Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion - Page 4 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Onkyo TX-NR818 "official" owner's thread discussion

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

rworne's Avatar rworne
10:46 PM Liked: 31
post #91 of 10204
06-01-2012 | Posts: 843
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

Outstanding, thanks for this information... this is a huge improvement.

There's even more good news:

The crappy network source control for Zone 2, 3 and 4 are gone.

Seems with the 515 and up, Zone 2 and Zone 3 now have full network controls and menus just like the main zone!
jmpage2's Avatar jmpage2
10:47 PM Liked: 79
post #92 of 10204
06-01-2012 | Posts: 10,064
Joined: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworne View Post

There's even more good news:

The crappy network source control for Zone 2, 3 and 4 are gone.

Seems with the 515 and up, Zone 2 and Zone 3 now have full network controls and menus just like the main zone!

I'm not sure I understand this one, perhaps you can elaborate a bit. I'm very interested in the zone 2 capabilities as I will definitely be making use of them. Is Zone 2 still limited to analog sources only?
rworne's Avatar rworne
11:01 PM Liked: 31
post #93 of 10204
06-01-2012 | Posts: 843
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

I'm not sure I understand this one, perhaps you can elaborate a bit. I'm very interested in the zone 2 capabilities as I will definitely be making use of them. Is Zone 2 still limited to analog sources only?

Yes analog appears to be the limitation, but the news I am talking about is the #1 complaint I get in my app support emails:

"Why can't I get menus to select songs like I can with the Main Zone?"

Well, now you can:

This is BIG. Especially if you like streaming Spotify, Pandora or DLNA sources to Zones 2 & 3 and are away from the TV.
LL
jmpage2's Avatar jmpage2
11:25 PM Liked: 79
post #94 of 10204
06-01-2012 | Posts: 10,064
Joined: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworne View Post

Yes analog appears to be the limitation, but the news I am talking about is the #1 complaint I get in my app support emails:

"Why can't I get menus to select songs like I can with the Main Zone?"

Well, now you can:

This is BIG. Especially if you like streaming Spotify, Pandora or DLNA sources to Zones 2 & 3 and are away from the TV.

Interesting. I wonder if Airplay will also be able to be streamed to Zone 2 if and when support arrives.

What is the name of your app?
rworne's Avatar rworne
11:32 PM Liked: 31
post #95 of 10204
06-01-2012 | Posts: 843
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

Interesting. I wonder if Airplay will also be able to be streamed to Zone 2 if and when support arrives.

What is the name of your app?

oRemote

I spend lots of time tearing into the network protocol of these things in support of development, this is how I uncover a bunch of stuff. I've also figured out how to control items on the setup page of the receiver via network controls as well.
wooduck's Avatar wooduck
11:33 PM Liked: 10
post #96 of 10204
06-01-2012 | Posts: 17
Joined: Oct 2007
Oremote

Very very nice
glennQNYC's Avatar glennQNYC
11:39 PM Liked: 11
post #97 of 10204
06-01-2012 | Posts: 442
Joined: Sep 2006
Since I need to 12v trigger my sub (and eventually outboard amplifier), I sure hope a later version of the firmware lets us reassign a zone 2/3 trigger to the main zone. The owners manual online suggests nothing about being able to reassign the trigger outputs.
Bill Mac's Avatar Bill Mac
12:57 AM Liked: 567
post #98 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 11,730
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennQNYC View Post

Since I need to 12v trigger my sub (and eventually outboard amplifier), I sure hope a later version of the firmware lets us reassign a zone 2/3 trigger to the main zone. The owners manual online suggests nothing about being able to reassign the trigger outputs.

I doubt very much that there will be FW update to enable the 12v triggers to be assigned to the Main Zone. I had the 805 quite awhile ago and the 12v triggers were the same back then as well.

Bill
djPerfectTrip's Avatar djPerfectTrip
01:27 AM Liked: 29
post #99 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 488
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennQNYC View Post

Since I need to 12v trigger my sub (and eventually outboard amplifier), I sure hope a later version of the firmware lets us reassign a zone 2/3 trigger to the main zone. The owners manual online suggests nothing about being able to reassign the trigger outputs.

You just gotta do some extra button presses of zone 2/3 to trigger the 12v.
amcculley's Avatar amcculley
06:00 AM Liked: 10
post #100 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 8
Joined: Dec 2006
Mine should be here Monday or Tuesday. Unfortunately, all of my gear is for a new house and it won't be installed until the following week. To make matters worse, I'm a complete audio noob so not sure how much my feedback or comments will even be helpful.

I just bought:
Definitive Tech Pro Cinema 800 5.1
Panasonic P65VT50
Onkyo TX-NR818

If anyone has a "dummy's guide" to wiring, that would be awesome - like the wire type and size... I know MonoPrice is good - I've gotten tons of my IT-related cabling from them.
Bill Mac's Avatar Bill Mac
07:57 AM Liked: 567
post #101 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 11,730
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by djPerfectTrip View Post

You just gotta do some extra button presses of zone 2/3 to trigger the 12v.

Actually it should be one button press to power up Zone 2/3 which activates the 12v triggers. Then one button press to power off Zone 2/3 which should trigger ones amp off. Even though it is just one button press on power up and power down it is still a PITA! I had my Harmony remote programmed so it powered up Zone 2 with my Onkyo 805 when I had it a few years back. I do not recall the steps needed to do this but it wasn't that hard. Either way it is a very poor design that makes using an external amp a PITA.

Maybe one of these days Onkyo will change the design of the 12v triggers on their AVRs. At least provide a menu driven option for AVRs with preouts to assign the 12v triggers to the Main Zone.

Bill
djPerfectTrip's Avatar djPerfectTrip
08:26 AM Liked: 29
post #102 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 488
Joined: Feb 2009
^^^I tried to look in the harmony menus to see if I could add a zone 2 button and I didn't find it anywhere. It has to be in there I would think, maybe I just missed it.
abba1's Avatar abba1
09:10 AM Liked: 12
post #103 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 288
Joined: Jan 2008
For those of you who have the 818...what's the story with the Sub EQ? Is it the same as the 3009 / Denon 4311, or a ''lesser'' version?
djPerfectTrip's Avatar djPerfectTrip
09:11 AM Liked: 29
post #104 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 488
Joined: Feb 2009
^^^lesser version. It can't EQ 2 subs separately.
RichB's Avatar RichB
09:12 AM Liked: 293
post #105 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 8,999
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworne View Post

I have to say from the start, Onkyo did a hell of a job cutting down the standby power on this device. All measurements were made in watts using a standard Kill-a-Watt device after doing a factory reset on all these devices.

Out of box (Net Off, HDMI RIHD Off):
TX-NR818 Standby 0.0 W
TX-NR818 On 80.0 W (idle, on BD input, nothing playing)
TX-NR609 Standby 0.0 W
TX-NR609 On 112.0 W (idle, on BD input, nothing playing)
HT-RC180 Standby 0.0 W
HT-RC180 On 100.0 W (idle, on BD input, nothing playing) This is basically the same as a TX-NR807

Network Control Enabled:
TX-NR818 Standby 2.2 W
TX-NR609 Standby 29.1 W
HT-RC180 Standby 49.7 W

HDMI RIHD On (enable ARC and pass-thru)
TX-NR818 Standby 7.2 W
TX-NR609 Standby 29.3 W
HT-RC180 Standby 49.9 W

Net and HDMI enabled:
TX-NR818 Standby 8.4 W
TX-NR609 Standby 29.5 W
HT-RC180 Standby 50.1 W

Great work. I have a 180 that I will not use standby on.

If it would not be too much trouble, can you measure HDMI passthough enabled only? I still think 8.4 is high for 24/7.

Thanks,

Rich
Bill Mac's Avatar Bill Mac
09:12 AM Liked: 567
post #106 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 11,730
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by djPerfectTrip View Post

^^^I tried to look in the harmony menus to see if I could add a zone 2 button and I didn't find it anywhere. It has to be in there I would think, maybe I just missed it.

As I mentioned earlier I do not recall how I setup my Harmony with the 805. If the Zone 2/3 power up/down codes are not in the Harmony database then I would think you might be able to learn it from the Onkyo remote. But the older Onkyo remotes (before the xxx7 series) are different so it could take more work to setup.

Bill
djPerfectTrip's Avatar djPerfectTrip
09:16 AM Liked: 29
post #107 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 488
Joined: Feb 2009
^^^Ah, maybe that's what you would have to do is the learn function. Makes sense, I didn't think about that.
Bill Mac's Avatar Bill Mac
09:19 AM Liked: 567
post #108 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 11,730
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by abba1 View Post

For those of you who have the 818...what's the story with the Sub EQ? Is it the same as the 3009 / Denon 4311, or a ''lesser'' version?

The SubEQ feature is not included with the 818. If you only have one sub you are fine but if you have two subs XT32 (without SubEQ) will not set level and delay differences between the two subwoofers IIRC.

Bill
yadfgp's Avatar yadfgp
09:36 AM Liked: 45
post #109 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 2,085
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by joehonest View Post

Onkyo 818 on sale for only $899.00

http://www.techbargains.com/news_displayItem.cfm/301262

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

The link says the deal is expired.

Bill

For those that missed this deal, fumfie has it for only 70 bucks more, and that's quite a bit less than everyone else AFAICT.

http://www.fumfie.com/product/ID103C24/view
yadfgp's Avatar yadfgp
09:39 AM Liked: 45
post #110 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 2,085
Joined: Oct 2006
Has anyone seen any new 2012 AVR's that are cheaper than the 818 that can do 9.2?

I need a new AVR, and I'd like to get 1 that can do 9.2. The 818 to me in my limited amount of research looks to the best cheapest option so far. Just wondering if anyone's seen any other options.

Thanks.
Bill Mac's Avatar Bill Mac
09:42 AM Liked: 567
post #111 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 11,730
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by yadfgp View Post

For those that missed this deal, fumfie has it for only 70 bucks more, and that's quite a bit less than everyone else AFAICT.

http://www.fumfie.com/product/ID103C24/view

Is fumfie an authorized Onkyo dealer? Not the best return policies.

Within 7 days of receiving a shipment you may return any unopened or unused products for a refund less a 15 % restocking fee to cover costs by our processing terminal and our shipping carrier. Restocking fees for accessories vary and will depend on what type of accessory is being returned. Please note that we also have every right to charge any shipping, delivery, and / or intercept fees which occur from our shipping carrier.

Bill
rworne's Avatar rworne
09:52 AM Liked: 31
post #112 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 843
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Great work. I have a 180 that I will not use standby on.

If it would not be too much trouble, can you measure HDMI passthough enabled only? I still think 8.4 is high for 24/7.

Thanks,

Rich

The HDMI On numbers should cover that. But here is is: 7.2 W
abba1's Avatar abba1
10:16 AM Liked: 12
post #113 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 288
Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

The SubEQ feature is not included with the 818. If you only have one sub you are fine but if you have two subs XT32 (without SubEQ) will not set level and delay differences between the two subwoofers IIRC.

Bill

OK, here is the thing...I have two Velo 10DEQ sitting diagonally from each other. Both have their own built-in EQ systems. Do you (or anyone else) think that this would be a problem in terms of SQ with the 818? I know, a very subjective question but any advice / guidance would be appreciated.
yadfgp's Avatar yadfgp
10:46 AM Liked: 45
post #114 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 2,085
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

Is fumfie an authorized Onkyo dealer? Not the best return policies.

Within 7 days of receiving a shipment you may return any unopened or unused products for a refund less a 15 % restocking fee to cover costs by our processing terminal and our shipping carrier. Restocking fees for accessories vary and will depend on what type of accessory is being returned. Please note that we also have every right to charge any shipping, delivery, and / or intercept fees which occur from our shipping carrier.

Bill

Good points.

It's safe to say that if Vann's (being an authorized dealer with an excellent return policy) was willing to sell this for as low as $900 shipped, it's only a matter of time till others follow suit, and probably go even cheaper over time.

Fumfie is a good place to buy, it's just that they're not authorized, and their return policy does kind of suck.
jmpage2's Avatar jmpage2
11:20 AM Liked: 79
post #115 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 10,064
Joined: Feb 2005
I agree. I think we will see $899 by July 4th weekend at the latest from Vanns, Amazon and others. At this point I can probably wait another 3-4 weeks to save $200.
rworne's Avatar rworne
01:49 PM Liked: 31
post #116 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 843
Joined: Dec 2006
Another nice discovery:

It can read windows shares. Actually, that's *very* nice.
djPerfectTrip's Avatar djPerfectTrip
02:28 PM Liked: 29
post #117 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 488
Joined: Feb 2009
^^^That's pretty cool. Can the 4311 do that?
Bill Mac's Avatar Bill Mac
02:38 PM Liked: 567
post #118 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 11,730
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworne View Post

Another nice discovery:

It can read windows shares. Actually, that's *very* nice.

Being computer challenged what is windows shares? If it improves the SQ of ones system I'm in.

Bill
mjpearce023's Avatar mjpearce023
02:45 PM Liked: 21
post #119 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 2,489
Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by abba1 View Post


OK, here is the thing...I have two Velo 10DEQ sitting diagonally from each other. Both have their own built-in EQ systems. Do you (or anyone else) think that this would be a problem in terms of SQ with the 818? I know, a very subjective question but any advice / guidance would be appreciated.

It shouldn't be a problem because you can eq the two subs individually with the built in eq and then run xt32 on top of that.
jmpage2's Avatar jmpage2
02:59 PM Liked: 79
post #120 of 10204
06-02-2012 | Posts: 10,064
Joined: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by rworne View Post

Another nice discovery:

It can read windows shares. Actually, that's *very* nice.

Do you know if it's able to play music playlists that are shared via networked iTunes library (I have this with my Synology) or via UPNP for my Logitech Media Server?
Tags: Onkyo Tx Nr818 , Receivers Amplifiers , Onkyo , Audyssey

Gear in this thread
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3