Marantz AV7701 Prepro Official Owner's thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 763 Old 11-01-2014, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,421
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 466
They are not. The manual is correct. HDMI and S/PDIF are not down-converted to the stereo analog pre-outs in D+M equipment released in 2012, which included the 7701. That feature started being added in a limited form in D+M's 2013 model year, when it worked only for stereo digital audio. This year (2014) it supposedly works for multichannel PCM.

In other words, you might want to consider getting a 7702 or 8802.

In the meantime, you'll have to use players which have stereo analog outputs if you want to be able hear them in other Zones. External HDMI to stereo converters sometimes work acceptably.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped

Last edited by Selden Ball; 11-01-2014 at 04:32 AM.
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 763 Old 11-01-2014, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
They are not. The manual is correct. HDMI and S/PDIF are not down-converted to the stereo analog pre-outs in D+M equipment released in 2012, which included the 7701. That feature started being added in a limited form in D+M's 2013 model year, when it worked only for stereo digital audio. This year (2014) it supposedly works for multichannel PCM.

In other words, you might want to consider getting a 7702 or 8802.

In the meantime, you'll have to use players which have stereo analog outputs if you want to be able hear them in other Zones. External HDMI to stereo converters sometimes work acceptably.
This is quite disappointing.... I mean, if it is advertised as Zone2 out for HDMI and audio out and it does not do that, is it acceptable to ask Marantz to "fix," the issue by sending me a refurb that does do it from 2013? I like the Pre-Amp and does everything else flawlessly except this 1 thing.... What are your thoughts. It's almost a case of "false advertisement."
andrewin303 is offline  
post #753 of 763 Old 11-01-2014, 07:12 AM
Member
 
DutchOven88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewin303 View Post
Quick edit.... I am talking about the Zone2 HDMI out and Zone2 RCA out, are they not in sync? I mean logically I think they would be but the manual says something completely different.
You'll be able to use the hdmi to carry the signal to the screen. You will have to use that device to parse out the audio to another amp.

AV7701
MM7055
B&W CM9 Fronts
B&W CM5 Rears
B&W CMC1 Center
Martin Logan BalancedForce 210 Sub

Oppo 103D
DutchOven88 is offline  
post #754 of 763 Old 11-01-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 7,421
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 466
HDMI input signals *are* sent to the Zone 2 HDMI output, but it explicitly says on page 100 of the 7701's owner's manual
Quote:
NOTE
In ZONE2 or ZONE3, the digital audio signals input from the HDMI, COAXIAL or OPTICAL connector
cannot be played back. When playing back in ZONE2 or ZONE3, make an analog connection.

Selden

Marantz SR7009/7.1.4/FH+TM/DefTech PM1000/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #755 of 763 Old 11-01-2014, 11:42 PM
Member
 
DutchOven88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
HDMI input signals *are* sent to the Zone 2 HDMI output, but it explicitly says on page 100 of the 7701's owner's manual
Yet my system outputs 7701 hdmi audio to zone 2...

AV7701
MM7055
B&W CM9 Fronts
B&W CM5 Rears
B&W CMC1 Center
Martin Logan BalancedForce 210 Sub

Oppo 103D
DutchOven88 is offline  
post #756 of 763 Old 11-02-2014, 01:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,050
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 1700
^^
The Zone 2 HDMI monitor out will pass the rear HDMI source audio/video to either a TV or another AVR. The Zone 2 pre-outs will pass an analog connected source or on board source (ie. networking, Tuner, USB).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #757 of 763 Old 11-02-2014, 06:10 AM
Member
 
DutchOven88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes Wanted to illustrate the current usage of zone 2, I'm running audio in zone one to the preouts and then zone two video to a TV along with its audio
DutchOven88 is offline  
post #758 of 763 Old 11-12-2014, 03:56 AM
Newbie
 
PravinE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi All,

What is the latest firmware version number for Marantz AV7701? if there any location where we can see the change log.

Thanks,
Pravin
PravinE is offline  
post #759 of 763 Old 11-15-2014, 01:45 PM
Member
 
tedcousens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Network is locked up -

I went to Media Server to play some music and pressed too many buttons and the screen is locked up. There are no other network issues. How do I reboot the network without losing all my favorite streaming channels?

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

Roi Batty
tedcousens is offline  
post #760 of 763 Old 11-15-2014, 02:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,050
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1775 Post(s)
Liked: 1700
^^
First try a "soft reset" by unplugging the unit for 10 minutes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #761 of 763 Old 11-15-2014, 03:09 PM
Member
 
tedcousens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
First try a "soft reset" by unplugging the unit for 10 minutes.
Thank you JD - that did the trick. Annoying but I cannot afford to replace the unit right now....

thanks again.

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

Roi Batty
tedcousens is offline  
post #762 of 763 Old 11-17-2014, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
gferrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by PravinE View Post
Hi All,

What is the latest firmware version number for Marantz AV7701? if there any location where we can see the change log.

Thanks,
Pravin
Mine is up to date and says:

6450-3179-0000-4550-3097

I suppose Marantz may have the info on it's website.

Wishing I could post in the Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

gferrell is offline  
post #763 of 763 Old 11-18-2014, 09:52 PM
Newbie
 
PravinE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gferrell View Post
Mine is up to date and says:

6450-3179-0000-4550-3097

I suppose Marantz may have the info on it's website.
Thanks... I updated the same.. but I don't see any difference... is there any changes which we can see in the console?

Processing : Marantz AV7701 and MM7055.
Source : Pioneer BDP-LX55, Asus TV Pro with 3TB HDD and Videocon d2h HD Set top box
TV : Sony EX400 LCD 46 Inch
Speakers : Klipsch RF-82, RC-62, RS-42 and SW-112
PravinE is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off