TX-NR3010 / 5010 Info - Page 25 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > TX-NR3010 / 5010 Info

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

cablebandit3's Avatar cablebandit3
08:20 AM Liked: 19
post #721 of 1156
11-15-2012 | Posts: 180
Joined: Dec 2007
i ordered this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002JM1RKO/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00 which is overpriced Im sure but it works fine...its plugged into the rear usb port and powers on with the 3010
rplotkin's Avatar rplotkin
11:00 AM Liked: 10
post #723 of 1156
11-15-2012 | Posts: 206
Joined: Jul 2002
This is what I've seen as a good fan cooling add-on: http://www.coolerguys.com/compcooling.html . It sits horizontally on top of your component, with two fans to draw the heat up. I don't have one (have a cooled rack), but it seems like the right tool.
waltie's Avatar waltie
11:26 AM Liked: 10
post #724 of 1156
11-15-2012 | Posts: 191
Joined: Aug 2008
I thank you so much cableBandit and rplotkin for the information. I ordered the Thermaltake.
lorneth1's Avatar lorneth1
06:51 PM Liked: 10
post #725 of 1156
11-15-2012 | Posts: 94
Joined: Aug 2008
Used TX-NR3010 at amazon for a good price. Is it safe to buy or should I wait a bit longer?
TazExprez's Avatar TazExprez
10:28 PM Liked: 11
post #726 of 1156
11-15-2012 | Posts: 817
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorneth1 View Post

Used TX-NR3010 at amazon for a good price. Is it safe to buy or should I wait a bit longer?

I remember JoeRod mentioning that he bought a NR5009 from Amazon Warehouse Deals. He wrote that it was brand new, but I think he also stated that the box it came in was roughed up. I called OneCall about the open box NR3010 that they are selling and they told me that the box was roughed up, so they opened it up to make sure that none of the content was damaged. I guess some of these open box and used items might just come in a box that was somewhat damaged during shipping to the store. It's really up to you if you want to take a chance. Btw, the OneCall NR3010 has the full manufacturer's warranty, and it's also listed on the Amazon website, for slightly more than the Amazon Warehouse Deals one.
lorneth1's Avatar lorneth1
11:26 PM Liked: 10
post #727 of 1156
11-15-2012 | Posts: 94
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TazExprez View Post

I remember JoeRod mentioning that he bought a NR5009 from Amazon Warehouse Deals. He wrote that it was brand new, but I think he also stated that the box it came in was roughed up. I called OneCall about the open box NR3010 that they are selling and they told me that the box was roughed up, so they opened it up to make sure that none of the content was damaged. I guess some of these open box and used items might just come in a box that was somewhat damaged during shipping to the store. It's really up to you if you want to take a chance. Btw, the OneCall NR3010 has the full manufacturer's warranty, and it's also listed on the Amazon website, for slightly more than the Amazon Warehouse Deals one.

Yeah, I stumbled on that thread as well and I thought he got lucky. My concern is after the 30 day policy if the system decided to crap out you know? I did a chat with OneCall and they wouldn't budge on the price
either and that's the difference, they have the full warranty regardless of its status as long as you bought from them. I just think that's a really good price but might come with issues.....still on the fence....Thanks for the input.
joerod's Avatar joerod
02:14 AM Liked: 123
post #728 of 1156
11-16-2012 | Posts: 22,185
Joined: Nov 2002
Usually if there is an issue with a warehouse deal it happens the first few minutes you turn it on. smile.gif
RocShemp's Avatar RocShemp
06:59 PM Liked: 13
post #729 of 1156
11-16-2012 | Posts: 667
Joined: Nov 2001
I got my replacement mic (thanks, joerod) and gave it a go. It worked like a charm (towers set to 40 Hz, center to 50 Hz, and surrounds to 60 Hz). Also, it did a better job of equalizing the sound than the mic that came with my 705. The receiver has never sounded better.

Now I've finally been able to get good results using other features such as Audyssey Dynamic Volume. It's really come in handy that certain tweaks like the reference level can be adjusted per input rather than globally on the 5010.
Turboo2u's Avatar Turboo2u
09:23 PM Liked: 14
post #730 of 1156
11-16-2012 | Posts: 169
Joined: Apr 2008
Thanx but that was for YAMAHA receivers.
waltie's Avatar waltie
02:06 AM Liked: 10
post #731 of 1156
11-17-2012 | Posts: 191
Joined: Aug 2008
I was completely mistaken about the problem in my RN 5010. The technician made a lot of tests and discovered that the issue was in the internal central channel. He took the receiver and my central speaker, because he thinks it may be the origin of the fault. What is weird is when he tried the central speaker alone, plugging it in the place of the front speaker. it played without any noise. What are the possible causes for an issue with an internal channel? Thanks for the information.
rplotkin's Avatar rplotkin
08:26 PM Liked: 10
post #732 of 1156
11-18-2012 | Posts: 206
Joined: Jul 2002
Not positive with the Thermaltake fan, but it looks like you'll want to turn it upside down (b/c it's made for a laptop to sit on top of it).
waltie's Avatar waltie
01:26 PM Liked: 10
post #733 of 1156
11-19-2012 | Posts: 191
Joined: Aug 2008
My receiver is placed in a rack with plenty of space above and sideways. The cooler will serve to cut short the high temperature of the Onkyo, placing the cooler on top of it, as it was suggested.
turnne1's Avatar turnne1
06:36 PM Liked: 185
post #734 of 1156
11-19-2012 | Posts: 4,260
Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Usually if there is an issue with a warehouse deal it happens the first few minutes you turn it on. smile.gif

you hope it does

does these "warehouse" deals come with an Onkyo factory warranty?

If not...there would have to be a HUGE discount for me to buy an Onkyo without a warranty



Warren
turnne1's Avatar turnne1
06:39 PM Liked: 185
post #735 of 1156
11-19-2012 | Posts: 4,260
Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltie View Post

My receiver is placed in a rack with plenty of space above and sideways. The cooler will serve to cut short the high temperature of the Onkyo, placing the cooler on top of it, as it was suggested.

high temperature of the Onkyo?

Wasnt there talk here that these new units dont run like last years( or years prior)?

why do you need a fan?

I have a 5009 and have had several others in the past..875..905....some of the old could fry an egg...lol

I havent used the 5009 enough to know...however I can say its gets a lot hotter than the Yamaha A2000 it replaced


Warren
waltie's Avatar waltie
07:37 AM Liked: 10
post #736 of 1156
11-20-2012 | Posts: 191
Joined: Aug 2008
I think the 5009 run as hot as the 5010, because, from what I read here, the main difference between them is the support for 11.2 speakers. But I had receivers as Yamaha and Denon before and they don't get as hot as the Onkyo. I had an issue with mine, as I told in my last post, and don't know if it's related to the heat. That's why I'm going to use the external fan.
turnne1's Avatar turnne1
04:11 PM Liked: 185
post #737 of 1156
11-20-2012 | Posts: 4,260
Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltie View Post

I think the 5009 run as hot as the 5010, because, from what I read here, the main difference between them is the support for 11.2 speakers. But I had receivers as Yamaha and Denon before and they don't get as hot as the Onkyo. I had an issue with mine, as I told in my last post, and don't know if it's related to the heat. That's why I'm going to use the external fan.

I agree with you

The Onkyos run hotter than any other receivers I have had as well

But there was a couple of people earlier in this thread that swore that the 5010 was a "changed" product

I question that..frankly


Warren
Lepus's Avatar Lepus
06:50 PM Liked: 11
post #738 of 1156
11-21-2012 | Posts: 131
Joined: Aug 2012
Anyone run into this issue before on a 3010. Have 7.1 surround sound setup, F L C SL SR SBL SBR and have zone 2. In the setup Zone 2 is set for yes, and Zone 3 set for no. If I play music over Zone 2, the receiver resets itself and powers down. I have to press the on button on front of the receiver itself to bring it back online, and a message on the screen of the AVR say Chk Spkr Wire. Now the 7.1 has no issues that I have detected. So to rule out that it is a poor wiring issue I take the wires connected to my left an right, and hook them up to speakers going for Zone 2. Same problem reset and power down. If I take my left and right channel and feed my Zone 2 speakers I have no issues, only when Zone 2 is actually connected. I used Oremote and Onkyo remote for Android and this is how I discovered it after the programs were non-responsive. Any thoughts?
turnne1's Avatar turnne1
08:29 PM Liked: 185
post #739 of 1156
11-21-2012 | Posts: 4,260
Joined: Nov 2008
maybe just unhook the wires..and the re connect and see if you get the same issue

I had this issue on an Onkyo years ago and the wires..I think ..was touching the other one



Warren
RocShemp's Avatar RocShemp
05:05 AM Liked: 13
post #740 of 1156
11-24-2012 | Posts: 667
Joined: Nov 2001
Now that my mic woes are out of the way. I have a question on the picture adjustments. Most of the stuff is self explanatory but what patterns can I use to take advantage of the color brightness and color contrast settings? Will the patterns on AVS HD 709 do the trick?
Lepus's Avatar Lepus
06:45 AM Liked: 11
post #741 of 1156
11-27-2012 | Posts: 131
Joined: Aug 2012
Thanks Warren, an update happened at the same time, and I did rehook up all my wires. Problem seems to have disappeared.
waltie's Avatar waltie
09:08 AM Liked: 10
post #742 of 1156
12-06-2012 | Posts: 191
Joined: Aug 2008
Fortunately the issue with my Onkyo was minor and the unit is back to work. I placed the notebook's cooler on top of it, in reverse, and the temperature of the receiver definitely came down. Hope it keeps on for a long, long time.
michaelscott73's Avatar michaelscott73
07:03 AM Liked: 10
post #743 of 1156
12-12-2012 | Posts: 295
Joined: Jan 2003
I believe I found my answer, but just to clarify. The wides must be run with an external amp, and the internal amps are always hot, so I can run a 7 channel amp to power the front, heights, and wides, and internal for sides and rear?
nismo604's Avatar nismo604
10:28 PM Liked: 18
post #744 of 1156
12-12-2012 | Posts: 458
Joined: Feb 2007
A review of the 3010 by Home Theater Magazine.
http://www.hometheater.com/content/onkyo-tx-nr3010-av-receiver
lorneth1's Avatar lorneth1
11:42 PM Liked: 10
post #745 of 1156
12-12-2012 | Posts: 94
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnne1 View Post

you hope it does
does these "warehouse" deals come with an Onkyo factory warranty?
If not...there would have to be a HUGE discount for me to buy an Onkyo without a warranty
Warren

I don't think I want to drop over 1k w/ no factory warranty. Plus some of these Onkyo's issue doesn't show until a few months of use. Just hard to take a gamble...
lorneth1's Avatar lorneth1
11:44 PM Liked: 10
post #746 of 1156
12-12-2012 | Posts: 94
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Usually if there is an issue with a warehouse deal it happens the first few minutes you turn it on. smile.gif

That would be nice if it does but if it happens after a few months then i'm screwed...eek.gif
lorneth1's Avatar lorneth1
11:58 PM Liked: 10
post #747 of 1156
12-12-2012 | Posts: 94
Joined: Aug 2008
I know this is the 3010/5010 thread but I'm on the fence about upgrading right now between the 1010 and 3010. Is there a substantial increase in difference between the two? I can get the 3010 for about $600 off while the 1010 is $400 off from their msrp. Any help is appreciated.
michaelscott73's Avatar michaelscott73
10:25 AM Liked: 10
post #748 of 1156
12-13-2012 | Posts: 295
Joined: Jan 2003
I know there is no amp assign function, but can the 3010 be used in 11.2 mode using external amplification...and at the same time control a second zone with a 2 channel amp using pre outs?
cybrsage's Avatar cybrsage
09:28 AM Liked: 152
post #749 of 1156
12-18-2012 | Posts: 8,074
Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lorneth1 View Post

I know this is the 3010/5010 thread but I'm on the fence about upgrading right now between the 1010 and 3010. Is there a substantial increase in difference between the two? I can get the 3010 for about $600 off while the 1010 is $400 off from their msrp. Any help is appreciated.

How many channels are you going to use? If you want 9.x and do not want to use an external amp then you need to get the 3010. If you are stopping at 7.x or lower, get the 1010.
cybrsage's Avatar cybrsage
01:50 PM Liked: 152
post #750 of 1156
12-26-2012 | Posts: 8,074
Joined: May 2007
Just a note saying my 3010 is running and his having no problems at all. smile.gif

Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3