Should i upgrade my power cord on my high current amp? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-31-2012, 12:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smfins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a used parasound HCA 2205a that weighs about 95 pounds and draws alot of current. I noticed that in my opinion it has a pretty skinny power cable that looks more like something you would see on a computer. I'm not sure if it's the original cord or not, but should i look into upgrading it? i see some on ebay for around $50 that seem to be much better. I';ve also read on many forums that upgrading the power cord is a waste of time??? Any advise? Thanks!
smfins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-31-2012, 12:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 225
^^ If the amp is not clipping, it seems to be doing the job. But if the cord is not rated to at least the same as the current draw spec of the amp, would be good to find a better match.

Your amp states power consumption at 1500w. That's 12.5 amps at 120 V. 15A cords are readily available for $5-10. First, check to see the rating of the cord you're using. Just have a look at the end that plugs into the amp. The current rating will be molded into it.
Roger Dressler is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-31-2012, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Run the amp at a fairly high volume for 1/2 an hour or so. Then feel the power cord (don't forget both ends). If it feels warm to the touch anywhere, you might want to consider a better cord. Otherwise, save your money.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-31-2012, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,254
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 250
The wire gauge of the cord should be molded into the surface of the cord. It should be #14 or #12 for your amplifier. Many cords are 16 gauge, which is probably marginal.



Quote:
Originally Posted by smfins View Post

I just purchased a used parasound HCA 2205a that weighs about 95 pounds and draws alot of current. I noticed that in my opinion it has a pretty skinny power cable that looks more like something you would see on a computer. I'm not sure if it's the original cord or not, but should i look into upgrading it? i see some on ebay for around $50 that seem to be much better. I';ve also read on many forums that upgrading the power cord is a waste of time??? Any advise? Thanks!

commsysman is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-08-2012, 11:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smfins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Dressler View Post

^^ If the amp is not clipping, it seems to be doing the job. But if the cord is not rated to at least the same as the current draw spec of the amp, would be good to find a better match.


Your amp states power consumption at 1500w. That's 12.5 amps at 120 V. 15A cords are readily available for $5-10. First, check to see the rating of the cord you're using. Just have a look at the end that plugs into the amp. The current rating will be molded into it.
Thanks for the info, however, the amp rating isn't molded on the plug. it seems to be fine though.
smfins is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off