The *Official* Onkyo TX-NR414/515/616 Problems Thread - Page 23 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Do you own an Onkyo TX-TR414/515/616 receiver that is displaying at least one of the following probl
Yes, I can't turn it on with the remote. 26 9.22%
Yes, the HDMI fails. 98 34.75%
Yes, I can't log into Spotify. 9 3.19%
Yes, I can't stream music from my phone. 13 4.61%
Yes, I have another problem not listed (explain below). 52 18.44%
No, I have one of these receivers and have not had a problem with it. 78 27.66%
Another answer not accounted for - explanation below. 10 3.55%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 282. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 672 Old 07-21-2014, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
No Sound Output

Just had to call an Onkyo service center to set up a time to deliver my TX-NR414. The AVR has no sound in any mode (including AM and FM). Most probable fault is the amplifier stage. Everything else functions as normal. Purchased in Feb 2013. I'll let you guys know how the repairs go.

(my NR3009 is working like a champ... knock on wood).

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Epson 5030UB Projector - Monoprice Multi-format 106" HD Gray screen - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One, and custom DIY media console...
climber07 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 672 Old 07-30-2014, 09:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Eh i have a onkyo 414. Used for almost a year and nowday it just keep restart and restart. And some time cant even switch on for few min. I bought it from UK therefore no warranty.

Any solution please? Thanks!
Hongzang is offline  
post #663 of 672 Old 07-31-2014, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by climber07 View Post
Just had to call an Onkyo service center to set up a time to deliver my TX-NR414. The AVR has no sound in any mode (including AM and FM). Most probable fault is the amplifier stage. Everything else functions as normal. Purchased in Feb 2013. I'll let you guys know how the repairs go.

(my NR3009 is working like a champ... knock on wood).
Update: Service shop called and it was the HDMI board (DSP) in my NR414.

Last edited by climber07; 08-01-2014 at 08:31 PM.
climber07 is online now  
post #664 of 672 Old 09-11-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
mp3truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Discovered a peculiar issue with my TX-NR626. I am connecting to a dlna server which houses my music collection.

The receiver connects to it properly but will then only display 10 objects. For example, if I make the dlna server serve the path of all music, the 626 will only see 10 directories of albums. If I change the dlna server so that it serves only one directory, the 626 only sees 10 songs within that directory even though there are far more.

I suspect this is some type of programming error where they didn't allocate enough memory space to list out the objects. It really sucks as it limits you to playing 100 songs. (10 directories with 10 items each)

Anyone else run into this one?
mp3truck is online now  
post #665 of 672 Old 09-11-2014, 03:44 PM
Member
 
cadet502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally gave up

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadet502 View Post
Just finished setting up a 515. One of the main reasons I wanted this unit was the standby passthrough HDMI capability. Does not seem to work on any connection. BUT if i turn on the BD/DVD (HDMI1), the reciever powers up. I have it set for AUTO, and it seems to operate like Last. If i turn it on, switch to an input, and then turn it off, it passes through. I don't really want to pop it on and off everytime I change inputs. Did the AUTO passthrough switching work for anyone at any time inbetween updates?
So after dealing with this for a year and a half, I started losing audio about every three days. Power down, unplug, wait a few min, plug back in, audio comes back. Gave up and ordered a Yamaha RX-V475. HDMI pass-through works great all the time, and the remote changes input in standby. Wish I had sent the Onkyo back when I got it. What a piece of crap.
cadet502 is offline  
post #666 of 672 Old 09-18-2014, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
kieranpage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.

I'm done some searching around and I can't find anything yet.

I'm using xbmc on a PC with a HDMI output into my onkyo 616.

Every single time I watch something after 20-40 minutes the screen goes black as if the output is cut off. Then the TV cycles its screen aspect settings and then the image is returned to normal.

I'm going to try and fault find by using a raspberry pi with xbmc and see if it does it with that device as well.

I just thought is ask if this was a known problem before I go chasing my tail.
kieranpage is offline  
post #667 of 672 Old 09-18-2014, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kieranpage View Post
Hi all.

I'm done some searching around and I can't find anything yet.

I'm using xbmc on a PC with a HDMI output into my onkyo 616.

Every single time I watch something after 20-40 minutes the screen goes black as if the output is cut off. Then the TV cycles its screen aspect settings and then the image is returned to normal.

I'm going to try and fault find by using a raspberry pi with xbmc and see if it does it with that device as well.

I just thought is ask if this was a known problem before I go chasing my tail.
Is your PC trying to go to sleep or power down the hard drive or video display?

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Epson 5030UB Projector - Monoprice Multi-format 106" HD Gray screen - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One, and custom DIY media console...
climber07 is online now  
post #668 of 672 Old 09-25-2014, 07:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Tx-nr616

My remote wont turn on the receiver. Also, when I turn it on by hand it will automatically turn back off multiple times before it will stay on.

please release an automatic update to fix this issue.

Thanks
mikemcd1978 is offline  
post #669 of 672 Old 09-25-2014, 11:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Receiver stuck in "Now initializing", cant connect to network

I have a NR TX-515. Its been working fine for an year, and suddenly yesterday the volume through it died. I noticed that in the Net menu, it constantly displays "now initializing".

If I press home, it has everything but setup grayed out and also network is grayed out.

I did a hard reset (power + CBL/SAT button), when in initial setup mode, I connect to network (ethernet), it shows mac address, IP address, gateway ping fine, but it says internet service test - failed to connect.

My internet is working fine, and I can also see the devide connected to my router via the router admin.

Please help!
bharatg is offline  
post #670 of 672 Old 09-26-2014, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
climber07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 1008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bharatg View Post
I have a NR TX-515. Its been working fine for an year, and suddenly yesterday the volume through it died. I noticed that in the Net menu, it constantly displays "now initializing".

If I press home, it has everything but setup grayed out and also network is grayed out.

I did a hard reset (power + CBL/SAT button), when in initial setup mode, I connect to network (ethernet), it shows mac address, IP address, gateway ping fine, but it says internet service test - failed to connect.

My internet is working fine, and I can also see the devide connected to my router via the router admin.

Please help!
Most likely the HDMI processor board has pooped the bed. My volume stopped working and I thought it was the audio amplifier. Turned out to be the HDMI processor board like all the rest.

Onkyo TX-NR3009 - Emotiva XPA-2 300 WPC - Polk Audio RTiA9 Mains - CSiA6 Center - F/XiA6 Surrounds - Dual PSA XV-15se Subwoofers - Epson 5030UB Projector - Monoprice Multi-format 106" HD Gray screen - Samsung BD-F5900 3D Bluray - WDTV Live HD Media Player with 6TB External Storage - Nintendo Wii - XBox 360 - Logitech Harmony One, and custom DIY media console...
climber07 is online now  
post #671 of 672 Old 09-26-2014, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good evening, Please do not jump on me as I have tried reading the 22 pages quickly and may of missed previous questions the same as mine.


Today I turned on my nr 414 and the tv says 'video format not supported'


I can hear sound.


I have tried changing the input port from my sky box but same issue


my apple tv is working fine


over the last few weeks I have noticed 'resolution error' pop up on the front of the receiver but as worked well I never paid attention.


Thanks in advance for any help
navydog21 is offline  
post #672 of 672 Old 10-13-2014, 08:33 AM
Member
 
drizzo4shizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Host of problems to report with 2 year old tx nr616 (purchased new from amazon)

This unit worked fine for about 2 years. Such a bargain. But I never really turned up the volume or abused it in any way. It was also well ventilated.

But now I get no audio from any of the input sources. I tried Level Calibration and there is no hissing calibration sound discernable. I tried a system reset and it made no difference.

In addition, I noticed that the receiver no longer can connect to my router. The light on the back doesn't light up when the cable is fully inserted, where a laptop uses same cable fine.

The final symptom is that when I hit the Home button on the remote (and plug a display into the receiver HDMI, *ANNOYING* that is required - some of us are still using component video) I only can select the toolbox. I can't select firmware update or even see what version I'm running.

I only spent $350 on this unit but it was a colossal waste of money for the usage I got from it. Anyone else out there in the same boat?

UPDATE: Onkyo support called me back and suggested I do a "hard USB firmware update", which I will try now. What's the risk, it's a shiny brick at the moment... stay tuned

UPDATE2: "hard USB firmware update" does not work for me at all. Called back support and after giving them the serial number I was informed of their "complimentary customer care program", and they will send me a box to ship it to them. So they'll fix it - which is great because it was only 9 days out of warranty, and it was *probably* broken 9 days ago too :-/

FYI the firmware I was running before problems started was version v118 from Oct 2012 (the latest is v124)

Last edited by drizzo4shizzo; 10-13-2014 at 10:39 AM. Reason: update with customer service info
drizzo4shizzo is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo , Onkyo Tx Nr414 , Onkyo Tx Nr515 , Onkyo Tx Nr616
Gear in this thread - Nr515 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off