The Official Bryston SP3 Thread. - Page 57 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1681 of 1695 Old 12-22-2014, 11:50 AM
Member
 
SoThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whiney Napa Valley
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Best wishes to all for a wonderful Christmas and holiday season, and for happy listening in 2015.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Godzilla XMAS - 300dpi.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	122.3 KB
ID:	435401  

Eschew obfuscation.
SoThere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1682 of 1695 Old 12-22-2014, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I love this Card. Hehe.

Merry Christmas to you all too. And a safe New Year.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #1683 of 1695 Old 12-22-2014, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 37
So I finally updated the firmware on mt OPPO and my SP3. As a result, I can no longer get any sound out of my BDP1. I tried to update it, but it hung up at 4% regardless of the amount of time I spent letting it load.

I have some cables coming today on loan for tryout, and can't use my BDP1 to test them.

I always seem to have issues with my vaunted "reliable" Bryston gear right before a holiday, so I can't get any service help.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is online now  
post #1684 of 1695 Old 12-22-2014, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonhawk View Post
So I finally updated the firmware on mt OPPO and my SP3. As a result, I can no longer get any sound out of my BDP1. I tried to update it, but it hung up at 4% regardless of the amount of time I spent letting it load.

I have some cables coming today on loan for tryout, and can't use my BDP1 to test them.

I always seem to have issues with my vaunted "reliable" Bryston gear right before a holiday, so I can't get any service help.
UPDATE:
Talked to Mike in Canada. He advised me that some internal signalling had been re-routed in the time since my last firmware upgrade --i.e. never-- and advised me to reset the eeprom, in the "Miscellaneous" part of the Service Menu. I did, it worked, all is well.

Thanks Mike--I take it all back!!

______________________

__________

Dave


Last edited by moonhawk; 12-22-2014 at 03:00 PM. Reason: spelling
moonhawk is online now  
post #1685 of 1695 Old Yesterday, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicoff View Post
Thanks!
My problem is that my center speaker is not up to the same sound quality as my two front speakers so I usually just use the 4.1 set up with music. I was wondering if I can tell the SP3 to omit the center channel when listening to music in surround mode.
Are your front main speakers full range? And, by the way dminches gave you the correct answer when he recommended using "none" for the center speakers. Its something that I did not even think about.
gbaby is online now  
post #1686 of 1695 Old Yesterday, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
Are your front main speakers full range? And, by the way dminches gave you the correct answer when he recommended using "none" for the center speakers. Its something that I did not even think about.
gbaby, you are slipping! I only answered after you didn't.

David M.
dminches is offline  
post #1687 of 1695 Old Yesterday, 01:27 PM
Member
 
SoThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whiney Napa Valley
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonhawk View Post
UPDATE:
Talked to Mike in Canada. He advised me that some internal signalling had been re-routed in the time since my last firmware upgrade --i.e. never-- and advised me to reset the eeprom, in the "Miscellaneous" part of the Service Menu. I did, it worked, all is well.

Thanks Mike--I take it all back!!
Whew! Glad that everything's working, Dave. The joys of the merger of audio and computers, eh? Remember when we didn't need to be geeky?

Best wishes for happy listening.

RJ

Eschew obfuscation.
SoThere is offline  
post #1688 of 1695 Old Yesterday, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoThere View Post
Whew! Glad that everything's working, Dave. The joys of the merger of audio and computers, eh? Remember when we didn't need to be geeky?

Best wishes for happy listening.

RJ
Thanks, RJ-

It's actually all gbaby's fault--He's the one that kept bugging me to update!

(Just kidding, gbaby--glad I finally did it. I just wish you didn't need an EE degree to get through the process with Bryston. My OPPO was incredibly simple in comparison. Plugged in an ethernet cable, and the TV screen said "Update available." There was a choice of "update" /"don't update" and the whole process took less than 5 minutes.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is online now  
post #1689 of 1695 Old Yesterday, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Yes Oppo's way of doing things is amazing. I wish they would come out with a processor. I am sure the Bryston would probably beat it but it would be close. And be easy to operate. With so much support.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #1690 of 1695 Old Yesterday, 05:53 PM
Member
 
SoThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whiney Napa Valley
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonhawk View Post
Thanks, RJ-

It's actually all gbaby's fault--He's the one that kept bugging me to update!

(Just kidding, gbaby--glad I finally did it. I just wish you didn't need an EE degree to get through the process with Bryston. My OPPO was incredibly simple in comparison. Plugged in an ethernet cable, and the TV screen said "Update available." There was a choice of "update" /"don't update" and the whole process took less than 5 minutes.
Yeah, gbaby, stop encouraging us! ;~}

Dave, I also have an Oppo (BDP-105), and the firmware updates are a model of clarity, as are their manuals, and their support is very quick and effective. Bryston has superb support, too, but they would benefit from looking at Oppo's leadership in documentation and FW updates. I have a great deal of regard for both companies and would certainly buy their products again.

Cheerio, and best of holiday listening,

RJ

Eschew obfuscation.
SoThere is offline  
post #1691 of 1695 Old Yesterday, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoThere View Post

Cheerio, and best of holiday listening,

RJ
Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.....

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is online now  
post #1692 of 1695 Old Today, 06:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
gbaby, you are slipping! I only answered after you didn't.
I did answer, but I answered wrong when I stated the only time I'd seen 4.1 was when an SACD was originally recorded in 4.1. Your comment on switching the center speaker to "none" was the correct response.
gbaby is online now  
post #1693 of 1695 Old Today, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonhawk View Post
Thanks, RJ-

It's actually all gbaby's fault--He's the one that kept bugging me to update!

(Just kidding, gbaby--glad I finally did it. I just wish you didn't need an EE degree to get through the process with Bryston. My OPPO was incredibly simple in comparison. Plugged in an ethernet cable, and the TV screen said "Update available." There was a choice of "update" /"don't update" and the whole process took less than 5 minutes.
Don't feel bad. My first upgrade was challenging, too.
gbaby is online now  
post #1694 of 1695 Old Today, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Merry Christmas to all of you. And a safe New Year.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #1695 of 1695 Unread Today, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Merry Christmas to all of you. And a safe New Year.
Merry Christmas to you, too, as well as everyone on this thread including Rich, David, Bighat, and Moonhawk.
gbaby is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Arcam



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off