Marantz AV7701 Prepro Official Owner's thread - Page 29 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 07:40 AM
Member
 
DutchOven88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yes, this is unfortunately how it works on all 2012 and 2013 D&M models, while the new 2014 models now have a Channel Level Adjust setting which can be set without having to hear test tones. However, if the AV7701 is connected to your home's Wifi network, you can use the Web Control feature and manually adjust speaker volume by entering the AV7701's IP address into a web browser on a laptop/tablet without any having to display anything on the TV.
Second that... Didn't see your response so apologies for duplicating the thought here. Absolutely correct

AV7701
MM7055
B&W CM9 Fronts
B&W CM5 Rears
B&W CMC1 Center
Martin Logan BalancedForce 210 Sub

Oppo 103D
DutchOven88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks very much for the reply.

What are your feeling on overall reliability as it relates to the 7701? My processor would sit on a shelf in a cabinet where there is maybe 1.5" of clearance on top. I have removed the back entirely though to let the components breathe. While it gets pretty hot down here we've always got the A/C going so it's no more than 74 degrees inside. The comments on software locking up and the repairs inside 2 years make me a little unsure. Then again, you can find an Av7701 for less than $800 used so there's pretty good value there...
ihmeyers is online now  
post #843 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 07:57 AM
Member
 
DutchOven88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihmeyers View Post
Thanks very much for the reply.

What are your feeling on overall reliability as it relates to the 7701? My processor would sit on a shelf in a cabinet where there is maybe 1.5" of clearance on top. I have removed the back entirely though to let the components breathe. While it gets pretty hot down here we've always got the A/C going so it's no more than 74 degrees inside. The comments on software locking up and the repairs inside 2 years make me a little unsure. Then again, you can find an Av7701 for less than $800 used so there's pretty good value there...

So, as you know squeaky wheels get the grease...

I've had marantz running on my parents system and mine, theirs a bit longer than 10 years, mine for about 3. My friends have not had problems withing any 3 year window, and probably had more to do with them than the unit when they moved across the country.

Electronic components are all susceptible to similar circumstances (dust is a plague to any hp amp or circuit) and with that, I would not say marantz has any issues with longevity and the deals on a 7701 right now are great I'd get the same receiver again if I had a problem and would get another if needed to expand into another system.

Hope that helps (there are also good warranty shops across the country)

AV7701
MM7055
B&W CM9 Fronts
B&W CM5 Rears
B&W CMC1 Center
Martin Logan BalancedForce 210 Sub

Oppo 103D

Last edited by DutchOven88; 02-26-2015 at 08:49 AM.
DutchOven88 is offline  
post #844 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchOven88 View Post
So, as you know squeaky wheels get the grease...

I've had maranta running on my parents system and mine, there's a bit longer than 10 years, mine for about 3. My friends have not had problems withing any 3 year window, and probably had more to do with them than the u it when they moved across the country.

Electronic components are all susceptible to similar circumstances (dust is a plague to any hp amp or circuit) and with that, I would not say maranta has any issues with longevity and the deals on a 7701 right now are great I'd get the same receiver again if I had a problem and would get another if needed to expand into another system.

Hope that helps (there are also good warranty shops across the country)

Thanks very much for the feedback Dutch. I'll seriously consider getting one then. My Source One is very good but it's got no HDMI inputs and I stream most everything so I need that for my Roku.
ihmeyers is online now  
post #845 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 08:29 AM
Member
 
DutchOven88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihmeyers View Post
Thanks very much for the feedback Dutch. I'll seriously consider getting one then. My Source One is very good but it's got no HDMI inputs and I stream most everything so I need that for my Roku.


You mentioned kids... The next step up is supposed to have a night time mode where it reduces the bass levels and tries to mimick the lost oomph with some lighter waves (decrease wall penetration) in the 8801 if you were interested.

AV7701
MM7055
B&W CM9 Fronts
B&W CM5 Rears
B&W CMC1 Center
Martin Logan BalancedForce 210 Sub

Oppo 103D
DutchOven88 is offline  
post #846 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 08:42 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,101
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3116 Post(s)
Liked: 2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchOven88 View Post
You mentioned kids... The next step up is supposed to have a night time mode where it reduces the bass levels and tries to mimick the lost oomph with some lighter waves (decrease wall penetration) in the 8801 if you were interested.
Audyssey Low Frequency Containment (LFC) in addition to being featured on the AV8801, is also featured on the newer SR7008, SR7009, AV7702, and AV8802.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	25.1 KB
ID:	569833  

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #847 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 08:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,101
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3116 Post(s)
Liked: 2017
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihmeyers View Post
Thanks very much for the reply.

What are your feeling on overall reliability as it relates to the 7701? My processor would sit on a shelf in a cabinet where there is maybe 1.5" of clearance on top. I have removed the back entirely though to let the components breathe. While it gets pretty hot down here we've always got the A/C going so it's no more than 74 degrees inside. The comments on software locking up and the repairs inside 2 years make me a little unsure. Then again, you can find an Av7701 for less than $800 used so there's pretty good value there...
You really should have at least 3-4" clearance on top; however, if not possible purchase 1-2 PC fans to exhaust the warm air away from the unit.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVS - We sell Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #848 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 01:46 PM
Member
 
tedcousens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dutch - my Marantz AV550 ran for 16 years without a glitch until I replaced it last year. Even got $250 for it in trade when I bought my 7701.

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volum...processor.html

I expect my 7701 to do the same.

btw, I am thinking of bi-amping my front speakers - not using the XLR in or outputs - whats the best way to split the signal without an external crossover? There's gotta be a better way than just Y - RCA connectors?

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

Roi Batty

Last edited by tedcousens; 02-26-2015 at 03:03 PM.
tedcousens is offline  
post #849 of 858 Old 02-26-2015, 03:02 PM
Member
 
DutchOven88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedcousens View Post
Dutch - my Marantz AV550 ran for 16 years without a glitch until I replaced it last year. Even got $250 for it in trade when I bought my 7701.

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volum...processor.html

I expect my 7701 to do the same.

btw, I am thinking of bi-wiring my front speakers - not using the XLR in or outputs - whats the best way to split the signal without an external crossover? There's gotta be a better way than just Y - RCA connectors?

That's beautiful and do appreciate you sharing. Almost shocked the transistors on the volume dial worked that long


I use a nas personally so sorry but no experience with windows pcs
DutchOven88 is offline  
post #850 of 858 Old 02-27-2015, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1175 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedcousens View Post
Dutch - my Marantz AV550 ran for 16 years without a glitch until I replaced it last year. Even got $250 for it in trade when I bought my 7701.

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volum...processor.html

I expect my 7701 to do the same.

btw, I am thinking of bi-amping my front speakers - not using the XLR in or outputs - whats the best way to split the signal without an external crossover? There's gotta be a better way than just Y - RCA connectors?

Unfortunately, bi-amping without external active crossovers between the pre/pro and the amps does nothing useful. The same signal is sent to both high and low frequency speaker drivers and the same crossover circuits are used in the speaker itself. Since most of the power is used by the woofer and minimal power is needed for the high frequency drivers, you don't even get additional audible headroom.

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is online now  
post #851 of 858 Old 02-27-2015, 09:01 AM
Member
 
tedcousens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Unfortunately, bi-amping without external active crossovers between the pre/pro and the amps does nothing useful. The same signal is sent to both high and low frequency speaker drivers and the same crossover circuits are used in the speaker itself. Since most of the power is used by the woofer and minimal power is needed for the high frequency drivers, you don't even get additional audible headroom.
would one of these help or would it degrade the signal too much?

http://www.minidsp.com/products/mini...ox/minidsp-2x4

if so, can you recommend some reasonable active external crossovers?

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

Roi Batty
tedcousens is offline  
post #852 of 858 Old 02-27-2015, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1175 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Sorry, I have no experience with those devices. I think you'll get the best advice if you ask in the DIY speaker forum at http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is online now  
post #853 of 858 Old 02-27-2015, 09:53 AM
Member
 
tedcousens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Sorry, I have no experience with those devices. I think you'll get the best advice if you ask in the DIY speaker forum at http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/
thank you Selden, I have posted over there.

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

Roi Batty
tedcousens is offline  
post #854 of 858 Old Yesterday, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Took The Plunge - Awaiting Delivery of 7701

I took the plunge and bought a 7701 off E-Bay for $800. Should be here tomorrow which is good timing as my Velodyne sub will be done at the repair shop (amp went bad ). Probably won't get a chance to run Audessey until Saturday so might wait until then to install it.

Base on what the seller told me, I am a little concerned about possible ground loop issues. He is an installer ans said it happens a lot when the 7701 isn't hooked up to Marantz amps. Since I run such a slim system (cable & media player are the only inputs) and I have high quality power cords and outlets (PS Audio for both) that it won't be a problem. His suggestion of grounding everything to the main house ground will be kind of a PITA is I have to go that route as I don't want to dill thru the side of the house to run the ground inside...

I greatly appreciate all the help I've gotten on the board pre-purchase.
ihmeyers is online now  
post #855 of 858 Old Today, 08:20 AM
Member
 
rblankster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihmeyers View Post
I took the plunge and bought a 7701 off E-Bay for $800. Should be here tomorrow which is good timing as my Velodyne sub will be done at the repair shop (amp went bad ). Probably won't get a chance to run Audessey until Saturday so might wait until then to install it.

Base on what the seller told me, I am a little concerned about possible ground loop issues. He is an installer ans said it happens a lot when the 7701 isn't hooked up to Marantz amps. Since I run such a slim system (cable & media player are the only inputs) and I have high quality power cords and outlets (PS Audio for both) that it won't be a problem. His suggestion of grounding everything to the main house ground will be kind of a PITA is I have to go that route as I don't want to dill thru the side of the house to run the ground inside...

I greatly appreciate all the help I've gotten on the board pre-purchase.
I had a ground loop issue with my 7701. I put a filter inline on the digital coax cable into the cable box and it went away. I use a McIntosh amp with mine.

RF-7 II, RC64 II, RS62 II
Klipsch R-115SW & Velodyne FSR-15 SW
McIntosh MC205 Amplifier (200W plus X5)
Marantz AV7701 HT Processor - Running as 5.1
Sony KDL-60NX810 TV
OPPO BDP-95 Blu-Ray
rblankster is offline  
post #856 of 858 Old Today, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rblankster View Post
I had a ground loop issue with my 7701. I put a filter inline on the digital coax cable into the cable box and it went away. I use a McIntosh amp with mine.

Thanks for the tip. I kind of figured a ground loop issue would involve the cable box. In my experience re HT it usually does. I have used high quality cable from the wall to the box and just tightened the connection outside from the coax to earth ground. We shall see...What filter did you buy?

Last edited by ihmeyers; Today at 01:21 PM. Reason: Facts Changed.
ihmeyers is online now  
post #857 of 858 Old Today, 02:27 PM
Member
 
rblankster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihmeyers View Post
Thanks for the tip. I kind of figured a ground loop issue would involve the cable box. In my experience re HT it usually does. I have used high quality cable from the wall to the box and just tightened the connection outside from the coax to earth ground. We shall see...What filter did you buy?
I played around with the cables themselves re-did the ground connection at the cable connection box outside even rewired a couple of outlets with no luck. The inline filter fixed it.

RF-7 II, RC64 II, RS62 II
Klipsch R-115SW & Velodyne FSR-15 SW
McIntosh MC205 Amplifier (200W plus X5)
Marantz AV7701 HT Processor - Running as 5.1
Sony KDL-60NX810 TV
OPPO BDP-95 Blu-Ray
rblankster is offline  
post #858 of 858 Old Today, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Got it all installed and fortunately no hum. Just a slight hgih frequency 'tizz' which was present with my Source One as well. I suspect the cable box but it's only audible within a foot of the front speakers and only with nothing playing. I may just leave it as is.

At first blush the Marantz sounds promising though without having run Audessey it's not waaaay better than the Source One. Maybe it will be after I have everything dialed in. Still, considering it cost me $800 and I can get $400 for the Source One it was worth it just for the HDMI inputs.
ihmeyers is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off