Denon 1612 with WDTV Live audio output problem. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-07-2012, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
FunkyStompStomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everybody,

Just set up a Denon 1612 with my WDTV Live and I'm having problems with audio output. When I check the audio source on the Denon from the WDTV Live it always says stereo, no matter what I change the setting to in my WDTV Live audio output menu. Basically half of my speakers aren't being utilised. I'd like my rear speakers to output sound even if it isn't real multichannel. Any idea what audio output settings with work with my receiver?

Cheers!
FunkyStompStomp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-07-2012, 05:19 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
The AVR can only play what it receives. This is a WDTV issue. Is the WDTV connected to the AVR via HDMI or optical?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-07-2012, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
FunkyStompStom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is connected via HDMI cable. The audio output I chose from the WDTV Live was "Digital Pass Through via HDMI cable" with all the options set to auto. Other options were stereo or digital pass through via optical. I tried setting the output options manually but it just asked what my reciever was capable of and how many channels, no idea what combo might work. Any ideas?
FunkyStompStom is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-07-2012, 04:04 PM
Member
 
mj23jay_lin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a WDTV Live Plus hooked up to Denon 1610 and it works perfect. The setting in your WD TV looks correct though. Did you by any chance check to see if you can select the surround modes on 1612? On 1610 I can cycle through different modes between Dolby Digital, DTS, Stereo, 5ch Stereo, etc. If that don't work, I'll check my settings when I can get home so you can compare.
mj23jay_lin is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-07-2012, 04:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
No, not familiar with the WDTV Live. You might want to try another one of the forums that would cater towards WDTV live owner's. Currently the WDTV Live is passing STEREO audio so that's all the AVR can receive.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-07-2012, 06:02 PM
 
Vic C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Glendale, AZ 85306
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HMMMM?

You should be able to change the surround mode to all channel stereo or something like that. You can pretty much chage the surrond mode for just about any source to any mode you like.
Vic C is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-07-2012, 06:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Perhaps I misunderstood the OP as I thought the goal was for the WDTV Live to pass other than stereo audio to the AVR? If not, then yes, there are several surround modes the 1612 can use to simulate 5.1 audio (DD PLII, Multi CH Stereo, etc. ... see p. 29 in Owner's manual).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-09-2012, 11:05 AM
 
Vic C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Glendale, AZ 85306
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Denon from the WDTV Live it always says stereo, no matter what I change the setting to in my WDTV Live audio output menu
FROM OP POST

The Denon is in Stereo mode and it needs to be in PLII. Some broadcasts will be in Dolby Digital and it will switch to D.D when it gets a real surround signal but youll see commercials and non D.D broadcasts in PLII if you put the denon in PLII other wise youll only get stereo 2 channel.
Vic C is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off