Test Tones - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
merpud1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Onkyo 706 Receiver and would like to run the test tones
through all of the speakers as a stand-alone test without having
to run through the calibration/setup process. Is that possible and
how would I do it?

Reason: No sound is coming out of rear center speaker. It used to
but I had to disconnect it during the Holidays and now I do not get
any audio from it and I want to be able to run the test tones.

Many Thanks for any information..
merpud1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 06:43 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,273
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1406 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
Did you reconnect it to the Surr Back (L) speaker posts as required? Otherwise check for a "Level Calibration" section in the Owner's manual.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
hakstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jax, FL.
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Check to see it is selected/on in setup. Maybe you disabled it when disconnected.

hakstone is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
merpud1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the information.
The wires were reconnected.
I will do a calibration check for that speaker.

Is it possible to send the test tones through the
speakers without doing anything else?

Thanks
merpud1 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
merpud1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe it did get disabled. That's a good thought.

I'll check.
Many Thanks...!!!!
merpud1 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-28-2012, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
hakstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jax, FL.
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by merpud1 View Post

Is it possible to send the test tones through the
speakers without doing anything else?
Thanks

Most receivers have a speaker identification test pattern.
Go into 'speaker setup, then 'calibration'.

hakstone is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off