XBOX 360 Connected using component cables - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
slt780's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an XBOX 360 connected to my vsx-1121 using a component cable. For some reason I can't get the XBOX to display in 1080p. Is there some setting that I've missed that is preventing this? I've searched the forums and can't seem to find a solution.

Thanks
slt780 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Get HDMI cable. You will get 1080p after that.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Get HDMI cable. You will get 1080p after that.....rolleyes.gif I'm just kidding xbox does not support 1080p. It only support 720p.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
slt780's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But the 360 I have is not HDMI.
slt780 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 08:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Socketman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 65
You will get 1080p on games over component but only 1080i on dvd's and hdvd's. you need hdmi to get 1080p with hd-dvd's or upscale dvd's. Have you gone into the user settings on your xbox and changed teh display resolution. Try directly to you tv to rule out the reciever rescaling your xbox.



One other thing. make sure to set the switch on your component cable to HD.

http://www.coldforged.org/archives/2006/11/10/xbox-360-high-definition-and-hd-dvd-faq/
Socketman is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Again Xbox only supports 720p.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 09:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
TuenMuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Again Xbox only supports 720p.

Actually xb360 does support 1080p, according to Mircosoft themselves:

http://www.zune.net/en-US/support/zunexbox/watchingvideos/HDvsSD.htm

BD-A1010/CD-S1000/PF60
HTR-6290/A-S1000/KDL46V5100
NS-555/SOAVO-900C/NS-125F

BD - 242
HD - 7
TuenMuner is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-15-2012, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuenMuner View Post

Actually xb360 does support 1080p, according to Mircosoft themselves:
http://www.zune.net/en-US/support/zunexbox/watchingvideos/HDvsSD.htm

Okie dokie. If it makes you happy then the Xbox 360 does play may be 1080i, but I doubt it. A good example is Vudu movies. The highest resolution from Vudu is HD = 720p not HDX = 1080p. The new XBOX is supposed to be a full 1080p console. But just to make everyone happy the Xbox does play 1080p rolleyes.gif

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-16-2012, 04:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
TuenMuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Okie dokie. If it makes you happy then the Xbox 360 does play may be 1080i, but I doubt it. A good example is Vudu movies. The highest resolution from Vudu is HD = 720p not HDX = 1080p. The new XBOX is supposed to be a full 1080p console. But just to make everyone happy the Xbox does play 1080p rolleyes.gif

Denial is a wondelful thing. Try re-post this at the AVS 360 forum and those fanboys will burn you alive.

BD-A1010/CD-S1000/PF60
HTR-6290/A-S1000/KDL46V5100
NS-555/SOAVO-900C/NS-125F

BD - 242
HD - 7
TuenMuner is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-16-2012, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuenMuner View Post

Denial is a wondelful thing. Try re-post this at the AVS 360 forum and those fanboys will burn you alive.

Hey, I own two xboxes. The Xbox 360 and the Xbox 360 Slim. They are awesome gaming consoles. I also own a PS3, and they both have good picture quality, but the xbox does not play 1080, and I remember Xbox saying this as well, and they stated that the new Xbox would play native 1080p. However, I don't know when this changed and all of the sudden the Xbox plays 1080p rolleyes.gif It is amazing how company do false adverstisement.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-16-2012, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
slt780's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, the switch is set at HDTV. The best I can get is 1080i. I think it has something to do with the receiver rescaling the video. When I connect it directly to the TV I get 1080p. Is there any setting in the vsx-1121 that I'm missing?
slt780 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-16-2012, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
While the Xbox 360 does support 1080p over component video cables, the VSX-1121 does not support conversion of 1080p component video to HDMI.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 04-11-2013, 06:16 AM
Newbie
 
StandupSumo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a xbox 360 S. In the HDTV settings you can put it on either 1080i or 1080p for games, and it does play them in that full HD res.
Sorry bud you're dumb:eek:
StandupSumo is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 04-11-2013, 06:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Hey, I own two xboxes. The Xbox 360 and the Xbox 360 Slim. They are awesome gaming consoles. I also own a PS3, and they both have good picture quality, but the xbox does not play 1080, and I remember Xbox saying this as well, and they stated that the new Xbox would play native 1080p. However, I don't know when this changed and all of the sudden the Xbox plays 1080p rolleyes.gif It is amazing how company do false adverstisement.
Sorry, you are misinformed. While it is true that Xbox mostly only capable of 720p or less for games, it is perfectly fine output 1080p in video player. I have 3 Xboxes for tv watching and all of them output 1080p video just fine.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #15 of 15 Old 04-11-2013, 07:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,040
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by StandupSumo View Post

I have a xbox 360 S. In the HDTV settings you can put it on either 1080i or 1080p for games, and it does play them in that full HD res.
Sorry bud you're dumb:eek:

Most Xbox games only have native resolution < 720p. The xbox simply scale whatever resolution to 1080p, not full HD.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off