TX-NR3010 / 5010 Info - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1097 Old 05-12-2014, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post

Sorry, no bi-amp, no Zones.....
When i am back at home i will do Audyssey again, Audyssey did do a strange thing with the setup to let the Front Right play very loud, hope its a Audyssey mistake.
For now i play without the Font High, find this a bit better to listen to then with FH, but i had a lot of problems instaling them so i do want to use them......wink.gif
What is your opinion about FH use ?

Thx
Too bad, bi-amping would have explained it since it probably outputs sound for both "Front Left" and the
"Front High Left" at the same time so that they together reaches 75dB.
Could you double check the settings: "Speaker Settings->Speakers Type (Front A)" that is not "Bi-Amp"?
And that your speaker cables are connected correctly?
I don't think Audyssey is the cause of this.

I use a 9.1 setup with Front High and Surround Back. I couldn't fit Front Wide.
Front High with DSX add extra height to the sound image but it is not a night and day difference.
rickardl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1097 Old 05-12-2014, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post

Too bad, bi-amping would have explained it since it probably outputs sound for both "Front Left" and the
"Front High Left" at the same time so that they together reaches 75dB.
Could you double check the settings: "Speaker Settings->Speakers Type (Front A)" that is not "Bi-Amp"?
And that your speaker cables are connected correctly?
I don't think Audyssey is the cause of this.

I use a 9.1 setup with Front High and Surround Back. I couldn't fit Front Wide.
Front High with DSX add extra height to the sound image but it is not a night and day difference.

When i am at home end of the week i will re-check the settings, cables are 100% correct, it did work before my last Audyssey setup.

Indeed it is not a big difference, i do find without that i have more a "natural" sound.
Also DSX is limiting some options like Dolby Center Width.
If i can not get it to work i could sell the 5010 and get a 7.1 Onkyo, its useless to use a 9.x receiver as 7.x........
CBdicX is offline  
post #1083 of 1097 Old 05-17-2014, 11:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post

Too bad, bi-amping would have explained it since it probably outputs sound for both "Front Left" and the
"Front High Left" at the same time so that they together reaches 75dB.
Could you double check the settings: "Speaker Settings->Speakers Type (Front A)" that is not "Bi-Amp"?
And that your speaker cables are connected correctly?
I don't think Audyssey is the cause of this.

I use a 9.1 setup with Front High and Surround Back. I couldn't fit Front Wide.
Front High with DSX add extra height to the sound image but it is not a night and day difference.

Did a "clear" of the 5010 (SBL/SAT + STB) and problem solved :-)
Thx for the help !
CBdicX is offline  
post #1084 of 1097 Old 05-18-2014, 12:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have a new question, maybe a bit strange but here goes:

Is the signal from the 2 HDMI out on the 5010 a signal that can be compared like the signal of a BD player or any other HDMI signal ?
I mean, can this signal be used for a HDMI input on a other receiver ?

I have a second receiver (Marantz 7007, sorry ......wink.gif ) and i want to use the HDMI signal from the Onkyo and connect this to a HDMI input on the Marantz, is this possible, will the HDMI out signal on the Onkyo have all the 7.1 audio signals i want to use on the Marantz as a HDMI input ?
(no picture needit)

Could i use HDMI Main and SUB to do this, so i still van use HDMI MAIN for picture to the TV, and HDMI SUB (Onkyo set to BOTH) to route the audio to the Marantz ?

Please do not ask why, i have a headache from my wife that sees 2 receivers now........ wink.gif

Thx......

PS. i could just try it but i do not want to "kill" the Onkyo or Marantz with trying....
CBdicX is offline  
post #1085 of 1097 Old 05-18-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Most components that have HDMI out (besides video processors from Lumagen or DVDO) only pass stereo out of their HDMI outs. They do make some 1X2 HDMI splitters (just double check the specs)which you could use for your mission.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #1086 of 1097 Old 06-10-2014, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Anderson View Post

Talked to Onkyo today. They're sending me a new mic for the 3010. Sadly, they're also trying to crawfish on the HDMI board repair for the 1007, so I have to dig my original receipt out of the attic and go at them again. Good thing I bought the 3010 or I'd still be waiting on Onkyo to decide whether they'll fix my 1007 or not.

3010 related question: What's the best video mode to use to pass the signal unaltered and with the least delay? I had tried GAME mode with my Xbox 360, but unfortunately, if it does remove the delay, it also changes the white levels for no apparent reason. I'm thinking that THROUGH is the best option here to minimize processing delays, since I have no use for the video processing in the 3010. My Epson 8500UB already has the Qdeo chipset, and I'd prefer the AVR just pass the unadulterated signal. Also saw an option for DIRECT, but... what's the difference between that and THROUGH?

I know that this is an old post but I was curious if you ever got your 1007 repaired? I am also curious as to your thoughts on the 3010 vs the 1007? My 1007 just went silent again. I had the board replaced over 2 years ago by Onkyo and I still have a 606 as a back up, but I am departing on another repair or replacing the 1007 with the 3010. Is the consensus that the board problems are fixed or am I in for more of the same? I am frustrated but I like the Onkyo sound the best. I tried a Denon the last time and was not impressed with the sound. Even my wife noticed the difference.
badgerpilot is offline  
post #1087 of 1097 Old 06-10-2014, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeremy Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by badgerpilot View Post

I know that this is an old post but I was curious if you ever got your 1007 repaired? I am also curious as to your thoughts on the 3010 vs the 1007? My 1007 just went silent again. I had the board replaced over 2 years ago by Onkyo and I still have a 606 as a back up, but I am departing on another repair or replacing the 1007 with the 3010. Is the consensus that the board problems are fixed or am I in for more of the same? I am frustrated but I like the Onkyo sound the best. I tried a Denon the last time and was not impressed with the sound. Even my wife noticed the difference.
I did get the 1007 repaired and sold it, and the new owner seems very happy with it. The 3010 doesn't seem to have the board problem from what I've seen and mine has been rock solid. I am VERY impressed with the sound compared to the 1007. Not sure if that's due to Audyssey MultEQ XT32 or if the receiver just generally sounds better, but it does sound better. It wasn't underpowered in any way, but I'm running it with an Emotiva XPA-3 for my front 3 and am pleased with it. The 3010 is definitely a nice bump up from the 1007.

"Never believe any quote you read on the internet." - Abraham Lincoln
Jeremy Anderson is offline  
post #1088 of 1097 Old 06-10-2014, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Anderson View Post

I did get the 1007 repaired and sold it, and the new owner seems very happy with it. The 3010 doesn't seem to have the board problem from what I've seen and mine has been rock solid. I am VERY impressed with the sound compared to the 1007. Not sure if that's due to Audyssey MultEQ XT32 or if the receiver just generally sounds better, but it does sound better. It wasn't underpowered in any way, but I'm running it with an Emotiva XPA-3 for my front 3 and am pleased with it. The 3010 is definitely a nice bump up from the 1007.

Great, thanks for the quick reply! I think I am going to bite the bullet and get the 3010 and then try to get the 1007 repaired and sold like you did.

Edit: I ordered the 3010, should be here Thursday.
badgerpilot is offline  
post #1089 of 1097 Old 06-10-2014, 06:33 PM
Member
 
ntculenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
you should be happy with the 3010. Had mine now for a little over a year and smile every time it turns on.

ntculenuf is offline  
post #1090 of 1097 Old 06-10-2014, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Glad to hear! Ever since I had the 1007 repaired, I always wondered, is today the day it's going to quit again?
badgerpilot is offline  
post #1091 of 1097 Old 06-25-2014, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
PannyMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey folks ! I'm looking to upgrade my TX-NR906 and was curious about whether or not
the 3010 will be upgraded anytime soon. Does anyone have any good news or rumors
as to when Onkyo plans to do the upgrade ?

Was also wondering if there are any widespread reports of HDMI board failure on
the 3010. Hopefully that's not the case.

Thanks Guys !

I think, therefore I am single.
PannyMann is offline  
post #1092 of 1097 Old 06-26-2014, 04:54 AM
Member
 
ntculenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Coming Soon TX-NR3030

Dolby Atmos Comes Home in New Onkyo AVRs, Pre/Pro

I have had my 3010 for 1.5 years and no problems, just smiles when i hear it turn on

ntculenuf is offline  
post #1093 of 1097 Old 06-26-2014, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
scoombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Baltimore/Washington Corridor
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntculenuf View Post
Coming Soon TX-NR3030

Dolby Atmos Comes Home in New Onkyo AVRs, Pre/Pro

I have had my 3010 for 1.5 years and no problems, just smiles when i hear it turn on

Maybe the 5030(?) will have full 18Gbps and 4:4:4 support.
scoombs is offline  
post #1094 of 1097 Old 06-26-2014, 07:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeekingNirvana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Santa Cruz California
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 69
This is a cross post.....I posted in the 3009 thread also

Is there a way to add a delay to zone 3?
I have some Klipsch AW-650 speakers in my back yard and when I'm in my kitchen (in between backyard and living room) there is a very obvious delay in sound. I would like to make the living room and backyard sound the same while playing music.
SeekingNirvana is offline  
post #1095 of 1097 Old 06-27-2014, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
PannyMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntculenuf View Post
Coming Soon TX-NR3030

Dolby Atmos Comes Home in New Onkyo AVRs, Pre/Pro

I have had my 3010 for 1.5 years and no problems, just smiles when i hear it turn on
Thanks for the info on the 3030 and your reliability experience with the 3010.

I think I would choose in over the 3030 based on what seems to be an in house
rigged up (cheapo) room correction scheme. I'd rather have Audyssey thank you very much.
Jeremy Anderson likes this.

I think, therefore I am single.
PannyMann is offline  
post #1096 of 1097 Old 06-29-2014, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
bigwoof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did anyone else get a firmware upgrade, for their TX-NR3010, to an unknown firmware version?

I was offered an upgrade two days ago (and took it). The firmware version is

1070-4103-0100-0000

which is not quite as "new" as the current newest firmware on the onkyo website (based on the 2nd set of digits)

1070-7103-0200-0000

but not as old as the version needed to upgrade to the latest version on the web

1040-3102-0100-0000

Anyone know anything about the firmware that was offered? A google search returns nothing

Thanks,

Raj
bigwoof is offline  
post #1097 of 1097 Old 06-30-2014, 01:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi, would the 5010 (the model i have) be a "good" Stereo amp also, or are these machines just made to do surround ?
I would like to start using the 5010 as a stereo amp (bi-amp mode) and use if needit all the "tricks" it has over a dedicated analog stereo amp.


I do not want to stop using the 5010, just want to stop using surround, it makes me never stop playing with the setting and it seems i never can get it to work for me...... :-(
I do need 3 x optical IN (sound from BD player, Media player and a TV box) and vTuner Intenet radio.


Or will a get a better stereo sound using a dedicated stereo amp on the 5010 pre-out and let the stereo amp run the fronts ?
(5010 set to Direct audio mode, so no sound handeling from the 5010)


Thx......
CBdicX is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off