Digital Input Assign - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 07-17-2012, 02:37 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello people. I'm fairly new to this stuff and can't really grasp the idea of Digital Input Assignment. Can anyone please help by explaining the concept ? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 07-17-2012, 03:29 AM
585-645-1006

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
It generally means that regardless of what input source name is listed next to the HDMI/optical/coax digital jack on the back of the AVR, that you can "assign" that jack to another source name (eg. HDMI1 labels says "BD", but just because you plug the HDMI cable into HDMI1 doesn't mean you have to use the "BD" source name, rather you can "assign" it to SAT/CBL if you want to).

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Mon - Fri: 10am – 10pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
post #3 of 5 Old 07-17-2012, 07:02 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
^^^ Pretty much, but I've only had Denon's and never seen it on HDMI cables. I've usually seen it more to tie a digital coax/optical input to a legacy analog input. For example, I have my Cable box and Wii connecting to the legacy component inputs and, since both use a digital audio input, I have to use the digital input assign to tell the Denon that the two jacks I selected are tied to those two component inputs.

If all you're using is HDMI, I don't think you'll even need this feature.
post #4 of 5 Old 07-17-2012, 08:46 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 801
RONSCHR wrote:
Quote: