Marantz AV7701 Prepro Official Owner's thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1002 Old 11-01-2015, 07:28 PM
Member
 
gmrankin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Dual Sub Question

Quick Question:

I have been running a single sub and am going to go to a dual setup. I have one RCA cable run from the back of my basement to the front screen area. Run a splitter and run both subs off the same input or go through the effort of pulling a second RCA cable to the front? Wires are all run in the wall and it might be a huge effort to pull the second cable.

From the manual it looks like it says the same signal goes to all subs connected. If this is accurate than I don't see the payoff for possibly having to do drywall work... which I hate.

thoughts?

George
Speakers: B&W 802N Fronts, B&W HTM1 Center, B&W CCM75 (x4) rears and surrounds, JTR Cap1400 (x2) Sub / Preamp: Marantz AV7701 / Amps: McIntosh MC8702 (center and rears), Emotiva XPA-1 (x2) for fronts / Bluray: Oppo 103D / Projector: Epson 5030UB / Screen: 120" Silver Ticket
gmrankin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1002 Old 11-02-2015, 04:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57,906
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7312 Post(s)
Liked: 3367
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmrankin View Post
Quick Question:

I have been running a single sub and am going to go to a dual setup. I have one RCA cable run from the back of my basement to the front screen area. Run a splitter and run both subs off the same input or go through the effort of pulling a second RCA cable to the front? Wires are all run in the wall and it might be a huge effort to pull the second cable.

From the manual it looks like it says the same signal goes to all subs connected. If this is accurate than I don't see the payoff for possibly having to do drywall work... which I hate.

thoughts?

The former. No need to run an extra cable as the dual sub pre-outs are nothing more than an internal "Y" splitter.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #993 of 1002 Old 11-09-2015, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
gferrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Volume encoder

Has anyone had trouble with their volume encoder? Mine goes up if I turn it very slowly but goes down if I increase it normally or fast. When using the remote it works fine. Anyone ever adjusted one? I have had this receiver for about 3 years.

Thanks

Wishing I could post in the Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

gferrell is offline  
post #994 of 1002 Old 11-12-2015, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
gferrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gferrell View Post
Has anyone had trouble with their volume encoder? Mine goes up if I turn it very slowly but goes down if I increase it normally or fast. When using the remote it works fine. Anyone ever adjusted one? I have had this receiver for about 3 years.

Thanks
I guess not!

Wishing I could post in the Ultra Hi-End HT Gear ($20,000+)

gferrell is offline  
post #995 of 1002 Old 12-20-2015, 09:11 AM
Member
 
dma999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio Return Channel Woes

Just recently set up my 7701 and seem to be having trouble with the Audio Return Channel function. I believe I have all the settings correct on both the TV (a Panasonic Viera TC-P65S60) and the receiver. I've set TV output in Viera Link to Home Theater, have verified in the 7701 that HDMI Control is on, and have set Control Monitor to Monitor 1, which is the connection being used to connect the TV.

Everything else seems to work other than actually getting sound through the 7701 - with the TV on, when I turn on the 7701, the TV stops producing sound (presumably because it's rerouting to the receiver). I select the source as TV, but no audio comes through. The volume control on the TV remote when used changes the volume on the receiver, so the link from the TV to the receiver is working. Just no sound. I've tried changing the audio mode (PLII/Stereo) and on the off chance I selected the wrong input, cycling through those as well (which not surprisingly didn't help).

The receiver otherwise produces audio with other input sources just fine. Any suggestions or thoughts on what I might be doing wrong or how I could further troubleshoot/fix, would be most appreciated.
dma999999 is offline  
post #996 of 1002 Old 12-20-2015, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Maccur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NoCal
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have the 7005 and audio return has never worked. I use an optical connection from the TV to the processor as a work-around.
Maccur is offline  
post #997 of 1002 Old 12-20-2015, 09:55 AM
Member
 
dma999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maccur View Post
I have the 7005 and audio return has never worked. I use an optical connection from the TV to the processor as a work-around.
Thanks... though that's rather discouraging...
dma999999 is offline  
post #998 of 1002 Old 12-20-2015, 01:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57,906
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7312 Post(s)
Liked: 3367
Quote:
Originally Posted by dma999999 View Post
Audio Return Channel Woes

Just recently set up my 7701 and seem to be having trouble with the Audio Return Channel function. I believe I have all the settings correct on both the TV (a Panasonic Viera TC-P65S60) and the receiver. I've set TV output in Viera Link to Home Theater, have verified in the 7701 that HDMI Control is on, and have set Control Monitor to Monitor 1, which is the connection being used to connect the TV.

Everything else seems to work other than actually getting sound through the 7701 - with the TV on, when I turn on the 7701, the TV stops producing sound (presumably because it's rerouting to the receiver). I select the source as TV, but no audio comes through. The volume control on the TV remote when used changes the volume on the receiver, so the link from the TV to the receiver is working. Just no sound. I've tried changing the audio mode (PLII/Stereo) and on the off chance I selected the wrong input, cycling through those as well (which not surprisingly didn't help).

The receiver otherwise produces audio with other input sources just fine. Any suggestions or thoughts on what I might be doing wrong or how I could further troubleshoot/fix, would be most appreciated.

There are 2 settings that must be enabled on a Panny TV .... (1) VieraLink must be enabled, and (2) Speakers must be set to "Home Theater." You mentioned only have done one and not the other.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #999 of 1002 Old 12-21-2015, 06:24 AM
Member
 
dma999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
There are 2 settings that must be enabled on a Panny TV .... (1) VieraLink must be enabled, and (2) Speakers must be set to "Home Theater." You mentioned only have done one and not the other.
Thanks for the suggestion. I think VieraLink is enabled already, insofar as the setting for speakers in under the VieraLink option - I click Tools (or something like that) and a row of icons show up at the bottom, one of which is VieraLink. I then select VieraLink which then brings me to various settings, including the one to set speaker output to the TV vs Home Theater.

Is there a separate setting somewhere else that needs to be turned on?
dma999999 is offline  
post #1000 of 1002 Old 01-01-2016, 01:25 PM
Member
 
dma999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just some further details on this, to the extent it might help:

- I've double checked that Viera Link is on in the options menu for the Panasonic TV
- On the 7701, I've checked the Input Assign settings - for TV AUDIO, I've set Digital to None and Comp to None. Under HDMI, nothing can be selected. Highlighting it indicates "non-assignable HDMI input connector source". I would imagine the reason for that is that it automatically selects the ARC from the relevant HDMI output connection
- When the receiver is set to TV AUDIO, I've checked the Input Select setting. There seem to be two options - No input (with an explanation that only video is passed through) and 7.1CH IN. However, neither selection seems to enable audio from the TV to be passed through the receiver.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be most appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma999999 View Post
Audio Return Channel Woes

Just recently set up my 7701 and seem to be having trouble with the Audio Return Channel function. I believe I have all the settings correct on both the TV (a Panasonic Viera TC-P65S60) and the receiver. I've set TV output in Viera Link to Home Theater, have verified in the 7701 that HDMI Control is on, and have set Control Monitor to Monitor 1, which is the connection being used to connect the TV.

Everything else seems to work other than actually getting sound through the 7701 - with the TV on, when I turn on the 7701, the TV stops producing sound (presumably because it's rerouting to the receiver). I select the source as TV, but no audio comes through. The volume control on the TV remote when used changes the volume on the receiver, so the link from the TV to the receiver is working. Just no sound. I've tried changing the audio mode (PLII/Stereo) and on the off chance I selected the wrong input, cycling through those as well (which not surprisingly didn't help).

The receiver otherwise produces audio with other input sources just fine. Any suggestions or thoughts on what I might be doing wrong or how I could further troubleshoot/fix, would be most appreciated.
dma999999 is offline  
post #1001 of 1002 Old 01-01-2016, 02:08 PM
Member
 
dma999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
<sigh> Turns out it was because the Panny only has ARC on one of its two HDMI inputs and I had the receiver plugged into the one that didn't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dma999999 View Post
Just some further details on this, to the extent it might help:

- I've double checked that Viera Link is on in the options menu for the Panasonic TV
- On the 7701, I've checked the Input Assign settings - for TV AUDIO, I've set Digital to None and Comp to None. Under HDMI, nothing can be selected. Highlighting it indicates "non-assignable HDMI input connector source". I would imagine the reason for that is that it automatically selects the ARC from the relevant HDMI output connection
- When the receiver is set to TV AUDIO, I've checked the Input Select setting. There seem to be two options - No input (with an explanation that only video is passed through) and 7.1CH IN. However, neither selection seems to enable audio from the TV to be passed through the receiver.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be most appreciated.
dma999999 is offline  
post #1002 of 1002 Old 01-01-2016, 06:49 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 57,906
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7312 Post(s)
Liked: 3367
Quote:
Originally Posted by dma999999 View Post
<sigh> Turns out it was because the Panny only has ARC on one of its two HDMI inputs and I had the receiver plugged into the one that didn't.
Thanks for reporting back and a good reminder to all that just as there is generally only "1" HDMI(ARC) output on an AVR so to is there generally only one "1" HDMI(ARC) input on a TV.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off