Can I use a 7.1 receiver for whole home audio? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickg2027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have 5 rooms that I would like to be able to play pandora, AM/FM, iPad dock etc. I realize all five listening areas will be hearing the same thing if I use a 7.1 receiver and that is ok.

I will install 3 speakers in main listening area and 1 speaker in the remaining 4 rooms. I am looking at a refurbished Denon AVR-1712 from accessories 4 less. I will install line level volume controls in each room and leave the receiver volume at approximately 3/4.

My question is, can this receiver or any other 7.1 receiver play a mono signal across all 7 speakers so that the same audio is heard in all rooms.

I am trying to do this as cheap as possible so any other solutions to this will be greatly appreciated.
nickg2027 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickg2027 View Post

I have 5 rooms that I would like to be able to play pandora, AM/FM, iPad dock etc. I realize all five listening areas will be hearing the same thing if I use a 7.1 receiver and that is ok.
I will install 3 speakers in main listening area and 1 speaker in the remaining 4 rooms. I am looking at a refurbished Denon AVR-1712 from accessories 4 less. I will install line level volume controls in each room and leave the receiver volume at approximately 3/4.
My question is, can this receiver or any other 7.1 receiver play a mono signal across all 7 speakers so that the same audio is heard in all rooms.
I am trying to do this as cheap as possible so any other solutions to this will be greatly appreciated.

Pretty much any 5.1, 7.1, 7.2, 9.2 receiver will be able to play Mono signal to all channels. You do know that if someone in any of the rooms doesn't want to listen to the music you will have to disconnect the speaker for this? Or if the AVR you get can do zones, you can connect the bedrooms to one zone and the other room to the other zone. That way if you want people in the bedroom to go to bed without the music you just turn that specific zone off wink.gif.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickg2027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Pretty much any 5.1, 7.1, 7.2, 9.2 receiver will be able to play Mono signal to all channels. You do know that if someone in any of the rooms doesn't want to listen to the music you will have to disconnect the speaker for this? Or if the AVR you get can do zones, you can connect the bedrooms to one zone and the other room to the other zone. That way if you want people in the bedroom to go to bed without the music you just turn that specific zone off wink.gif.
Also, you should of put this thread in the AMPS, RECEIVER and PROCESSORS section. You will get better support there.

Sorry, I thought this was posted in the AMPS, RECEIVER and PROCESSORS section. At least that is what my computer shows.

The line level volume controls wouldn't be able to turn the volume all the way to mute?

Thanks,
nickg2027 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Never mind it was in the correct place. It was me. I was switching back and forth between forums / threads. I'm not familiar with line level volume with mono settings. May be someone else has done something similar. With my AVR HT-R960 if I put it on Mono all my speaker sound the same.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickg2027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
nickg2027 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:

Ok, now I got you. I thought you mean controlling the volume via AVR. That volume controller should work just fine. That's an excellent idea too. You just gave me an idea on putting speakers outside in the patio and garage area by using the zones option. Excellent. I learn something new all the time on this Forum.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickg2027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sweet, glad we helped each other out.

What exactly is the mode called when pushing mono to all 7 speakers? I just wanted to read the manual on how to accomplish this.

Does anyone else have a cheaper solution?

Thanks again.
nickg2027 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 592
My AVR has mono, stereo, and all channels stereo.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 02:18 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
Mid/lower level Denon AVRs (including the 1712 you are considering) in your price range do not have a "mono" option. If you are passing the same audio to all speakers, you can use the Denon's "Multi CH Stereo" feature with the FL/C/FR speakers connected in the main room and 2 "stereo" (ie. single speaker with stereo connections) speakers connected to each of the SL/SR and SBL/SBR speaker posts (either wired in parallel or using an impedance matching speaker selector).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nickg2027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Mid/lower level Denon AVRs (including the 1712 you are considering) in your price range do not have a "mono" option. If you are passing the same audio to all speakers, you can use the Denon's "Multi CH Stereo" feature with the FL/C/FR speakers connected in the main room and 2 "stereo" (ie. single speaker with stereo connections) speakers connected to each of the SL/SR and SBL/SBR speaker posts (either wired in parallel or using an impedance matching speaker selector).

Could you recommend a cheap speaker that would have the stereo connections? I was looking at the Polk atrium or Polk monitor 30 and both only have one set of speaker terminals.

Thanks

Sent from my SGH-I997 using Tapatalk
nickg2027 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-16-2012, 06:04 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,774
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 1299
http://www.amazon.com/Polk-Audio--Ceiling-Stereo-Speaker/dp/B0000WWP4M/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1342487056&sr=1-1&keywords=single+stereo+speaker

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off