TX-NR3010 / 5010 Info - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1147 Old 07-23-2012, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
If you remove the jumpers on the back of your speaker, you are disconnecting the tweeter branch from the woofer branch in case of a two-way system.
You are not removing the crossover parts of the individual branches in front of the drivers, or your speaker would not have functioned the way it should before.
As such a digital crossover would only make sense if you had access to the individual drivers directly (without crossover) of your speaker system.
Standard speaker systems available don't do that and as such biamping is only of very limited usefullness in this context.
It's just a feature to lure potential buyers without much usefullness.
Look at *real* bi- or multiamped speaker systems available and you know why.
gurkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1147 Old 07-24-2012, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 20

It's interesting that other than OnkyoUSA, none of the authorized online dealers have these listed for preorder even though they are slated to be released within the next 7 days.

jlanzy is offline  
post #183 of 1147 Old 07-24-2012, 09:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlanzy View Post

It's interesting that other than OnkyoUSA, none of the authorized online dealers have these listed for preorder even though they are slated to be released within the next 7 days.

They just had a new firmware released. That's a good sign.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #184 of 1147 Old 07-24-2012, 10:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

They just had a new firmware released. That's a good sign.


Lets hope so. The problem I'm having with my 886 is getting worse, and I need the 5010 to replace it asap!


John
John Clark is offline  
post #185 of 1147 Old 07-25-2012, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Amazon also has the 3010 listed at 1-3 months

william06 is offline  
post #186 of 1147 Old 07-25-2012, 06:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Amazon always does that when it is day to day. smile.gif

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #187 of 1147 Old 07-25-2012, 01:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I am working on my comparison this weekend. Arms are ready. eek.gif

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #188 of 1147 Old 07-25-2012, 10:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Amazon always does that when it is day to day. smile.gif


And Onkyo's press announcement said they would be available in July, and they have not gone back on that statement. So, it should be any day.


John
John Clark is offline  
post #189 of 1147 Old 07-26-2012, 10:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stylz25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What would you guys say is a good price to pay for the 5010 here in Canada? I got some pricing and wondering if its a good deal when they are ready to purchase! And would going from my current 807 to the 5010 be worth the $ for the upgrade?????????
Stylz25 is offline  
post #190 of 1147 Old 07-27-2012, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stylz25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stylz25 View Post

What would you guys say is a good price to pay for the 5010 here in Canada? I got some pricing and wondering if its a good deal when they are ready to purchase! And would going from my current 807 to the 5010 be worth the $ for the upgrade?????????

Anyone?
Stylz25 is offline  
post #191 of 1147 Old 07-27-2012, 02:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
It's too hard to guess where US pricing is going to street at this point. Same for Canada.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #192 of 1147 Old 07-28-2012, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stylz25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

It's too hard to guess where US pricing is going to street at this point. Same for Canada.

Hope your review comes out soon on the new Onkyo's!! You think it would be worth the $ to upgrade to say the 5010 from my current 807?? I can get a pretty good deal on the 5010 and 3010 just wondering if the 5010 is also worth say about $400 more to get over the 3010? Thanks!!
Stylz25 is offline  
post #193 of 1147 Old 07-28-2012, 04:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stylz25 View Post

Hope your review comes out soon on the new Onkyo's!! You think it would be worth the $ to upgrade to say the 5010 from my current 807?? I can get a pretty good deal on the 5010 and 3010 just wondering if the 5010 is also worth say about $400 more to get over the 3010? Thanks!!

Working on it now! On a slight break ad resting my back! eek.gifbiggrin.gif

I am not sure how much you are talking. You may want to pm me since they frown on price talk in the threads.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #194 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 10:50 AM
Member
 
cablebandit3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
i had a faulty 3007..repaired 3 times and ready for a 4th repair. I JUST got my replacement..was supposed to be a 3009 but no its a 3010! woohoo
cablebandit3 is offline  
post #195 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 11:12 AM
Member
 
JohnRockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've also had my eye on the xx10 models.

Came across this site with a nice review of the 1010, dated 7-26.

It's written in German but some great pics of the internals anyway. Nice close up pic of the 18,000 uF caps, etc.

http://www.areadvd.de/hardware/2012/onkyo_tx_nr1010.shtml


Edit : Just noticed the thread title doesn't include the 1010. So sowwy. Nice pics nonetheless.
JohnRockets is offline  
post #196 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit3 View Post

i had a faulty 3007..repaired 3 times and ready for a 4th repair. I JUST got my replacement..was supposed to be a 3009 but no its a 3010! woohoo

Congratulations!  After that painful ordeal with the 3007, you certainly deserve it.

Hopefully the xx10 series quality control and reliability are far better than recent model years.

.

jlanzy is offline  
post #197 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 11:27 AM
Member
 
cablebandit3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
so far on Bass I Love You with my klipsch KLF-30s bi amped in Pure Mode the 3010 has some ass. I am about to hook up everything and get her set up. I wanted to see if this thing had enpugh ass to eliminate my outboard amp....and it does. Im psyched!! Any questions? Ill be checking back often as the manual comes on a cd.

I have the fronts bi-amped....center...rear l/r and front wide...2 subs....downloading a new firmware now over ethernet cable which it configured without me giving any attention to it....just plugged in the cable. it downloaded in about 2 minutes and is now "vsp writing" which looks like it will take awile...it said up to 60 minutes. At 6 minutes its up to 16% and slooooowly climbing.

update: firmware took 43 minutes to do the "VSP writing"

update: it took 5 minutes to do the "vmpu writing"
now it's "downloading" something else I guess?

Update: if finished "downloading" in about 3 minutes and then started "ARM writing" which took 2 minuites
now it's "MMPU writing"

Update:"MMPU writing" took about 3 minutes and it says "Completed!"
total time once i hit UPDATE was 55 minutes.

just like the 3009 you cant bi-amp and have front wide and/or front high speakers so Im running my speakers normal and using front wide ...audysee is doing its thing.
cablebandit3 is offline  
post #198 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 06:44 PM
Member
 
cablebandit3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
1.5 hrs into a movie i hear a hum and then the speakers fade out...no sound. I am LIVID at this point. WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cablebandit3 is offline  
post #199 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 06:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
The 3010 I have here has worked flawlessly. You sure you have it hooked up correctly?

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #200 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 07:36 PM
Member
 
cablebandit3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
its worked for 6 hours. then we got into a movie and 1.5 hours in in made that weird hum....like electrical current and the sound faded out. all the hdmi picture works works and it will pass thru sound to the tv. reset it....blah blah blah...not my first rodeo with onkyo. when you turn the volume either way it makes a sort of pulsing noise thru all 3 front speakers until you stop turning the volume. the pulsing is the same loudness no matter the volume level. uuuugghhhhhhh
cablebandit3 is offline  
post #201 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 08:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit3 View Post

its worked for 6 hours. then we got into a movie and 1.5 hours in in made that weird hum....like electrical current and the sound faded out. all the hdmi picture works works and it will pass thru sound to the tv. reset it....blah blah blah...not my first rodeo with onkyo. when you turn the volume either way it makes a sort of pulsing noise thru all 3 front speakers until you stop turning the volume. the pulsing is the same loudness no matter the volume level. uuuugghhhhhhh

Don't bi amp it and see if that makes it run fine. I suspect it is an issue with that configuration.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #202 of 1147 Old 07-30-2012, 08:44 PM
Member
 
cablebandit3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
it is not biamped. something is defective with it. It sounded so good too...3d worked frown.gif Ill call onkyo tomorrow. I still get all the icons for the speakers....prolly a preamp prob
cablebandit3 is offline  
post #203 of 1147 Old 07-31-2012, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
jlanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit3 View Post

its worked for 6 hours. then we got into a movie and 1.5 hours in in made that weird hum....like electrical current and the sound faded out. all the hdmi picture works works and it will pass thru sound to the tv. reset it....blah blah blah...not my first rodeo with onkyo. when you turn the volume either way it makes a sort of pulsing noise thru all 3 front speakers until you stop turning the volume. the pulsing is the same loudness no matter the volume level. uuuugghhhhhhh

 

Uh oh, this is making the new Denons look better each day!

jlanzy is offline  
post #204 of 1147 Old 07-31-2012, 06:50 AM
Member
 
cablebandit3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
it must be an amp issue as it doesnt get sound out of the headphone port either. Im truly shocked at this point
cablebandit3 is offline  
post #205 of 1147 Old 07-31-2012, 11:55 AM
Member
 
JohnRockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We should have some more feedback on 3010's and some 5010's soon. It looks like they are starting to ship this week.

I hope they fare better than the x1x models.
JohnRockets is offline  
post #206 of 1147 Old 07-31-2012, 03:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlanzy View Post

Uh oh, this is making the new Denons look better each day!

Really? One possible defect?

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #207 of 1147 Old 07-31-2012, 04:10 PM
Member
 
cablebandit3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
yeah the HDMI stuff still works...3d and all. They are sending me a new one. At least they arent hassling me. It sounded good when it was working.
cablebandit3 is offline  
post #208 of 1147 Old 07-31-2012, 04:57 PM
Member
 
6sj7gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Really? One possible defect?
Yes, one defect among all those who have reported on using a 3010 thus far.
6sj7gt is offline  
post #209 of 1147 Old 07-31-2012, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
jlanzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlanzy View Post

 

Uh oh, this is making the new Denons look better each day!

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post


Really? One possible defect?

 

Well, when he was about to send back his 3007 for the 4th time, and they honor him with a 3010 replacement, you'd think they would have actually tested the specific unit before sending it off as a replacement to be sure this one wasn't going to boomerang back.  Imagine if you bought a new car that repeatedly failed and finally the dealer relented and let you  trade in at no cost and gave you the newest model only to be called 3 hrs later broken down on the side of the road waiting for tow truck!!  Do you think that you'd be buying your next model from the same make?  You'd think they would be a little more cautious with their quality control considering the recent year models problems.  It just doesn't really help when one of the first reports on the new model is a brick, not at these prices and not with the recent problems they had. Every brand out there has some issues and it could easily be the first off the assembly line or the 5000th, but again with the recent years problems stepping up to the quality control plate would seem to have been a priority if you want customer loyality.  Trust me, I love my 805, and the 3010/5010 has everything I want in an upgrade, but I don't want headaches either. 

jlanzy is offline  
post #210 of 1147 Old 07-31-2012, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
TazExprez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
J&R now has the 1010, 3010, and 5010 in stock.

HD-A1 + XBOX Add-On + PS3 = Format Neutral
TazExprez is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off