The Official Bryston SP3 Thread. - Page 67 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 43Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2015, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Ok I guess I should put it another way. I have never had a component with balanced digital input or output. Are these only on real high end gear? Or is it common to see it on cheaper gear? Other than pro gear what are the advantages?
rhale64L7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2015, 03:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
I'm new to this thread and thinking about replacing a Cary Cinema 12 with an SP 3. Does the SP 3 accept DSD surround via HDMI, is it free of noises (clicks and pops) when switching HDMI sources, and can speaker crossovers be set individually? I suspect sound with the SP 3 may be a bit superior to that with the C12.

db
The SP3 does not do DSD, only PCM. I can't answer for sure on clicks and pops but don't believe so. Only issue I observed is it takes a second or so to relock on a signal when changing. A bit frustrating when wanting to hear the beginning of a song.
jima4a is offline  
Old 09-01-2015, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post
The SP3 does not do DSD, only PCM. I can't answer for sure on clicks and pops but don't believe so. Only issue I observed is it takes a second or so to relock on a signal when changing. A bit frustrating when wanting to hear the beginning of a song.
I have no relock problems with my SP3. I don't have a problem with hearing the beginning of a song. There is no cut off of the first few seconds. As far as DSD, I looked at catalog of music and found that there is not one title that I have any interest in, and I was totally unfamiliar with the artist on DSD. I like modern music so I have no need for DSD. Its a PCM world. If you are a classical music lover, then DSD is something you need to pursue.
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 101
As I understand it, there is a delicate balance between suppressing audio during HDMI handshakes and missing the start of a track. Bryston may be on the suppression side, Cary on the minimizing audio loss side even though occasional noisy handshakes assault the listener. The Cary does accept surround DSD.

db
dbphd is offline  
Old 09-02-2015, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
As I understand it, there is a delicate balance between suppressing audio during HDMI handshakes and missing the start of a track. Bryston may be on the suppression side, Cary on the minimizing audio loss side even though occasional noisy handshakes assault the listener. The Cary does accept surround DSD.

db
I have always wondered how processors like the Foundation and perhaps the Cary can do multi-channel DSD. Does it convert to PCM when you use bass managagement?
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
I have always wondered how processors like the Foundation and perhaps the Cary can do multi-channel DSD. Does it convert to PCM when you use bass managagement?
Indeed.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Yes gbaby with the Foundation I ran all speakers fullrange. I have identical spkrs all around x7. They play flat to 40hz . So to me it was incredible.

In fact I had one hdcd that I would play with my oppo 105. The oppo sends out hdcd. I sold the 105 because the dacs in the Foundation were the same. My new bluray player when playing the same cd sounds not as good. All regular cd's sound the same or close enough that I really can't tell the difference. But that one Keiko Matsui hdcd when played back is not as layered,or smooth.
rhale64L7 is online now  
Old 09-02-2015, 11:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
I have always wondered how processors like the Foundation and perhaps the Cary can do multi-channel DSD. Does it convert to PCM when you use bass managagement?
I use a Sony XA5400ES to play surround SACDs. The Cary Cinema 12 displays DSD. As far as I can tell there is no bass management and the subs are not activated -- a small blue light on the Velodyne HGS-15s comes on when the sub is active, and I don't see that light. With non-DSD, bass management by the Cary seems very effective.

db
dbphd is offline  
Old 09-03-2015, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
Indeed.
Thanks. Your answers are always succinct. Well in that case, that means only 2 channels are DSD and multichannel is PCM 176/24. Not bad though.
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-03-2015, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
Thanks. Your answers are always succinct. Well in that case, that means only 2 channels are DSD and multichannel is PCM 176/24. Not bad though.
Not true with the Cary Cinema 12 or 11a. Multichannel is DSD as well. IIRC, Kal Rubinson really liked the sound of PCM from the Sony XA5400ES through the Bryson SP-3, a combination I may soon try if I buy a used SP-3.

db
dbphd is offline  
Old 09-03-2015, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
Not true with the Cary Cinema 12 or 11a. Multichannel is DSD as well. IIRC, Kal Rubinson really liked the sound of PCM from the Sony XA5400ES through the Bryson SP-3, a combination I may soon try if I buy a used SP-3.

db
I think all mult-channel DSD processors convert to PCM when you use a crossover frequency for a sub unless you use the "large" speaker setting with no crossover frequency. As far as a used SP-3, I don't think you can go wrong. I am still enamored with mine, and with the BDP-2 using its balanced digital output, music never sounded better. It sort of reminds me of that reel to reel sound from an old TEAC tape recorded I owned.
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-03-2015, 03:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
I think all mult-channel DSD processors convert to PCM when you use a crossover frequency for a sub unless you use the "large" speaker setting with no crossover frequency.
Yes. No AVR or prepro, afaik, can do any DSP on DSD, so a conversion to PCM is necessary. Of course, not everyone needs to do bass management.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
Old 09-03-2015, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
Yes. No AVR or prepro, afaik, can do any DSP on DSD, so a conversion to PCM is necessary. Of course, not everyone needs to do bass management.
Kal, thank you for the confirmation. Well dbphd, there is your answer.
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-04-2015, 01:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I'm not sure what the Cary Cinema 12 does internally when presented with DSD, but I'm pretty sure it does no speaker management. I've not seen the subs activated unless the SACD is the rare 5.1. The center channel is not distributed to the LR channels if the input is bitstream. I discovered this when the Blue-ray The Devil Wears Prada had no dialog. Setting the output of the Oppo 105 to LPCM restored dialog -- I've since added a center channel. My experience with the Sony XA5400ES and Cary C12 is limited to surround, because I prefer the Ayre C-5xeMP through the Parasound JC 2 BP for stereo. The Oppo 105 is used with the Cary C12 for HT with Blue-ray and a DirecTV HR44 HD DVR as sources, and the subs are frequently activated with those sources.

db
dbphd is offline  
Old 09-05-2015, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I think I just bought a Bryston SP3 listed on Audiogon. I notice that both Bryston and Cary recommend that their processors receive bitstream from the source so that their unit rather than the source does the processing. Not sure I understand the distinction between DSD and bitstream, nor why the SP3 doesn't accept DSD but prefers bitstream. I'm hoping the SP3 sounds as good as reviews suggest. I have been so impressed with the sound of CDs played on my Ayre C-5xeMP and passed balanced to my Parasound JC 2 preamp that I think I'll try balanced digital from the Ayre to the Bryston for comparison -- the Ayre has a single balanced analog output.

db
dbphd is offline  
Old 09-05-2015, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
I think I just bought a Bryston SP3 listed on Audiogon. I notice that both Bryston and Cary recommend that their processors receive bitstream from the source so that their unit rather than the source does the processing. Not sure I understand the distinction between DSD and bitstream, nor why the SP3 doesn't accept DSD but prefers bitstream. I'm hoping the SP3 sounds as good as reviews suggest. I have been so impressed with the sound of CDs played on my Ayre C-5xeMP and passed balanced to my Parasound JC 2 preamp that I think I'll try balanced digital from the Ayre to the Bryston for comparison -- the Ayre has a single balanced analog output.

db
Please let me know how this works out for you.
rhale64L7 is online now  
Old 09-05-2015, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
I think I just bought a Bryston SP3 listed on Audiogon. I notice that both Bryston and Cary recommend that their processors receive bitstream from the source so that their unit rather than the source does the processing. Not sure I understand the distinction between DSD and bitstream, nor why the SP3 doesn't accept DSD but prefers bitstream. I'm hoping the SP3 sounds as good as reviews suggest. I have been so impressed with the sound of CDs played on my Ayre C-5xeMP and passed balanced to my Parasound JC 2 preamp that I think I'll try balanced digital from the Ayre to the Bryston for comparison -- the Ayre has a single balanced analog output.

db

You did what? That's hard to believe, but, if so, congratulations and welcome to the club. If you like music, you will love the SP3. I listen to more music than ever sinc the SP3. I'd say 80% music 20% movies. The reason the SP3 does not do DSD is its chip cannot accommodate it. But, a D/A converter solves this issue.
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-05-2015, 09:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
The reason the SP3 does not do DSD is its chip cannot accommodate it. But, a D/A converter solves this issue.
Hmm. I got the impression that Kal Rubinson thought multichannel from the Sony XA5400ES to the SP3 sounded great, but multichannel from the Sony is only available via HDMI. Perhaps the HDMI handshake tells the Sony to send LPCM rather than DSD. It will be a disappointment if I need a D/A converter between my Sony and the SP3. The principal duties of the SP3 will be multichannel music from the Sony and HT from an Oppo 105D; stereo is Ayre C-5xeMP to a Parasound JC 2 BP analog preamp. Vinyl is a Thorens TD 124 to a JC 3 phono stage then JC 2 BP, but I'll likely try JC 3 to SP3 as well.

db
dbphd is offline  
Old 09-05-2015, 09:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,127
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbphd View Post
Hmm. I got the impression that Kal Rubinson thought multichannel from the Sony XA5400ES to the SP3 sounded great, but multichannel from the Sony is only available via HDMI. Perhaps the HDMI handshake tells the Sony to send LPCM rather than DSD.
that is so.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
Old 09-11-2015, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Background
My HT setup is comprised of an Oppo 105D and Sony XA5400ES as sources, a Cary Cinema 12 prepro, Parasound JC 1 mono blocks for LCR, a pair of KEF Reference 107/2s and a KEF R600C. I set up the center channel because the Sony sends DSD to the Cary, and its center channel is not distributed to the LR channels. The Oppo can be set to output LPCM, so the Cary can distribute its center channel to LR. I await delivery of a Bryston SP3 to replace the Cary; the SP3 will accept only LPCM from the Sony. Finally, the KEF 107/2s image very well, so a center channel is not needed for dialog. The issue is mch music via HDMI from the Sony.

Question
Assuming the SP3 receiving LPCM from the Sony can distribute the center channel to the LR channels, is there any reason not to take down the center channel to eliminate clutter between the LR speakers and facilitate stereo? I suppose I could sell the JC 1 and R600C now used for that channel. (I use an Ayre C-5xeMP and JC 2 BP for stereo.)

db
dbphd is offline  
Old 09-11-2015, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,305
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 95
The Official Bryston SP3 Thread.

db, re the phantom Center channel, do you want perfect sound for one person or good sound for everyone in the room? You might want to ask in a speaker setup forum, I don't see this as a Bryston specific question.

Your system is very complicated. I hope the Bryston cleans the JC's clock because you don't really need two or three preamps and 3 high-end players unless you want bragging rights. The Oppo should do the trick fed into the SP3. Of course keep the phono stage too.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.

Last edited by AVfile; 09-11-2015 at 08:11 PM.
AVfile is offline  
Old 09-12-2015, 04:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
db, re the phantom Center channel, do you want perfect sound for one person or good sound for everyone in the room? You might want to ask in a speaker setup forum, I don't see this as a Bryston specific question.

Your system is very complicated. I hope the Bryston cleans the JC's clock because you don't really need two or three preamps and 3 high-end players unless you want bragging rights. The Oppo should do the trick fed into the SP3. Of course keep the phono stage too.
IIRC Kal Rubinson wrote that he didn't compare the SP3 as a preamp to his JC 2. I'll try to do that. The JC 2 was like lifting a veil compared to the Cary.

In an earlier setup, both the Ayre and Sony were used as balanced analog sources for stereo. My impression was that sound of the Sony was close to the Ayre when playing SACDs, but not when playing CDs. The analog Sony sound differed a bit from that of the analog Oppo 105, and my preference depended on the material. It's been awhile since I compared the two, but I recall thinking the Oppo had more high frequency emphasis that could sound detailed or a bit harsh depending on material. The Sony sounds smoother.

But the bottom line is that I've had the three players and the JC 2 BP for a good while. I expect to replace the Cary with the SP3, and you might question the wisdom of that. The digital setup with the Cary (soon to be the SP3) sends LF to a Velodyne SMS-1 acoustic room corrector that manages a pair of HGS-15s. The analog setup with the JC 2 BP does not use the subs. I'm aware of the acoustic arguments for and against a center channel. My question concerned did the SP3 completely redistribute center information to the LR channels. The JC 3 will stay, as will the vintage Thorens 124 that sits atop my equipment cabinet as an icon I enjoy every time I walk by it.

db
AVfile likes this.
dbphd is offline  
Old 09-12-2015, 07:06 PM
Member
 
viclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello all,

Placed my order, expecting delivery next week. BTW it took me a week to get to the end (with The Wife's help). My sources will be Oppo 105 and a PS3.

Total newbie to streaming so I'd like to know what are your using to stream internet radio and music to the SP3 hardware and software. What about control I see some use jriver and Apple. I'm PC based and use an Android tablet anyone use Plex or others? I hope I don't need any additional hardware as my piggy bank already has an IOU in it and will have for some time.
viclaw is offline  
Old 09-14-2015, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by viclaw View Post
Hello all,

Placed my order, expecting delivery next week. BTW it took me a week to get to the end (with The Wife's help). My sources will be Oppo 105 and a PS3.

Total newbie to streaming so I'd like to know what are your using to stream internet radio and music to the SP3 hardware and software. What about control I see some use jriver and Apple. I'm PC based and use an Android tablet anyone use Plex or others? I hope I don't need any additional hardware as my piggy bank already has an IOU in it and will have for some time.
Congratulations on your new purchase. To be honest, streaming is not the best use of the sound of the SP3. You will need something like the BDP-2. However, if that is not possible, I'd use the digital output of any CD or blu-ray player as the SP3 has a great D/A converter.
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-14-2015, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
Congratulations on your new purchase. To be honest, streaming is not the best use of the sound of the SP3. You will need something like the BDP-2. However, if that is not possible, I'd use the digital output of any CD or blu-ray player as the SP3 has a great D/A converter.
I beg to differ. There should be no significant difference in sound between streaming or a disc player if the streamer is a quality one. Plus, streaming puts all your music at your finger tips.

David M.
dminches is offline  
Old 09-14-2015, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
I beg to differ. There should be no significant difference in sound between streaming or a disc player if the streamer is a quality one. Plus, streaming puts all your music at your finger tips.
I use to stream Apple TV, and thought I was getting a good sound. However, since the BDP-2, its no contest and I'm almost embarrassed that I thought I was getting a good sound from Apple TV. The BDP-2 is not streaming but playing music from USB drives. Incidentally, how the heck are you? Its been a long time since you have posted. I'm also curious as to the whereabouts of "So There", and tikitom.
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-14-2015, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
dminches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I am not talking about units like Apple TV which it not an audiophile player. I am talking about either a CAPS server or an Aurender. All of these, including the BDP, are streamers or servers. I am sure the BDP-2 is a nice unit among a good number that fit into that category of electronics.

David M.
dminches is offline  
Old 09-14-2015, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,652
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
I am not talking about units like Apple TV which it not an audiophile player. I am talking about either a CAPS server or an Aurender. All of these, including the BDP, are streamers or servers. I am sure the BDP-2 is a nice unit among a good number that fit into that category of electronics.
I thought the BDP-2 was a digital player as opposed to a streamer. I'll have to get back with you on this one.
gbaby is online now  
Old 09-14-2015, 06:38 PM
Member
 
viclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dminches View Post
I am not talking about units like Apple TV which it not an audiophile player. I am talking about either a CAPS server or an Aurender. All of these, including the BDP, are streamers or servers. I am sure the BDP-2 is a nice unit among a good number that fit into that category of electronics.
And so it goes. It's today's techno babble that makes me pine for my old turntable. Today we have arguments but the definitions are not understood so the arguments are moot. Yesterday we shunned tone controls and paid dearly for equipment without them. Today some people insist on a preamp with a PROGRAM that changes the signal for each speaker. Ahh now that's progress.

Anyway, being a newbie to this area (HT) I'm just trying to avoid mistakes and get the best (with what I have) sound.

No mås - happy listening and thanks for the welcome gbaby.
viclaw is offline  
Old 09-14-2015, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 198
I believe you are both correct. The BDP-2 is not a streamer. I believe it could be passed off as a server though. It is more of a player and Dac I believe. It is kind of unique as I don't believe they call it a Dac at all. Even though it I think has great dacs in it.
rhale64L7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Arcam
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off