Marantz AV7701 Prepro Official Owner's thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 664 Old 10-08-2013, 04:19 PM
Member
 
Daryll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey not really a reply but a new question.
trying to get my marantz remote to control my priojector.
Optima HD33 does any one know ir codes or a way to get remote to find them?
Daryll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 664 Old 10-08-2013, 04:25 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
If the code isn't listed in the back of the 7701 Owner's manual, it likely is not capable of controlling the PJ. Consider going to remotecentral.com for more info or better yet, purchasing a Harmony remote.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #453 of 664 Old 10-09-2013, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
gferrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How often do you use your AV7701?
I use mine 2-3 days a week for a few hours at a time, 90 % music and 10% movies. I listen to a lot of 2 channel music in multi channel stereo mode. I've had mine almost a year now and pleased with it. Has been reliable.

Wishing I could post in the Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

gferrell is offline  
post #454 of 664 Old 10-16-2013, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Only the new 2013 models are able to watch HDMI video while listening to network, USB, or Tuner audio.
Hello Mr.Smoothie Im thinking about getting 7701 Marantz processor, the AMP im getting is Rotel RMB 1575 class D amp what are thoughts?
Chise is offline  
post #455 of 664 Old 10-16-2013, 03:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Not familiar with it, but there might be others that can chime in, although you also may want to post your question in the Rotel Owner's thread ....

http://www.avsforum.com/t/782489/rotel-owners-thread/0_100

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #456 of 664 Old 10-16-2013, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Not familiar with it, but there might be others that can chime in, although you also may want to post your question in the Rotel Owner's thread ....

http://www.avsforum.com/t/782489/rotel-owners-thread/0_100
Ok
Chise is offline  
post #457 of 664 Old 10-18-2013, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
eatyourroadkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I don't have a 1575 but my rotel rmb 1095 that I bought new in 2002.  really happy with the rotel amp and the 7701.  alos have some pretty nice aerial speakers, martin logan sub and transparent cables so the whole system works really well.

 

i really appreciate how well the 7701 works with a good sub .. the bass shakes the house but is not boomy

eatyourroadkill is offline  
post #458 of 664 Old 10-18-2013, 07:24 PM
Newbie
 
PineappleMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone! I'm having a sound problem with my AV7701. I am using a Emotiva XPA-5 Amp with Belden balanced cables from Bluejeans. I have a 2.1 setup with B&W CM9s and a SVS subwoofer. The Right channel on my receiver keeps turning in and out in a lower volume as if it's losing connection somewhere. Then all of a sudden for no reason I will get full volume through both speakers. This varies as to when it will happen as well. I've checked all my cables from the speakers to the amp as well as trying different balanced cables. At first I thought it was the Amp but I've narrowed it down to the receiver being the culprit.

Has anyone experienced this problem? Except for my sub not working before the initial update was applied when I first got my amp this setup has been a joy.
PineappleMonkey is offline  
post #459 of 664 Old 10-18-2013, 07:30 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Try doing a microprocessor reset (p. 173 OM) after using the Web Control feature to save the Audyssey config to a PC file.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #460 of 664 Old 10-23-2013, 12:26 PM
Newbie
 
mikedent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello - wondering on any comparisons of audio DACs of 7701 compared to those in Oppo 105 BluRay player. I couldn't find the info on the Oppo site, sorry. Want to see if the sound quality and musicality of the much-vaunted Oppo analog outs are worth the extra cost vs. the 103 player. Or if the DACs in the 7701 are equally great-sounding units and stay with normal HDMI connections for both video and audio. Thanks!
mikedent is offline  
post #461 of 664 Old 10-25-2013, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
PineappleMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did the microprocessor reset and the problem is still there. I'm not sure what is causing the problem other then it being related to my receiver. I have tested with three different types of balanced cables as well.
PineappleMonkey is offline  
post #462 of 664 Old 10-25-2013, 04:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikedent View Post

Hello - wondering on any comparisons of audio DACs of 7701 compared to those in Oppo 105 BluRay player. I couldn't find the info on the Oppo site, sorry. Want to see if the sound quality and musicality of the much-vaunted Oppo analog outs are worth the extra cost vs. the 103 player. Or if the DACs in the 7701 are equally great-sounding units and stay with normal HDMI connections for both video and audio. Thanks!

It's not so much that DACs that will be the determining factor as much as whether you prefer to have Audyssey enabled (ie. via HDMI) or not enabled (multi analog).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #463 of 664 Old 10-25-2013, 04:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by PineappleMonkey View Post

I did the microprocessor reset and the problem is still there. I'm not sure what is causing the problem other then it being related to my receiver. I have tested with three different types of balanced cables as well.

If you've confirmed the issue is not a result of the speakers themselves, you're likely looking at repair of the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #464 of 664 Old 10-26-2013, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Jack the cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mount Juliet, TN
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PineappleMonkey View Post

I did the microprocessor reset and the problem is still there. I'm not sure what is causing the problem other then it being related to my receiver. I have tested with three different types of balanced cables as well.

I am new to the 7701, but the Audyssey set up provided a lot of information about the speakers. I would try running Audyssey again. I have also found the telephone support at Marantz to be excellent.
Jack the cat is offline  
post #465 of 664 Old 10-28-2013, 04:17 AM
Newbie
 
PineappleMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, yes I will give Marantz a call directly today. I have tried running audyssey again a few times to no solution. :/
PineappleMonkey is offline  
post #466 of 664 Old 11-03-2013, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
Hegge87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, is it only me that have problems with the android AP?
I'm using a Galaxy S II from Samsung and when i try to see my media server on it it shows just a blank screen. But I can see the server on my PC and directly on my 7701 or my TV.

www.minhembio.com/H3gge

Preamp: Marantz 7701

Amp: Rotel RMB 1075

Speakers: Focal Profile 928, SW908, CC 908, 908
Hegge87 is offline  
post #467 of 664 Old 11-05-2013, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
mikedent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for reply - I would want to use the multi-analog outputs from the Oppo 105 for the audio channels and I believe HDMI for the video only. Just trying to determine from everyone's experiences if the sound quality doing it this way is high enough to justify the higher 105 cost.
mikedent is offline  
post #468 of 664 Old 11-05-2013, 02:35 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
Of the posts I have read, most owners who have posted of demoing both ways say there is a slight edge going HDMI as that allows you to enable Audyssey. If not using Audyssey, then the nod would go to the multi analog inputs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #469 of 664 Old 11-06-2013, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
mikedent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks- will have to try it both ways and see!
mikedent is offline  
post #470 of 664 Old 11-08-2013, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Alex F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am interested in purchasing a 7701 but the volume readouts in the porthole and lower display both appear to be too small to read from my listening chair 12 feet away.

Do photos of the 7701 make the lower (and larger) volume digits look smaller than they really are and can owners here read them at 12 feet away?

Thank you!
Alex F. is offline  
post #471 of 664 Old 11-08-2013, 11:20 AM
Member
 
JBNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My seat is 17 feet away, The top porthole is tough to make out from that distance but the lower display is pretty big and I have no issues seeing the volume from my seat. If you are using HDMI the volume is also displayed on the TV as well.

-Joe
JBNY is offline  
post #472 of 664 Old 11-19-2013, 08:27 PM
Newbie
 
macr88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had luck with bi-amping or wiring this unit? The 7005 was super easy but for some reason I can't find the menu to select this option.

Thanks
macr88 is offline  
post #473 of 664 Old 11-20-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by macr88 View Post

Has anyone had luck with bi-amping or wiring this unit? The 7005 was super easy but for some reason I can't find the menu to select this option.

Thanks

The 7701 does not directly support bi-amping. The easiest way to do it probably would be to use T connectors or Y cable adapters to connect the front left and right RCAs to pairs of amps. (Or RCA to one and XLR to another.) Of course, you're very unlikely to be able to hear any difference in audio quality when comparing bi-amping to using a single amp for each speaker.

FWIW, the 8801 does include bi-amp settings.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #474 of 664 Old 11-20-2013, 03:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Quote:
Originally Posted by macr88 View Post

Has anyone had luck with bi-amping or wiring this unit? The 7005 was super easy but for some reason I can't find the menu to select this option.

Thanks

Are you referring to the AV7005 or the SR7005 as the pre-pro models do not have the "Bi-amp" feature as the pre-outs only pass the default signal assigned to each output?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #475 of 664 Old 11-20-2013, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
macr88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Additional Features
Amplifier assignment for 7.2 ch (SB ch), 5.2 ch + Front Height, 5.2 ch + Front Wide, 5.2 ch + Bi-Amp, 5.2 ch + zone, or 5.2 ch + Front B

Found here
http://pdf.outlawaudio.com/outlaw/docs/AV7701SPECS.pdf
macr88 is offline  
post #476 of 664 Old 11-20-2013, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
macr88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Are you referring to the AV7005 or the SR7005 as the pre-pro models do not have the "Bi-amp" feature as the pre-outs only pass the default signal assigned to each output?

AV7005
It's in the menu system under amplifier or something similar.


I spoke to someone at Marantz today and he's thinking that they did away with it on the 7701.
I demo'd an 8801 and I couldn't find any mention of it in the menu system like the AV7005 that was on loan for one night, the constant hum from that unit was awful.
macr88 is offline  
post #477 of 664 Old 11-20-2013, 04:37 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
Ah .. yes, the "Spkr C" setting. Correct, this is no longer offered on either the 7701 or 8801.
macr88 likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #478 of 664 Old 11-20-2013, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
macr88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh well, less wire less hassle I suppose lol

Thanks for the info smile.gif
macr88 is offline  
post #479 of 664 Old 11-21-2013, 06:58 PM
Member
 
jszei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted this in the main forum but meant to post it here so...

Just picked up a Marantz AV7701 today. Was the owner of an AV8003.

When going into the Graphic EQ settings I only have the ability to modify the frequency settings for Front L and Front R speakers. With the AV8003 I could modify the settings for all speakers. Is there a way to enable this for all speakers or is this a bug, or by design?

Thanks
jszei is online now  
post #480 of 664 Old 11-21-2013, 10:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,790
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
As noted by the image below, the default option is to adjust L/R speaker "pairs" or you can adjust each speaker individually (no sub though). Note however that by doing so you disable Audyssey.


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off