TrueHD or DTS-HD over S/PDIF? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-16-2012, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kklarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm trying to get a HTPC to bitsream to my VSX-1120. The Windows 8 AMD ATI HDMI audio driver isn't working, so I'm trying S/PDIF (optical). I'm getting DD5.1 and DTS to work, but not TrueHD or DTS-HD MA. I've read that other Pioneer receivers needed these signals to go over HDMI, but I don't see that in the VSX-1120 manual. Can anyone confirm whether TrueHD or DTS-HD MA works over S/PDIF to the VSX-1120? Thanks.
kklarson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-16-2012, 10:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
^^^

no can do... regardless of avr, you need to be connected by hdmi to stream the lossless codecs...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-16-2012, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Greg121986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It is my understanding that DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Master Audio, are only transmittable through HDMI. This is due in part to bandwidth requirements for the multi channels, but more so due to Dolby making this decision. If you have to transmit through SPDIF, your HTPC will have to down-sample to Dolby Digital.
Greg121986 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-16-2012, 10:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
^^^

neither of those are the reasons... it's for copy protection...

spdif technically has more than enough bandwidth, and dolby has nothing to do with the decision to copy protect lossless codecs...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-16-2012, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kklarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for all of the quick responses. Will save me more hours of head banging. Hopefully AMD will get its HDMI audio driver for Windows 8 out soon since the full release is in October.
kklarson is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 10-05-2012, 04:40 AM
Member
 
Cow000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello AVS people!


I have a question :

With a 2.1 Home cinema, which can decode DTS HD & True HD, connected with SPIDIF, how the Home cinema will react ? It will automaticly decode the DTSHD & TrueHD in DTS (or something like that) for playing it ?? The qualit will be degraded if so ?


Many Thx
Cow000 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 10-05-2012, 04:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,226
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1372 Post(s)
Liked: 1597
No. As previously noted, HDMI is required to pass HD DD/DTS audio codecs. S/PDIF can only pass standard DD/DTS and PCM 2.0. So if the source is connected to the home cinema with S/PDIF, it will only pass the standard DD/DTS audio track and not the HD audio track.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-05-2012, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Cow000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

No. As previously noted, HDMI is required to pass HD DD/DTS audio codecs. S/PDIF can only pass standard DD/DTS and PCM 2.0. So if the source is connected to the home cinema with S/PDIF, it will only pass the standard DD/DTS audio track and not the HD audio track.

Yes i understand this.

I ask one more time to be sure of the answer before making my move,


So
i play my Bluray audio in DTSHD & TrueHD with SPDIF
my Home cinema 2.1 channel can decode TrueHD & DTSHD & many more

My Home cinema is going to play DTS (PCM or something else) insteed of DTSHD
or
no audio will be play at all by the homecinema ???


(i mean the spdif is going to "compress" the DTSHD audio and sent it to the homecinema or simply not allow it to pass so the home cinema is not reciving anyting ?)


Thx again for your time
Cow000 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 10-05-2012, 05:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,226
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1372 Post(s)
Liked: 1597
As I already noted, the Blu Ray player will detect there is no HDMI connection and therefore will pass the lossy/standard DD/DTS track instead of passing the HD DD/DTS track if an HDMI cable was connected so your home cinema will simply play that standard DD/DTS audio track.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 10-05-2012, 05:27 AM
Member
 
Cow000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

As I already noted, the Blu Ray player will detect there is no HDMI connection and therefore will pass the lossy/standard DD/DTS track instead of passing the HD DD/DTS track if an HDMI cable was connected so your home cinema will simply play that standard DD/DTS audio track.

Got it thx a lot


So DTSHD track include DTS ?? Because the bluray movie has no DTS track....
Cow000 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 10-05-2012, 06:51 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,226
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1372 Post(s)
Liked: 1597
Yes, the BD will also include a "core" DD/DTS track so even when the HD DD/DTS track is selected, the "core" non-HD DD/DTS track will be played by the home cinema when connected via a S/PDIF cable.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 10-05-2012, 07:23 AM
Member
 
Cow000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Yes, the BD will also include a "core" DD/DTS track so even when the HD DD/DTS track is selected, the "core" non-HD DD/DTS track will be played by the home cinema when connected via a S/PDIF cable.

Perfect.


Thanks a lot for your time and have a nice day

Bye
Cow000 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off