Replacing HDMI Capacitors on Onkyo 605 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-15-2012, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DevonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I found a video on how to change some 100uf 4v capacitors on an Onkyo 606 to solve the exact problem I'm having. The symptoms were: green/colored bars flashing across the bottom half of the screen for the first 10+ minutes after truning everything on. When I changed projectors, I had no picture at all until the AVR "warmed up" for 10 minutes or more. Now, I get nothing, period, which is why I'm at this point.

The video is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gj0x5S9ez5U

The problem is, I have a 605 which only has 2 HDMI inputs, not 5. I have no idea which capacitors to replace on this board. I'll probably go ahead and change all the 100uf caps (about 9) since they're cheap, but this could take a while since they're tinny fiddly things. Does anyone know the schematics of these two models and which ones were replaced in the video and which ones should be replaced on the 605 board? I'll post back with the results of my major surgery.

Built on a tight budget: The Cheap Seats Cinema
DevonS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-15-2012, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
general rule of thumb about replacing caps, dont do 1, do all of them. The last thing you need is for a different cap to blow, requiring you to disconnect everything, reopen and re-solder.
RonAlam is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 04:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Here's another tip...replace them with highest temperature and voltage rating that will fit. Once you figure out the physical size (footprint), find a replacement with these upgraded specs. Two things affect cap life...charge voltage and ambient temperature.

bg
garciab is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DevonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
well, these are all surface mount caps and there appears to be lots of room around the board (top and bottom). how big should/could I go without being stupid?

Built on a tight budget: The Cheap Seats Cinema
DevonS is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I followed that video to repair my HT-R960, and it worked just fine. I bought the capacitors at Radio Shack.

100uf 35v electrolytic capacitors from Radio Shack (P/N 272-1028) for $1.29

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 42
make sure they are rated for 105 degrees c... the radio shack ones are 85 degrees, same as the OEM. Otherwise you will repeating the process down the road... Get the right parts and do it only once.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DevonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I picked up some 100uf 50v from a local electronics shop for .65 each. Rated for 105 C. Fingers crossed!

Built on a tight budget: The Cheap Seats Cinema
DevonS is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post

make sure they are rated for 105 degrees c... the radio shack ones are 85 degrees, same as the OEM. Otherwise you will repeating the process down the road... Get the right parts and do it only once.

It's rated to -40 to +85 Celsius, which is equivalent to 185 Fahrenheit. I haven't had any issues since I did the replacement almost 1 year ago. If it happens again, I will have an excellent excuse to get a new one biggrin.gif

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DevonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Failure. frown.gif way too impatient and rammy for this delicate work. The first one I tried to remove ended tearing the board. Nothing to solder to = busted ass sh!t. Guess I'm buying a new receiver.

Built on a tight budget: The Cheap Seats Cinema
DevonS is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevonS View Post

Failure. frown.gif way too impatient and rammy for this delicate work. The first one I tried to remove ended tearing the board. Nothing to solder to = busted ass sh!t. Guess I'm buying a new receiver.

Well, at least you can buy a better AVR. It only took me 10 min. to do this, but then again I've done things like this before so it helped.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-04-2013, 07:18 AM
Newbie
 
wpuvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Worked. Replaced all 10 on mine with Mouser 10V 100uf (Mouser P/N 661-PSA10VB100M) and all works again.

 

THANKS TO ALL !!!!

RonAlam likes this.
wpuvy is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr605 Receiver
Gear in this thread - Sr605 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off