Denon AVP-A1HDCI Creating a 1024p Sat Input - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
robert5545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to create a 1024p input for Direct TV so I do not have to keep going into the menu to set the 1024p switch when viewing a 1024p Film.

So I tried to use a empty DVR input assigning the HDMI connection to that Input so I could select an Input for Normat Direct TV Sat viewing, and an Input when I wanted to watch 1024p Direct TV Movies.

I was surprised when the AVP would not allow me to assign the HDMI connection to two inputs. It turned off one input when assigning to the other.

Why it is doing this?

How does one create two inputs for different video resolutions from the same connection?

Thanks
robert5545 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 10:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
You cannot assign 1 HDMI source to two different input names as you learned, rather you would want to use a Quick Select setting for the 1080p/24hz video.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
robert5545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for replying. I looked at that and did see where Quick Select lets me change the video resolution.

At least in the Info Menu it does not show the Video information.

So I have the AVP setup to view 1024p, that is, with the video convert off, it will store that in a Quick Select.

And with Video Convert on you can store that in another Quick Select.

Is that right?

Thanks
robert5545 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 11:34 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Yes.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
robert5545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried Quick Select to store the video convert information and it does not do that.

So any ideas on how to create an input for 1024p, and one for auto?
robert5545 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
robert5545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i don't think it can be done with this AVP.

That's to bad because it should be doable.

Thanks
robert5545 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 01:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
It's actually either 1080p/24 or 1080p/60. With the "Resolution" set to "AUTO" what does the AVR pass when other than a 1080p/24 signal is received? And when a 1080p/24 signal is received? You can always just change the Resolution setting manually via the menu or store the set of keys required (ie. macro) to effect that change via a "System Call" button.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
robert5545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When Direct TV plays a 1024p source with the receiver set to AUTO it is viewed in 1080p/60. When you want to view a 1024p source from Direct TV or Bluray Turn Off Video Conversion or set the AVP to 1024p.

With Bluray it is easy because it has a separate HDMI can leave Video Conversion Off and use Direct.

The AVP H to H will not up convert to 1080p/24,

I tried to use the System Call features of the remote and it will not register the Video Select Menu, no way to get it into the Memory Stream.

I appreciate your help, but I guess the only way to do this is how I have been doing it. Either using the front panel to turn on 1024p, or the Menu to Turn Off conversion.

It seems to me this should be doable for such an High End AVP.

Thanks
robert5545 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 03:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,831
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
You also have the option of using an HDMI splitter to split the DTV signal to each of two inputs, one set to "AUTO" and the other set to "1080p/24".

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off