Denon 4311 update problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 06-16-2012, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

This is my first time here, and wonder if someone might be able to assist. I bought an AVR 4311 yesterday but the display is constantly giving me a message that it's waiting for upgrade. I decided to connect the receiver to the internet; all was ok. It was updating nicely, counting back from 6 mins, 5 mins, then all was cancelled and this process has now gone into a continuous loop. It gets to 4 mins then aborts. I did not interrupt the connection in any way at the time so wondering what is causing this.
Any ideas would be very much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 06-17-2012, 12:58 AM
585-645-1006

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 1333
Welcome to AVS Forum.

There are two types of firmware information notices, an "update" (fixes) and an "upgrade" (new feature), the latter referring to the Airplay "upgrade" which can be done after you're able to successfully "update" the firmware. If you don't have a "wired" connection from the AVR to your router, ideally that is what's best for firmware updates/upgrades. Regardless, as noted in the Owner's manual p. 106, either press/hold the ON/STANDBY button for more than 5 seconds, or unplug the AVR for a few minutes at which point the AVR will attempt the update again.

Also note there is a dedicated Denon AVR-4311CI Owner's thread ---> http://www.avsforum.com/t/1274153/the-official-denon-avr-4311ci-avr-a100-thread-no-price-talk/0_50

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound