Denon 3312CI Dual Zone question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 06-15-2012, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thebigchu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Onkyo TXNR807 and it's going out (I have to warm it up before it outputs sound to the speakers. Once warm, it work normally). I love the features of the receiver, but it has one fundamental problem (other than going out after only 3 years). It cannot play a digital source (HDMI in) in Zone 1 and Zone 2 simultaniously. Example, Zone 1 is the family room, Zone 2 is the back yard. When I have parties, I like to have both zones playing the same source... I can only do this with analog sources on the Onkyo.

I used to have a Denon 3803 and I love it, but went with Onkyo for the features for the price.

Today, the Denon 3312CI is on "prime deal of the day" from a well known internet vender.

With the Denon 3312CI can I put sources (both digital and analog) sources to 2 zones at once? ie: Can I play a music Bluray from my bluray player via HDMI and have amplified out sound to speakers in 2 zones?

Thanks!
thebigchu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 06-15-2012, 04:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Virtually every AVR on the market today cannot output HDMI audio to Zone 2 (except the Yamaha Aventage AXXXX series and the new Denon AVR-3313CI and Marantz SR7007). The 3312CI can only output composite video to Zone 2; however, can also pass PCM 2.0 from optical/coax digital external sources to Zones 2/3 in addition to being able to pass analog audio. Zone 2 sources would also include on board sources (ie. Internet radio, Pandora, Airplay), although when Airplay sources are playing in Zone 2, the same Airplay source must also be playing in the main zone as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 06-15-2012, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Note that Harman/Kardon in its higher end AVRs (starting with the 45 series) for the last several years have had the ability to tune XM/Sirius Satellite Radio stations and play MP3 files on a USB thumb drive to Zone II..
While processing 5.1 Dolby and DTS surround audio streams in the primary listening room..

Just my $0.02.. wink.gif
M Code is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 06-15-2012, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thebigchu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses. To clarify some more. I'm totally OK with them playing the same digital sources to Zone 2. I have no need to play different ones to Zone 2. It was just a bummer when I wanted to play a music concert Bluray as audio entertainment in the living room (zone1) and patio (zone2) at the same time, but because it was a HDMI into the receiver I could not put the audio out to the patio as well.

Any other thoughts on the 3312CI? Loves? hates?
thebigchu is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 06-15-2012, 05:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
The 3312CI can do the same as the HK noted above is able to do. Also note, that if you can live with the same audio to Zone 2 as is playing in the main zone, then you can set the Zone 2 speakers up as Front B speakers and play the same audio (HDMI, digital, or analog) that is playing on the Front A speakers (at the same volume though as well).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 06-15-2012, 10:09 PM
Member
 
gatorpit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can the 3312 play the same picture on the both the hdmi outputs? i am trying to hook my system up for a tv in the main room and a tv on the back porch. i would love to be able to have both tvs playing the same football game but not wanting to use a spiltter because sometimes i will want different stuff playing on the different tvs.

thanks
josh
gatorpit is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 06-16-2012, 04:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
^^
Yes, although if the back porch connection is straight to the TV, you would get video only (limited to the lowest common denominator of the two displays (ie. if one 720p and one 1080p, then both reduced to 720p) if using the surround sound speakers in the main room, or you could pass audio to the back porch TV and disable audio to the surround speakers.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 06-16-2012, 07:26 AM
Member
 
gatorpit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered the denon from amazon last night. When you say it decreases the picture to the lowest picture quality, what would happen in this scenario I have a 3d tv above my fireplace and the one on the porch will not be 3d. Say I was watching a blu ray 3d in the main room, would I have to go unplug the other hdmi so it wouldnt lose the 3d signal? In this case i would not want anything playing in the porch. Thanks so much.
gatorpit is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 06-16-2012, 12:12 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
^^
Same would apply, with both TVs connected, you'll only get 2D video to both of them.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 11-05-2012, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Dru the Fu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Republic of North California
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In terms of using AirPlay for the 2 seperate zones, could I successfully:

- Play an HDMI source (PS3) playing on Zone 1, and my iPhone 5 using AirPlay on Zone 2?

- Play AppleTV (regular apps, or AirPlay) on Zone 1, iPhone 5 (Airplay) on Zone 2?

***Listing my HT gear in my signature on this board will make me feel like a puny, girlie man. Listen to me now but hear me later***
Dru the Fu is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 11-05-2012, 04:06 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
No to the first, and yes to the second (ie. only the XX13 models can play the on board Airplay independent to Zone 2 with another source in the main zone).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 11-08-2012, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Dru the Fu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Republic of North California
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I assume then that I can play PS3 (video & audio) in Zone 1 while playing Airplay (audio) via AppleTV 3 (optical cable connection) in Zone 2/3?

I'm not going to need an optical --> analog converter I'm also assuming?

BTW, I hate assuming...

***Listing my HT gear in my signature on this board will make me feel like a puny, girlie man. Listen to me now but hear me later***
Dru the Fu is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 11-08-2012, 04:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Yes, as long as the audio from the ATV3 is PCM 2.0. The 3312CI is the only model in the XX12 series that can pass PCM 2.0 over optical to Zones 2/3. Note this is not a feature on the newer 3313CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 11-09-2012, 08:15 AM
Member
 
Dru the Fu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Republic of North California
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very cool, thanks for the quick info

EDIT: What's the likelihood that Denon will issue a firmware update to the 3312CI to allow the ability to source digital inputs to Zone 2/3, like what I've heard the xx13CI can do out of the box, without having to do little work-arounds like the optical cable input solution?

***Listing my HT gear in my signature on this board will make me feel like a puny, girlie man. Listen to me now but hear me later***
Dru the Fu is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 11-09-2012, 01:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,008
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1145 Post(s)
Liked: 1589
zero chance, but then again the 3313 can't do it either. Perhaps you are confusing the Zone 2 matrix HDMI output with the ability to source digital inputs to Zone 2/3. In fact, the 3313 dropped the ability to do 2.0 PCM from optical/coax that was on the 3312.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 11-09-2012, 02:31 PM
Member
 
Dru the Fu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Republic of North California
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^

You're right, I was referring to the HDMI Audio output to Zone 2. I thought it was all digital sources, but apparently it's only HDMI Audio.

It would be fantastic to have the ability to play separate digital input simultaneously in multiple zones. Having my wife's Airplay playing on Zone 1 inside the house while I play my Airplay on Zone 2 outside, or the kids watching/playing PS3 inside on Zone 1 while I'm in the pool listening to Airplay on Zone 2......oh, the possibilities!

***Listing my HT gear in my signature on this board will make me feel like a puny, girlie man. Listen to me now but hear me later***
Dru the Fu is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 11-10-2012, 03:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Easily accomplished with an Apple TV or Airport Express.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 11-11-2012, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Dru the Fu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Republic of North California
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Easily accomplished with an Apple TV or Airport Express.

Just to confirm, I'm OK with Apple TV --> Optical Cable --> 3312CI for this to work, and won't need the optical --> analog converters? Or will I need those converters for this to work?

Thanks

***Listing my HT gear in my signature on this board will make me feel like a puny, girlie man. Listen to me now but hear me later***
Dru the Fu is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 11-11-2012, 06:20 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Yup ... the 3312 is the only model of the XX12 and XX13 units that can do this (ie. PCM 2.0 over optical/digital coax to Zone 2).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 12-09-2012, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
hrung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the 3312CI; Have been unable to play my IPOD on zone 2. Any ideas?
hrung is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 12-10-2012, 04:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
Please refer to p. 31 in your Owner's manual. If you are connecting via USB or RCA jacks, either configuration should play to Zone 2, if Zone 2 is powered on and the proper source (ie. either analog or USB) is selected.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 12-10-2012, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
hrung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. I wasn't selecting the correct source.
hrung is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off