Official Pioneer SC-68/67 Thread - Page 62 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1831 of 1854 Old 03-24-2014, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Goodfellas27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like Pioneer updated MCACC for their 2014 line of AVR. Now the have sub EQ. Sweet deal that they have SABRE DAC on their low end models.
I would love to the see their new 2014 Elite top of the line AVR.

MCACC Workflow tips <-- Click here
Goodfellas27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1832 of 1854 Old 03-24-2014, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,995
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goodfellas27 View Post

Looks like Pioneer updated MCACC for their 2014 line of AVR. Now the have sub EQ. Sweet deal that they have SABRE DAC on their low end models.
I would love to the see their new 2014 Elite top of the line AVR.

About 2 weeks late on the announcement - see below:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1522271/2014-pioneer-and-elite-lineup-hdmi-2-0-confirmed

What I think most of us want is for someone named Steve in Atlanta to share what he knows about that high-end Elite. Damn non-disclosures smile.gif
Must be patient.

Panasonic 60VT60 (cal by DNice)
Denon 5200 w/ Outlaw 2200 Amps (3)
Ascend Acoustics Sierra 2s F/R & Horizon w/ RAAL Center; Sierra 1s Surrounds; DefTech PM1000 Fronts, Ascend HTM-200s Top Middle and PSB S5 Rear Surrounds; Dual SVS subs
Oppo 103; Onkyo HD-DVD; Apple TV & Roku Stick
Atmos arrived on 9/30/2014
smurraybhm is online now  
post #1833 of 1854 Old 03-24-2014, 07:19 PM
Member
 
dscottj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I tried to draw him out about nine months ago, got nothing.

I pay my -57's same-as-cash loan off in July. I'm thinking the timing is not a coincidence.

Paranoid? Me?
dscottj is online now  
post #1834 of 1854 Old 04-04-2014, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
jer181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
anyone know how to play music via adapter port and play a game on ps3 at the same time? so that you can heard music through the system and not the game music?
jer181 is online now  
post #1835 of 1854 Old 04-07-2014, 03:46 AM
Newbie
 
BigOne88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigOne88 View Post

I have a Pioneer SC-67 and have been having interment sound cutting in and out for a couple of months and it was getting worse and more often and it would cut out for longer amount of time.

The first 2 months I just thought it was crappy cable reception. The last couple weeks I began noticing it more with blurays so I new it just wasn't poorcable reception.

I have a ton of high speed HDMI cables so I put in a new set and the same thing. Against my better judgment I spent some cash on some "better quality" ones and still cut out at least 5 or 6 times an hour.

I put two more speakers to get 7.1 surround just so I could finally finish it (For Now).

A couple of weeks later it just stopped sending any video to my tv and would shut down the tv. It was acting like it was shorting out.

I then started to check the other HDMI ports and they all work fine as long as the tv and receiver were not using the port for ARC in any configuration. ARC on the TV and not the receiver would shut down the TV and it did the same thing with ARC on the reviver and not on the TV.

I can use any of the other ports and it works great. I don't need ARC, I just use my HTPC and don't use the built in apps on the TV. I have the optical line hooked up so I can get sound out of the TV if needed.

I think it is the receiver because it has always dropped out of any surround setting I had it on just before the sound would quit for a second and then start working again.

The TV is Samsung 64" 8500 Plasma and they are both only 7 months old. I do have a 4 year warranty on the TV and 2 years on the reviver.

Just wanted to know if there is anything I could try before going without a TV and receiver for god knows how long when I take them in for warranty work.mad.gif

To fix this I had to do a factory reset and it works perfect again.

Thank you for helping me so I could get it working again.biggrin.gif
BigOne88 is offline  
post #1836 of 1854 Old 04-20-2014, 11:39 AM
Member
 
EmulousTrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you do a factory reset on a SC-67??
EmulousTrigger is offline  
post #1837 of 1854 Old 04-20-2014, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 343
^^
pg 81 in your operating manual.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #1838 of 1854 Old 04-22-2014, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
BigOne88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmulousTrigger View Post

How do you do a factory reset on a SC-67??

http://www.manualowl.com/m/Pioneer/SC-67/Manual/293711?search=factory+reset&x=0&y=0
BigOne88 is offline  
post #1839 of 1854 Old 05-29-2014, 10:21 PM
Newbie
 
megarat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Squirt Island, WA, USA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Have any SC-67/68 owners encountered any issues with composite video inputs, particularly with older devices, e.g., laserdisc players, vintage video consoles, etc.?  I've seen the notice about how if you use ARC with HDMI, you lose the SAT/CBL audio channels, but that's not what I'm referring to.  I'm specifically interested in how a perfectly working device can be hooked up to composite/analog connections, and the AVR being apparently incapable of detecting the incoming video signal.

 

(Some backstory:  I just picked up, and returned, an SC-77.  It was a lovely receiver, but I had to return it because it wasn't working with some of my composite video devices.  By not working, I mean the video wouldn't show up through the receiver.  The audio was working fine, but no video.  The devices that all had issues were on the older side (90's and earlier); the devices that were more modern (00's and later) fared just fine.  Sometimes I could get the video on these older devices to work by unplugging/replugging the cables, or by fussing with the video parameters, but sometimes, and with some devices, it wouldn't work at all.  All of these devices had worked (and still work) just fine with my VSX-32, so I don't know what the issue is.  Neither did the vendor, nor Pioneer support.  Hence my return.  I would still like to get a receiver that's capable of 9.1, and I'm fairly brand-loyal to Pioneer, but I don't know how far back this composite video bug extends.  I'm looking for information to help inform my decision:  go with an older Pioneer model, or wait for a later Pioneer model, or look toward another brand.

 

If you've successfully used this AVR with legacy devices (ideally multiple legacy devices) through a composite video input, or if you've encountered any issues getting said devices to work with this AVR, I'd appreciate hearing about it.

megarat is offline  
post #1840 of 1854 Old 06-06-2014, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
hoopsrgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
trying to look in the manual at Pioneer but it isnt loading. My airplay connection seems to be so damn buggy that I want to use my ipod but cant stand scroling forever to find what I want. Can I use the controls straight from the ipod to play on the sc-67? I can do it on my cheap 200 dollar car stereo, but cant seem to do it on the Pionner.

Am I just missing something?

nevermind...pretty simple find on that question... feeling stupid:(

Last edited by hoopsrgreat; 06-16-2014 at 09:36 AM.
hoopsrgreat is offline  
post #1841 of 1854 Old 06-27-2014, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Jarrod2750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi all. I'm trying to figure out how to hook up an eq to my sc 68. I'm not using for the eq functions, but just to have the meters running on it for the look. I have it connected to the dvr outs but nothing....... Any suggestions?
Jarrod2750 is offline  
post #1842 of 1854 Old 06-30-2014, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
jer181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This is probably a stupid question but would I get better sound quality while listening to music plugging a USB into the front USB slot over just the HDMI in the back? The websites states "DSD File playback brings SACD music quality to the front USB Input."
jer181 is online now  
post #1843 of 1854 Old 06-30-2014, 10:59 PM
Member
 
soniky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer181 View Post
would I get better sound quality while listening to music plugging a USB into the front USB slot over just the HDMI in the back? "
I don't know but I doubt it. Based on wikipedia, HDMI specs is very capable but it depends on what HDMI device and audio source do you connect it to:
"For digital audio, if an HDMI device supports audio, it is required to support the baseline format: stereo (uncompressed) PCM. Other formats are optional, with HDMI allowing up to 8 channels of uncompressed audio at sample sizes of 16-bit, 20-bit and 24-bit, with sample rates of 32 kHz, 44.1 kHz, 48 kHz, 88.2 kHz, 96 kHz, 176.4 kHz and 192 kHz.[20][55] HDMI also supports any IEC 61937-compliant compressed audio stream, such as Dolby Digital and DTS, and up to 8 channels of one-bit DSD audio (used on Super Audio CDs) at rates up to four times that of Super Audio CD.[55] With version 1.3, HDMI supports lossless compressed audio streams Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio."

One thing we know for sure about SC-68 is that the front USB interface only supports 2 channels (so does the USB in the back) but the HDMI in the back supports TrueHD and HD Master multichannels. However, I don't know if the USB in the front uses the same DAC as the HDMI in the back. There is another DAC supporting the USB in the back as well.
soniky is offline  
post #1844 of 1854 Old 07-01-2014, 08:59 AM
Newbie
 
adrock7309's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have been having an odd issue lately with my SC67. When i power up, the display comes on and even sometimes i hear the amp click on but no picture or sound. It appears as though i can switch inputs but nothing happens with sound or picture. At this point something in the device is hung up or froze. The power button doesnt work to power down and the only way to fix is to pull out the power cord, re plug it in, and power back up and it works normally. Any ideas what might be happening or how to fix? Doesnt happen everytime - but is concerning and annoying.

AVR: Pioneer SC-67 (5.2 set-up)
Display: Samsung PN60F8500
LCR: Def Tech Mythos 2, 8, 2
Subs: 2 x SVS SB-2000
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
adrock7309 is offline  
post #1845 of 1854 Old 07-02-2014, 11:56 AM
Member
 
soniky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^^^
Sounds like you either have a bad power feed, something wrong with the power supply or circuit board on your sc67. If this only happens to sc67, you should send the sc67 in for service.
soniky is offline  
post #1846 of 1854 Old 07-13-2014, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Flash676's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here's a new one for you.

The receiver wasn't making that distinct "click" sound when turned on and I wasn't getting sound out of any of the terminals aside from both subwoofer outputs. I checked that the amp was on, headphones weren't plugged in, and that it was not set to a different zone or set of B speakers.

The amp itself still works fine, it was able to turn itself on and play test tones to each speaker during manual setup. But immediately thereafter, the amp would turn itself off again.

I managed to fix this by changing the speaker setup to something different, then switching it back, and now it seems to be working fine again.

Has anyone else had this problem? Should I be worried of some impending failure or was this likely just an isolated event?

Thank you.
Flash676 is offline  
post #1847 of 1854 Old 07-28-2014, 09:43 AM
Member
 
Chuckinbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigOne88 View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by BigOne88 

I have a Pioneer SC-67 and have been having interment sound cutting in and out for a couple of months and it was getting worse and more often and it would cut out for longer amount of time.

The first 2 months I just thought it was crappy cable reception. The last couple weeks I began noticing it more with blurays so I new it just wasn't poorcable reception.

I have a ton of high speed HDMI cables so I put in a new set and the same thing. Against my better judgment I spent some cash on some "better quality" ones and still cut out at least 5 or 6 times an hour.

I put two more speakers to get 7.1 surround just so I could finally finish it (For Now).

A couple of weeks later it just stopped sending any video to my tv and would shut down the tv. It was acting like it was shorting out.

I then started to check the other HDMI ports and they all work fine as long as the tv and receiver were not using the port for ARC in any configuration. ARC on the TV and not the receiver would shut down the TV and it did the same thing with ARC on the reviver and not on the TV.

I can use any of the other ports and it works great. I don't need ARC, I just use my HTPC and don't use the built in apps on the TV. I have the optical line hooked up so I can get sound out of the TV if needed.

I think it is the receiver because it has always dropped out of any surround setting I had it on just before the sound would quit for a second and then start working again.

The TV is Samsung 64" 8500 Plasma and they are both only 7 months old. I do have a 4 year warranty on the TV and 2 years on the reviver.

Just wanted to know if there is anything I could try before going without a TV and receiver for god knows how long when I take them in for warranty work.


To fix this I had to do a factory reset and it works perfect again.

Thank you for helping me so I could get it working again.


I have the sound cutting out issue as well, although then it finally completely puked: made an awful noise and then wouldn't power up, blinking MCACC light only. Did factory reset and everything works again but still intermittent audio cut out and surround right speaker pops once in a while. With old Onkyo receiver, same speakers, same inputs, same power, same everything no issues with popping or sound output so its definitely the SC67. Bought from Best Buy but their support is lacking, have you guys ever got warranty work directly from Pioneer? Any suggestions?

UPDATE: Did another factory reset, immediately greeted with blinking "VE22" on the display. Per the owner's manual this error is related to an incomplete firmware/software flash, which of course I did not do so thats totally random. After looking into reflashing the firmware, I determined I had the most up to date version and re-powered the device once more. The error was arbitrarily gone and the unit operated normally for about 30 minutes then began the audio cutting out again (tested multiple HDMI sources (DVR, BD) and Airplay all with same result. The phenomenon becomes more and more frequent until it finally it cut out altogether and has the blinking MCACC light and will not power on.

Last edited by Chuckinbeast; 07-30-2014 at 06:03 PM.
Chuckinbeast is offline  
post #1848 of 1854 Old 08-07-2014, 04:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I had a rev sc 67.
Anyone could help me pls. turn off mode "Zone 2"
when i turn on power by remote, at screen rev display "Zone2".
I put on 2 times to return mode "bd" to see movie.
I log in to manu "setting system" to adjust only system 5.1 and saved.
But, no effect, i don't know how to resolve.
Help me pls.
bimbim06 is offline  
post #1849 of 1854 Old 08-24-2014, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
jer181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone have any ideas on how to get sound while I have my PC plugged in via HDMI? It was working fine last night and now its not. It doesn't even give me a test signal while in audio devices on the PC.
jer181 is online now  
post #1850 of 1854 Old 10-27-2014, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer181 View Post
Anyone have any ideas on how to get sound while I have my PC plugged in via HDMI? It was working fine last night and now its not. It doesn't even give me a test signal while in audio devices on the PC.
I would check the hdmi settings in the onboard video display. Are you outputting from a video card hdmi or onboard motherboard? Might want to make sure your audio drivers are up to date as well. Hope that helps.....
romanmarcus is offline  
post #1851 of 1854 Old 10-27-2014, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
jer181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by romanmarcus View Post
I would check the hdmi settings in the onboard video display. Are you outputting from a video card hdmi or onboard motherboard? Might want to make sure your audio drivers are up to date as well. Hope that helps.....

not sure what the problem was, but a factory reset fixed it
jer181 is online now  
post #1852 of 1854 Old 11-09-2014, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Jarrod2750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Optical out

Looks like the answer is no, but does the optical out on the 68 output audio from a hdmi source ? Couldn't confirm via the manual. Thanks
Jarrod2750 is offline  
post #1853 of 1854 Old 11-09-2014, 09:51 PM
Member
 
ricochet315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my Lx-86 a couple of days ago and ran the Auto MCACC to calibrate my Dynaudio front and center and Paradigm surround and back speakers. I am quite pleased with the result in my acoustically-treated room. My concern is I'd like to adjust the output to conform with the 4 ohms impedance of the Dyns and the 8 ohms Paradigms. Is this possible or will the MCACC take care of this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ricochet315 is offline  
post #1854 of 1854 Old 11-10-2014, 04:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 343
The feature of changing amp "output" for 4 ohm impedance doesn't exist in these class D3 amp SC models. All it ever did was current limit (starve) the power supply to the amps.

It's not needed because the class D3 amps are 4 ohm capable anyway. They are even rated as such. So there is nothing special for you to do for your 4 ohm speakers. Run MCACC for the setup and then enjoy

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Elite Sc 67 9 2 Channel Thx Select 2 Plus A V Receiver , Pioneer Elite Sc 68 9 2 Channel Thx Ultra 2 Plus A V Receiver , Receivers Amplifiers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off