Marantz SR7007 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 42 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1241 Old 06-03-2015, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Odys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I purchased a refurbished 7007 several months ago. The other day one of the rear hdmi ports stopped working. I swapped devices into that input, both devices worked in the other hdmi port, neither in this bad one. Is there any kind of reset I can do to get it to recognize the devices again? I'd hate to have to send it in for repair just for this.
Odys is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1241 Old 06-03-2015, 02:29 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,893
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4888 Post(s)
Liked: 2531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odys View Post
I purchased a refurbished 7007 several months ago. The other day one of the rear hdmi ports stopped working. I swapped devices into that input, both devices worked in the other hdmi port, neither in this bad one. Is there any kind of reset I can do to get it to recognize the devices again? I'd hate to have to send it in for repair just for this.
You could try doing a microprocessor reset (p. 179 Owner's manual), although most likely will need repair if you have to use it.
Odys likes this.

------------------
Ask for "JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1233 of 1241 Old 06-04-2015, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Gerryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerryh View Post
I have a related question. My friend has a Denon 3805 and Sony Blue Ray 5100. He also has a Zone 2 issue. Right now the Blue Ray and Cable box go directly to TV via HDMI and sound passes from these devices via coax to 3805. The Blue ray only has that one digital output other than HDMI. To play Pandora in Zone 2 streamed from the 5100, a DAC could be used but this would compromise the quality of sound for movies since all sound from 5100 would pass to receiver in 2 channel analog, ( I believe the Denon would turn that back to 5.1 with some internal circuitry). He does have the option of getting all the sound via optical connection from TV ( a 2 year old hi end Sony LCD) and could pass that to the 3805 and therefore use the DAC on the coax line out of the 5100 for zone 2. Would that work? or would it be best to get something like Amazon Fire just for the outside Pandora ( and use the DAC on that). Or maybe a coax splitter?
I hope I made this clear enough - any thoughts?

Maybe I should post this in a Denon thread but I think it applies to the Marantz as well. Any thoughts on this. Thanks for your help

GH
Gerryh is offline  
post #1234 of 1241 Old 06-04-2015, 01:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,893
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4888 Post(s)
Liked: 2531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerryh View Post
I have a related question. My friend has a Denon 3805 and Sony Blue Ray 5100. He also has a Zone 2 issue. Right now the Blue Ray and Cable box go directly to TV via HDMI and sound passes from these devices via coax to 3805. The Blue ray only has that one digital output other than HDMI. To play Pandora in Zone 2 streamed from the 5100, a DAC could be used but this would compromise the quality of sound for movies since all sound from 5100 would pass to receiver in 2 channel analog, ( I believe the Denon would turn that back to 5.1 with some internal circuitry). He does have the option of getting all the sound via optical connection from TV ( a 2 year old hi end Sony LCD) and could pass that to the 3805 and therefore use the DAC on the coax line out of the 5100 for zone 2. Would that work? or would it be best to get something like Amazon Fire just for the outside Pandora ( and use the DAC on that). Or maybe a coax splitter?
I hope I made this clear enough - any thoughts?

More than likely the TV is only passing PCM 2.0 over the optical cable now from the audio input by the BDP and cable box, so no real loss if only analog 2.0 coming from the 5100.

------------------
Ask for "JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1235 of 1241 Old 06-04-2015, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Gerryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the Denon will take the 2.0 and make it 5.1 again? If so, will there be a noticeable degradation in sound. Then, will the Amazon Fire or a box like that be the best solution? (using the DAC into the Denon for zone 2).

GH
Gerryh is offline  
post #1236 of 1241 Old 06-04-2015, 03:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,893
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4888 Post(s)
Liked: 2531
^^
Likely no audible difference either way. Best for him to just try for himself.

------------------
Ask for "JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1237 of 1241 Old 06-05-2015, 07:07 AM
Member
 
Gerryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will do. Thanks

GH
Gerryh is offline  
post #1238 of 1241 Old 06-21-2015, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Long Read.....Marantz SR7007 Delemma......?

Withe a user name like mine, (humor) I hope to get at least a bit of sound advise. BTW, you guys are great.

I purchased new, in 2002 The "nightmare," a SR7200. (I tried a 2X priced Denon & others before keeping the SR7200.) It was a nightmare when I switched providers. My Direct TV STB caused all sorts of problems. After abandoning all hope I picked a 2nd Hand SR6003. All was well.... Got a few years of bliss.

Of recent, I wired a phono pre-amp & the thing went into "rapid blinking standby light," mode. I called the closest Marantz dealer & they informed me parts are no longer available & the thing is pretty much, moot.

I removed the cover. No blown fuse, no hot electronic smells. I noticed there is a clear plastic relay box behind the PT, but didn't explore or disassemble any further.

Out of panic, I ordered a new SR7007 @ a much reduced cost from a reputable online dealer, realizing the model is 3 years old.

Out if curiosity, I reconnected the SR7200 & it's been handling Dolby Digital without any issues so far. There is a local repair shop that can repair most anything, however they usually have a heavy back log. I'll find out tomorrow.

If I can get the SR6003 repaired for under 2-$300, I'd be saving close to $500.
What would you do? Are we into the era of replace, not repair, a disposable era of electronics?

I don't care about Networking, Airplay, Smart Tv's, etc.

I'm sure there would be some sonic improvements on a new unit, however the SR6003 did everything I wanted & sounded wonderful with my setup.
oLnuTjOb is offline  
post #1239 of 1241 Old 07-07-2015, 05:00 PM
Member
 
amairphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When i upgraded my whole system a couple years back (when the SR7007) was released i got the System Audio Saxo 30s and was never truly happy with them. In fact i hated them. They were fine for movies, but for music they sounded flat and had no punch. I always wanted the PSB Imagine T towers but i think i missed the boat. I have been searching for about a year now and finally found some. Set them up today and re-run the audyssey, and wow do they sound good with the SR7007. Finally can listen to music and be happy again.
amairphoto is offline  
post #1240 of 1241 Unread Today, 12:36 PM
Newbie
 
BIG JUICE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
pandora with different video?

Hey guys a had a defective refurb denon that I swapped out for my sr7007. I was able to watch baseball while pandora played through speaker. I am unable to find this setting on my sr7007. It was a simple video output switch from online menu once the pandora was playing, it just played what my tivo input was tuned to. Is this possible with the sr7007? Could you guys please help me figure it out? Thanks!
BIG JUICE is online now  
post #1241 of 1241 Unread Today, 01:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,893
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4888 Post(s)
Liked: 2531
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG JUICE View Post
Hey guys a had a defective refurb denon that I swapped out for my sr7007. I was able to watch baseball while pandora played through speaker. I am unable to find this setting on my sr7007. It was a simple video output switch from online menu once the pandora was playing, it just played what my tivo input was tuned to. Is this possible with the sr7007? Could you guys please help me figure it out? Thanks!
The SR7007 is a 2012 model. The Video Select feature using Pandora was only first introduced on 2013 Denon and Marantz models. A work around if you have a 7.1 setup would be to change the AMP ASSIGN to 5.1+Zone2 and then you could select Pandora to the Zone 2 speakers (ie. your Surround Back speakers).

------------------
Ask for "JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr7007 Home Theater Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Sr7007 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off