The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1020, RX-A2020 and RX-A3020 Thread - Page 64 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1891 of 1903 Old 01-22-2015, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I use the 2 channel version of this on my subs. Don't see that available. There's no problem only using 1 or 2 of 4 YMMV

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerikzb View Post
Got it! been searching and seems like i need a ground lift adaptor so the components don't "fight" over the ground? anyway.. I'll do a search here..

Thanks Nathan!
rakstr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1892 of 1903 Old 01-22-2015, 06:29 PM
Member
 
camroncamera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been awhile since I've checked into this thread, but I've been really pleased with my Aventage RX-A1020 for the past couple years. We upgraded to Comcast's X1 system last fall, and I'm relieved that the new Comcast remotes will finally control my receiver volume (despite it's otherwise sluggish response).
camroncamera is offline  
post #1893 of 1903 Old 01-23-2015, 01:30 AM
Member
 
camroncamera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by camroncamera View Post
It's been awhile since I've checked into this thread, but I've been really pleased with my Aventage RX-A1020 for the past couple years. We upgraded to Comcast's X1 system last fall, and I'm relieved that the new Comcast remotes will finally control my receiver volume (despite it's otherwise sluggish response).
I guess I should clarify - the Comcast X1 remote controls the volume of the Yamaha A1020, so long as the Panasonic plasma is turned on and linked to the receiver. After I posted the above, I had to go test whether changing the volume of the receiver with the Comcast remote was possible if the television was turned off, and it turns out, no it's not possible under that condition .
camroncamera is offline  
post #1894 of 1903 Old 01-24-2015, 03:12 PM
Member
 
jeff2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For some reason my Ipod no longer plays on my RX-A 1020...it reads and shows all the artists/songs etc..but when you hit play...it just sits there. The ipod works fine with headphones...and I tried a 2nd USB cord and it didn't work either.


Anybody have any ideas?
jeff2112 is offline  
post #1895 of 1903 Old 02-02-2015, 03:30 PM
Member
 
highd3f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Croatia
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I just had a weird thing happen to me. Twice. I was switching from Pure Direct mode on my RX-A1020 to Straight and quickly noticed that the right speaker is very quiet, but in about 6-8 seconds it returned to normal volume. Meanwhile left speaker and the subwoofer were playing just fine as expected. I didn't pay much attention to this until 20-30 minutes later while playing some music I switched back to Pure Direct and my right speaker was completely silent while the left one kept on playing the music. I freaked out as I thought my speaker died. I quickly checked the connections on both receiver and the speaker. Nothing. I switched to another source on the receiver as I suspected my computer was doing something weird, but the right speaker continued completely silent.

I do use banana plugs on the receiver part, so I turned off the receiver and removed bananas for the right speaker and firmly connected the wires to receiver's right speaker output. These things already fell apart once when I was reconnecting speakers, so I assumed banana plug could be the reason for this. I turned the receiver back on and sure enough the sound was restored to the right speaker. I'm not convinced this was really the bananas, I would definitely have to check with the other speaker as well, but I wonder if this could be the receiver itself slowly dying on me, maybe amps giving up, or something. So I'm here trying to see if anyone else had a similar experience and what could be the true reason for this? My RX-A1020 is not even 3 years old and Yamaha appears to have good reputation for build quality. My previous receiver RX-V565 lasted good 4 years before I decided to sell it and upgrade to the Aventage series. This would also be a bad timing for my receiver to die as I'm in the process of downsizing and eagerly waiting for KEF LS50's to arrive. Therefore, I'm not in a position to purchase new audio equipment. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.
highd3f is offline  
post #1896 of 1903 Old 02-11-2015, 07:29 PM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So on the config tab in web setup my main speakers (fronts) are set to large and Im guessing that 40hz is lowest you can go or is it bypassing the x-over cause its set to large? I ask cause there is no setting for it to be off and I just got new speakers and just setting up temporally till I have time to run YPAO. Speakers are polk RTi10's any knowledgable input would greatly be appreciated!!!
azz7686 is online now  
post #1897 of 1903 Old 02-11-2015, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 196
^ The crossover is bypassed when you set the speakers to large. They will get all frequencies.
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #1898 of 1903 Old 02-12-2015, 07:28 AM
Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
^ The crossover is bypassed when you set the speakers to large. They will get all frequencies.
OK thanx!

2-RTi-10's 1-CSi5 2-TSi400 6-r150's 1-Velodyne DPS-12
Yamaha RX-A3030 and Emotiva XPA-200
Samsung UN65F7100
azz7686 is online now  
post #1899 of 1903 Old 02-14-2015, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
hv9200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
iPad app won't connect after update

Anyone else having issues with the iPad not connecting after the latest update to the app?

"although he walks among us, he is not one of us"
hv9200 is offline  
post #1900 of 1903 Old 02-22-2015, 07:26 AM
Member
 
riverphoenix123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hv9200 View Post
Anyone else having issues with the iPad not connecting after the latest update to the app?
Yes me too and i'm still on firmware 1.41.
I can't get airplay anymore with my airpad,i can only play my music through apple tv at the moment.

Last edited by riverphoenix123; 02-22-2015 at 07:30 AM.
riverphoenix123 is offline  
post #1901 of 1903 Old 02-23-2015, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Nicodimus22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hey folks. Suddenly, I'm having a major issue with my RX-A1020 after using it for a couple of years with no problem. Thus far, my troubleshooting has failed me.

I'm getting random pops, crackles, and periods of silence for 5-10 seconds at a time while sound should be playing. During the silence, the 5 speaker icons on the front display of the A1020 go dark, and light up again when the sound returns. This happens whether I am listening to my blu-ray player, PS3, or TV, so we can rule out a bad HDMI cable or source device. The video portion of the content continues normally during the audio problems.

My next thought was that it might be a loose connection either at one of the speakers or receiver. I use banana plugs, so there are no loose strands of wire touching each other all willy-nilly. After making sure that all the connections were secure, I played a test tone, unplugging one speaker at a time in an attempt to isolate a bad connection. I still got the crackles, pops, and sound loss, regardless of which speaker/sub was unplugged.

Running out of ideas, I ran the automatic setup again to see if the receiver might indicate where the problem might be. It ran without a hitch, but the problem remains.

Any other ideas that I can try before determining that the unit itself is bad? Thanks in advance.

Yamaha RX-A1020 AVR | Paradigm Monitor 11v7 L/R | Paradigm Monitor Center 3v7 C | Paradigm Monitor Surround 3v7 LS/RS | Klipsch SW-350 sub
Samsung HL61A750 HDTV | Oppo BDP-103 blu-ray player | Logitech Harmony 650 | Sony PS3 Slim 500gb | Nintendo Wii


My movie room: http://imgur.com/a/IjWr1

Last edited by Nicodimus22; 02-23-2015 at 03:04 PM.
Nicodimus22 is offline  
post #1902 of 1903 Old 02-23-2015, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I wouldn't say you know it's not a cable. The first cable I'd suspect would be on the output to the TV OR what's plugged in at the other end. Also, not knowing if all the inputs are truly electrically isolated, a problem on one could still bleed to the others.

I would unplug ALL sources and go to basics. A single source with a single cable and a single input. Eliminate all variables. Are you on the latest firmware? I have 3 of these 1020's and anecdotally, I believe the latest has increase the number of random A/V drops with y DTV but it hasn't been bad enough to isolate. I did not update the other two after this. Yamaha would not tell me if they could be "reverse flashed" (I still have the older firmware available).

A full reset to factory is probably also in order. Leave all "processing" options off. Enable things one at a time if that is clear.

Sorry if that is a basic answer, it's what I'd do and that's what you asked for

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicodimus22 View Post
Hey folks. Suddenly, I'm having a major issue with my RX-A1020 after using it for a couple of years with no problem. Thus far, my troubleshooting has failed me.

I'm getting random pops, crackles, and periods of silence for 5-10 seconds at a time while sound should be playing. During the silence, the 5 speaker icons on the front display of the A1020 go dark, and light up again when the sound returns. This happens whether I am listening to my blu-ray player, PS3, or TV, so we can rule out a bad HDMI cable. The video portion of the content continues normally during the audio problems.

My next thought was that it might be a loose connection either at one of the speakers or receiver. I use banana plugs, so there are no loose strands of wire touching each other all willy-nilly. After making sure that all the connections were secure, I played a test tone, unplugging one speaker at a time in an attempt to isolate a bad connection. I still got the crackles, pops, and sound loss, regardless of which speaker/sub was unplugged.

Running out of ideas, I ran the automatic setup again to see if the receiver might indicate where the problem might be. It ran without a hitch, but the problem remains.

Any other ideas that I can try before determining that the unit itself is bad? Thanks in advance.
rakstr is offline  
post #1903 of 1903 Unread Today, 06:16 PM
Member
 
AverageJoeAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Anyone having their Yamaha randomly switching off?

I picked up a refurbished Yamaha RX-A1020 to replace my Denon E400 from A4L, and almost from the first time I turned it on there have been random times where it just clicks completely off, or that the HDMI output seems to switch it self on and off but without a complete loss of power.

Oddly is also seems to be doing this less frequently, but still 2 or 3 times a week.
I have tired searching and haven't seen anyone else have similar complaints or issues.
Has anyone else heard of this or had similar experiences?
AverageJoeAudio is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha , Yamaha Rx A1020 7 2 Channel Network Aventage Av Receiver , Receivers Amplifiers , Yamaha Rx A2020 9 2 Channel Network Aventage Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - A1020 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off