The "Official" Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1020, RX-A2020 and RX-A3020 Thread - Page 65 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1921 of 1925 Old 03-22-2015, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everybody, this is my second post on these awesome forums. I hope you can help.

Recently I bought a 4K tv, the 9500 LG 65".

The problem I have is, I want to connect my 1020 yamaha to the HDMI 3 imput on the TV, designed specially for UHD content ( it has the 10 bit deep color feature, etc ), the problem is that when I connect the yamaha there, I have no signal at all, and TV says that HDMI version is not compatible with UHD deep colour. I have tried using the HDMI cable that comes with the TV and nothing. Specifications says that if the device connected is not compatible with UHD Deep Color, it may not work. Funny thing is that other devices work on that imput (WDTV live, Pioneer BR Player ), but not the Yamaha. I have setted the Yamaha to upscale video in 4K and even that way I have no signal.

Anyone can help?

Besides I have never updated firmware, I have the 1.51 version. Could a firmware update solve the problem?

Thanks in advance.
Carlos2992 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1922 of 1925 Old 03-24-2015, 08:36 PM
Newbie
 
jhorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nicodimus22,

Did you see if an interference source might have been introduced? I have been having similar problems wih my rx-a2020 as you for the last 2 weeks, I noticed crackling a month ago, but it worsened 2 weeks ago to include popping and dropouts.I finally checked the AVS forum last weekend and noticed your posts. It was your posts that made me think I had introduced an interference source, particularly the bit about the repair shop not finding a problem with your receiver. So, I wondered what had I put near my stereo to cause such interference?

The answer was sitting right next to my stereo center. I have a severe disability and use an electric wheelchair (w/c) to get about. A month ago some friends gave me a broken down w/c to turn into a backup w/c, I parked it right next to my stereo center. This "new" w/c came with an automatic battery charger, thus no more having to make sure the charger was turned on, so I started using it. Two weeks ago I got the idea that the charger would be easier to get to for my attendants if it was on the seat of the new chair instead of them crawling between the w/c and the stereo center, it was. However, this now put the new charger level with and within 3 feet of my cd player (which exhibited the worst problems), my other components were stacked above it. Sunday I saw your posts, which started me thinking. Monday morning I moved the charger well away from the stereo center and then turned on the receiver - clarity, no crackles, no pops, and no drop outs. I am having frequent "access errors" with pandora, but I notice the spot I moved charger to is only a couple inches from a cat5 cable which runs to the pc I'm trying set up as a music sever. I'll test moving the charger away from that cat5 cable next.

So, Nicodemus22 thank you for your posts, they were a big help. I think you should inspect your stereo center area for for some interference source, and don't let the innocuous or mundane stay your scrutiny. Good Luck!

jhorri
azz7686 likes this.

Last edited by jhorri; 03-24-2015 at 09:53 PM.
jhorri is offline  
post #1923 of 1925 Old Yesterday, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Nicodimus22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhorri View Post
Nicodimus22,

Did you see if an interference source might have been introduced? I have been having similar problems wih my rx-a2020 as you for the last 2 weeks, I noticed crackling a month ago, but it worsened 2 weeks ago to include popping and dropouts.I finally checked the AVS forum last weekend and noticed your posts. It was your posts that made me think I had introduced an interference source, particularly the bit about the repair shop not finding a problem with your receiver. So, I wondered what had I put near my stereo to cause such interference?

The answer was sitting right next to my stereo center. I have a severe disability and use an electric wheelchair (w/c) to get about. A month ago some friends gave me a broken down w/c to turn into a backup w/c, I parked it right next to my stereo center. This "new" w/c came with an automatic battery charger, thus no more having to make sure the charger was turned on, so I started using it. Two weeks ago I got the idea that the charger would be easier to get to for my attendants if it was on the seat of the new chair instead of them crawling between the w/c and the stereo center, it was. However, this now put the new charger level with and within 3 feet of my cd player (which exhibited the worst problems), my other components were stacked above it. Sunday I saw your posts, which started me thinking. Monday morning I moved the charger well away from the stereo center and then turned on the receiver - clarity, no crackles, no pops, and no drop outs. I am having frequent "access errors" with pandora, but I notice the spot I moved charger to is only a couple inches from a cat5 cable which runs to the pc I'm trying set up as a music sever. I'll test moving the charger away from that cat5 cable next.

So, Nicodemus22 thank you for your posts, they were a big help. I think you should inspect your stereo center area for for some interference source, and don't let the innocuous or mundane stay your scrutiny. Good Luck!

jhorri
Glad that it helped someone else. I have tried everything I can think of to resolve the issue. There is nothing else in the room that could be causing interference. At present, I'm sitting in my living room surrounded by several thousand dollars worth of audio equipment, listening to everything through the $2 speakers built into the TV. Beyond frustrated.

Yamaha RX-A1020 AVR | Paradigm Monitor 11v7 L/R | Paradigm Monitor Center 3v7 C | Paradigm Monitor Surround 3v7 LS/RS | Klipsch SW-350 sub
Samsung HL61A750 HDTV | Oppo BDP-103 blu-ray player | Logitech Harmony 650 | Sony PS3 Slim 500gb | Nintendo Wii


My movie room: http://imgur.com/a/IjWr1
Nicodimus22 is online now  
post #1924 of 1925 Old Yesterday, 10:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
PretzelFisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicodimus22 View Post
Hey folks. Suddenly, I'm having a major issue with my RX-A1020 after using it for a couple of years with no problem. Thus far, my troubleshooting has failed me.

I'm getting random pops, crackles, and periods of silence for 5-10 seconds at a time while sound should be playing. During the silence, the 5 speaker icons on the front display of the A1020 go dark, and light up again when the sound returns. This happens whether I am listening to my blu-ray player, PS3, or TV, so we can rule out a bad HDMI cable or source device. The video portion of the content continues normally during the audio problems.

My next thought was that it might be a loose connection either at one of the speakers or receiver. I use banana plugs, so there are no loose strands of wire touching each other all willy-nilly. After making sure that all the connections were secure, I played a test tone, unplugging one speaker at a time in an attempt to isolate a bad connection. I still got the crackles, pops, and sound loss, regardless of which speaker/sub was unplugged.

Running out of ideas, I ran the automatic setup again to see if the receiver might indicate where the problem might be. It ran without a hitch, but the problem remains.

Any other ideas that I can try before determining that the unit itself is bad? Thanks in advance.
have you been able to move the unit to another area and test it with just 2 speakers and maybe input from phone? It could be interference bleeding in from any connection or your power socket.
My 720 had horrible static that would be on all speakers even when the system was set to two channel mode. Finally I noticed it was only a problem when my Sirius receiver was powered on. That connection had so much noise plugged into audio 1 that you could hear it on audio 2, and the static was on all input sources.
PretzelFisch is online now  
post #1925 of 1925 Old Today, 05:57 AM
Member
 
highd3f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Croatia
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 53
My problem with sound coming from left channel only when switching to Pure Direct is still present. I'm thinking the latest firmware might have to do something with that, but I suppose there'd be more people posting the same problem. I tried resetting it to factory settings to no avail.

Either way, I'm ready to get rid of this RX-A1020 and Yamaha altogether as soon as new receivers with HDCP 2.2 support become available.
highd3f is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha , Yamaha Rx A1020 7 2 Channel Network Aventage Av Receiver , Receivers Amplifiers , Yamaha Rx A2020 9 2 Channel Network Aventage Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - A1020 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off