
dstew100 is offline  
post #1090 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Limp Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newmanstown PA
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbasbell View Post

So the level calibration settings are same as crossover settings? Just out of curiosity, how come Audyssey Calibration settings are different each time I set it again? I did it number of times from the same position and resulting settings are different each time. Man, I have so much to learn about all this stuff.

The level settings are dictated by the calibration system and relfect what was needed to be added or taken away from that particular speaker to be equal with the rest at REF from your listening position, if that makes sense? Others feel free to correct me if I am wrong on that.

I know what you mean about getting different settings when re-running the calibration software. I am not 100% sure as to why it does this. I'd imagine it's partially due to any changes in the way the sound was reflected from the speaker to the mic. For example if there's added background noise, or less for that matter . When I had one of the best receivers to date (Onkyo 807) it would do the same thing but the changes were so so minimal...

US ARMY 42A2T/11C2T

another Deployment? ...you don't say
Limp Fox is offline  
post #1091 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 08:05 AM
Member
 
jason370's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason370 View Post

Does anyone know how to get the front panel to auto-dim? I remember this working at one point and now it stopped. is there a setting somewhere?

anyone? it seems to auto-dim when im playing music, but not video. any thoughts?
jason370 is offline  
post #1092 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
LansdaleHokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason370 View Post

anyone? it seems to auto-dim when im playing music, but not video. any thoughts?

when you say "playing music", what listening mode are you using? Pretty sure that one of those will result in the entire front panel going dark - this is by design.

Mancave: UN46D7000, Onkyo 818, Mirage OMD-C1, OMD-5 (2), HSU STF-2, PS3, XBox360, Wii, DirecTV, AppleTV v2


Den: LG 55LX9500, Onkyo 709, Polk RC85i (3), Polk PSW10, DirecTV, AppleTV v3

LansdaleHokie is offline  
post #1093 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 08:20 AM
Member
 
jason370's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LansdaleHokie View Post

when you say "playing music", what listening mode are you using? Pretty sure that one of those will result in the entire front panel going dark - this is by design.

playing music usually means pure audio or direct mode. not sure which, i seem to go back and forth between the two. obviously im not using these settings with any tv/video but i'd still like to dim the panel.
jason370 is offline  
post #1094 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
LansdaleHokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason370 View Post

playing music usually means pure audio or direct mode. not sure which, i seem to go back and forth between the two. obviously im not using these settings with any tv/video but i'd still like to dim the panel.

I don't think you can "auto-dim" the display. You will have to manually dim it using the button on the remote control or on the face of the unit. I don't think that you can fully turn off the display unless you are in pure audio mode.

Mancave: UN46D7000, Onkyo 818, Mirage OMD-C1, OMD-5 (2), HSU STF-2, PS3, XBox360, Wii, DirecTV, AppleTV v2


Den: LG 55LX9500, Onkyo 709, Polk RC85i (3), Polk PSW10, DirecTV, AppleTV v3

LansdaleHokie is offline  
post #1095 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 08:37 AM
Member
 
jason370's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LansdaleHokie View Post

I don't think you can "auto-dim" the display. You will have to manually dim it using the button on the remote control or on the face of the unit. I don't think that you can fully turn off the display unless you are in pure audio mode.

ok, wheres that button on the remote and display. i have no clue where it would be or how to use it.
jason370 is offline  
post #1096 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
LansdaleHokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason370 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by LansdaleHokie View Post

I don't think you can "auto-dim" the display. You will have to manually dim it using the button on the remote control or on the face of the unit. I don't think that you can fully turn off the display unless you are in pure audio mode.

ok, wheres that button on the remote and display. i have no clue where it would be or how to use it.

Bottom left most button on the remote is the dimmer button. Clearly labeled as such.

On the front panel there is also a dimmer button.

Press them. That's how you sue them. Smh.

Mancave: UN46D7000, Onkyo 818, Mirage OMD-C1, OMD-5 (2), HSU STF-2, PS3, XBox360, Wii, DirecTV, AppleTV v2


Den: LG 55LX9500, Onkyo 709, Polk RC85i (3), Polk PSW10, DirecTV, AppleTV v3

LansdaleHokie is offline  
post #1097 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 09:04 AM
Member
 
jason370's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LansdaleHokie View Post

Bottom left most button on the remote is the dimmer button. Clearly labeled as such.
On the front panel there is also a dimmer button.
Press them. That's how you sue them. Smh.

ty, ill give that a try. never saw it.
jason370 is offline  
post #1098 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
scsnospam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What happened to all the $899 deals? I've been waiting patiently but no dice.
scsnospam is online now  
post #1099 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 09:28 AM
Member
 
6sj7gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

The 818 actually does not have a VCR/DVR button. The button that performs this function on the 818 is CBL/SAT (in conjunction with return).
Thanks jmpage.

The Panasonic projector I'm using performs its own video processing functions. I'd prefer to turn the Onkyo's off completely and let the Panasonic handle it.

I can't imagine the Onkyo's video processor is capable of doing anything beneficial given my circumstances. It may in fact be detrimental. What do you think?
6sj7gt is offline  
post #1100 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 09:32 AM
Member
 
6sj7gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by LansdaleHokie View Post

I don't think you can "auto-dim" the display.
I don't think you can either. You can adjust the display intensity, and turn the master volume backlight off, but if jason370 is thinking its brightness can be configured to diminish after some period of inactivity like some devices do, I don't think that can be done.
6sj7gt is offline  
post #1101 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 09:38 AM
Member
 
6sj7gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsnospam View Post

What happened to all the $899 deals? I've been waiting patiently but no dice.
Keep waiting patiently. The 515/616/717 family had been dropping fairly rapidly before I decided on the 818. Don't know what they have been doing since.
6sj7gt is offline  
post #1102 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6sj7gt View Post

Keep waiting patiently. The 515/616/717 family had been dropping fairly rapidly before I decided on the 818. Don't know what they have been doing since.

When I ordered my 808 last year I had noticed that Newegg and Amazon dropped their prices significantly on the weekends...Is this still the case?
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #1103 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 10:18 AM
Member
 
jason370's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6sj7gt View Post

I don't think you can either. You can adjust the display intensity, and turn the master volume backlight off, but if jason370 is thinking its brightness can be configured to diminish after some period of inactivity like some devices do, I don't think that can be done.

i just want to dim or turn off the diisplay when watching a movie. i dont really care if it is done auto or manual.
jason370 is offline  
post #1104 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 10:22 AM
Member
 
jason370's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
surely everyone that uses spotify hates the 818 spotify app due to the missing shuffle/random function. so i'd like to wirelessly use the spotify app on my android phone instead. anyone know a way to go about this? i can see my directtv media server on the dlna but the 818 doesn't detect my phone, let alone the spotify app on it. is there a way to either get the 818 to detect and play from my phone, or a way to connect a separate device to the dlna that would? when i go into the DLNA app in the net setting of the 818 i can see my direct tv media server. perhaps theres a way to get that to link up to phone? surely there's a workaround here...

frustrated by this rookie oversight on onkyo's part. i just got off teh phone with onkyo and they said they have no intention of changing the app to incorporate a shuffle function. this basically renders the 818 useless for music streaming for me.

Please lend some sagely advice if you have any.

jason
jason370 is offline  
post #1105 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
dstew100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsnospam View Post

What happened to all the $899 deals? I've been waiting patiently but no dice.

I just got mine for 20bux more than that, check the great found deals section. I'll wait a bit to save a hundie, but 20 bux isn't going to make me wait 2 months. Sounds like there was just a brief period that folks got the number you mentioned and I haven't seen anyone else since and I have been watching. Mines out for delivery and will be here today!!
dstew100 is offline  
post #1106 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
rworne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason370 View Post

surely everyone that uses spotify hates the 818 spotify app due to the missing shuffle/random function. so i'd like to wirelessly use the spotify app on my android phone instead. anyone know a way to go about this? i can see my directtv media server on the dlna but the 818 doesn't detect my phone, let alone the spotify app on it. is there a way to either get the 818 to detect and play from my phone, or a way to connect a separate device to the dlna that would? when i go into the DLNA app in the net setting of the 818 i can see my direct tv media server. perhaps theres a way to get that to link up to phone? surely there's a workaround here...
frustrated by this rookie oversight on onkyo's part. i just got off teh phone with onkyo and they said they have no intention of changing the app to incorporate a shuffle function. this basically renders the 818 useless for music streaming for me.
Please lend some sagely advice if you have any.
jason

You have Bluetooth? Buy the pricey UBT-1 adapter and you can stream to your heart's content.

It doesn't do anything but stream, but it does that very well and sounds good too.
rworne is offline  
post #1107 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworne View Post

You have Bluetooth? Buy the pricey UBT-1 adapter and you can stream to your heart's content.
It doesn't do anything but stream, but it does that very well and sounds good too.

or http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=108&cp_id=10827&cs_id=1082704&p_id=7364&seq=1&format=2
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #1108 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 05:51 PM
Member
 
boidsonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
@ scsnospam What happened to all the $899 deals? I've been waiting patiently but no dice.

I purchased mine from here (authorized seller) for 850 shipped on 6-25-12. I am not promoting them, just the fact that I chanced upon a great deal. A phone call certainly will not waste your time...

Hi-Fi Heaven
920-494-8999
1549 SIXTH ST.
GREEN BAY, WI 543042254

Best regards,
Jeff
boidsonly is offline  
post #1109 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 05:59 PM
Member
 
dumbasbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limp Fox View Post

The level settings are dictated by the calibration system and relfect what was needed to be added or taken away from that particular speaker to be equal with the rest at REF from your listening position, if that makes sense? Others feel free to correct me if I am wrong on that.
I know what you mean about getting different settings when re-running the calibration software. I am not 100% sure as to why it does this. I'd imagine it's partially due to any changes in the way the sound was reflected from the speaker to the mic. For example if there's added background noise, or less for that matter . When I had one of the best receivers to date (Onkyo 807) it would do the same thing but the changes were so so minimal...
So if it is different each time, how can you trust it? On the side subject, after my latest Audyssey calibration the dialog in the center channel seem overshadowed by all the other sounds from all other speakers. Is there any way to tone down all the background noise and music and tone up the dialog? Plus there is way too much bass in the dialog, is there a way to clear up the dialog?
dumbasbell is offline  
post #1110 of 10022 Old 07-13-2012, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Limp Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newmanstown PA
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i think thats a question for the Audy pro's smile.gif

US ARMY 42A2T/11C2T

another Deployment? ...you don't say
Limp Fox is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr818 , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo , Audyssey
Gear in this thread - Nr818 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off