Is it possible to bypass the Denon 3808 Bass Management? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 12:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is it possible to let the denon 3808 do all the decoding (DD, PL II, ...) but bypass the bass management?
sharok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post

Is it possible to let the denon 3808 do all the decoding (DD, PL II, ...) but bypass the bass management?

Yes, just set all speakers to "Large" coz in that case no contents from speaker channels will be sent to the subwoofer. Although I don't know why you would like to do that, but this is the answer.

BTW, Denon will do the decoding of DD (Dolby Digital) for a 5.1 source, but PL II is not a codec like DD, but a user selectable listening mode for 2 ch stereo materials expanding it to multi-channel.
mogorf is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 07:47 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,687
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Setting to Direct or Pure Direct mode will bypass both bass management and Audyssey.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Setting to Direct or Pure Direct mode will bypass both bass management and Audyssey.

Hey jd, how will Direct or Pure Direct handle DD as the OP originally wanted it to be decoded?
mogorf is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 08:05 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,687
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
The DD/DTS 5.1 would be processed but stereo 2.0 would not be processed using PLII, so good point.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #6 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogorf View Post

Yes, just set all speakers to "Large" coz in that case no contents from speaker channels will be sent to the subwoofer. Although I don't know why you would like to do that, but this is the answer.
BTW, Denon will do the decoding of DD (Dolby Digital) for a 5.1 source, but PL II is not a codec like DD, but a user selectable listening mode for 2 ch stereo materials expanding it to multi-channel.

I'd like to use a room correction/equalizer (Diva from Audio Control) system between my amp and pre/pro. Diva has a bass management system and I'd prefer to use that.
I hope the same thing will work with Oppo BD player.

You're right PLII is not a codec, my point was to make sure that all the codecs and conversions would be done except the bass management.
sharok is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 09:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,687
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
If you plan on using the Diva in conjuntion with Audyssey, it's recommended you run the Diva first.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #8 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you plan on using the Diva in conjuntion with Audyssey, it's recommended you run the Diva first.

If it were me I wouldn't use a parametric equalizer like the Diva in conjunction with Audyssey. But that's just me. Feel free. smile.gif
mogorf is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 10:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,687
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
I wouldn't either ... just say'n .... wink.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm not planning on using Audyssey at all. Do I need to use Audyssey?

Is it better to use Auddysey in conjunction with Diva?

I thought Diva would be better than Audyssey.

Your comments and suggestions would be appreciated.
sharok is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 11:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,687
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
If you have the $100 Audyssey Dyn EQ/Vol package installed, you would need to use Audyssey to use either of these features. I would suggest trying it both ways .. first with Diva (no Audyssey) and then with Audyssey (no Diva) as Audyssey is likely to provide better results.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

If you have the $100 Audyssey Dyn EQ/Vol package installed, you would need to use Audyssey to use either of these features. I would suggest trying it both ways .. first with Diva (no Audyssey) and then with Audyssey (no Diva) as Audyssey is likely to provide better results.

+1. smile.gif
mogorf is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm not using Audyssey.

An audio control certified installer wil install Diva for me. I was told by many people that Diva is much better than Audyssey and other calibration systems that come with any receiver if it is installed by an audiocontrol certified installer (he has audio analyzer, ....). Do you think Audyssey is better than Dive? Is it better to use both?
sharok is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Hspecialist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
After researching all the advanced features and huge amount of correction, my vote is for the Diva. Your subs will have 10 bands of filtering on and in itself with 15 bands on other channels with infinite parametric control, umm yeah! The Parametric abilities and filtering within the Diva is top notch. Your sub action imo will function much better as well as all other channels. There is a reason this product is setup by a engineer to maximize all available features. This is one great product!

Hspecialist is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
+1.
I talked to an Audyssey certified installer (only certified Audyssey, NOT Audio control Diva) and he also agreed that the Diva is more powerful than Any Audyssey models in the market. But he emphasized that the Diva MUST be installed by a certified installer in order to shine. Otherwise, as far as DIY is concerned, he said Audyssey is easier to set up than the Diva.

So based on what the Audyssey guy told me, I was not planning on using Audyssey at all, since I'm gonna use a certified installer for my Diva.
sharok is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 111
mogorf is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post

+1.
I talked to an Audyssey certified installer (only certified Audyssey, NOT Audio control Diva) and he also agreed that the Diva is more powerful than Any Audyssey models in the market. But he emphasized that the Diva MUST be installed by a certified installer in order to shine. Otherwise, as far as DIY is concerned, he said Audyssey is easier to set up than the Diva.
So based on what the Audyssey guy told me, I was not planning on using Audyssey at all, since I'm gonna use a certified installer for my Diva.

I think you have met a fake Audyssey guy! biggrin.gifcool.giftongue.gif
mogorf is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogorf View Post

I think you have met a fake Audyssey guy! biggrin.gifcool.giftongue.gif

I found him through the Audyssey website as a certified installer in my town. Unfortunately, I don't know anything about this room correction stuff. But based on what people've told me, it seemed like the Diva was a better choice.

BTW, it is much cheaper to install audyssey by a certified installer than the Diva (seems like Diva takes much longer time to install).

IMHO, Audyssey and Audio Control claim that they have an excellent room correction unit on their websites. But only people can judge them who have heard both units in action.
sharok is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 01:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,687
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Audyssey takes about 15 minutes of your time to EQ your speakers and sub. Have you never run AUTO SETUP(Audyssey) on the AVR at all?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #20 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Audyssey takes about 15 minutes of your time to EQ your speakers and sub. Have you never run AUTO SETUP(Audyssey) on the AVR at all?

No, I've never done that.

I was told in order to get the best result, it is better to have an installer to do the calibration setup. Since I have both units, I needed some advise to either choose between the two or to use them Pic_1.jpg 84k .jpg file Pic_2.jpg 91k .jpg file Pic_3.jpg 169k .jpg file both. My room is not acoustically treated. I have curtains and carpet and the left side is open to the kitchen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pic_3.jpg (169.1 KB, 2 views)
sharok is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 01:38 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,687
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
If you can afford a Diva ($11k), not sure why you're using a 3808. confused.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #22 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm upgrading my whole system including speakers and pre/pro. I just need to know what route to take in advance, so I can plan for it. That was the whole purpose of my question. I'd like to ask an installer to do the whole setup. I just needed some guidance on how to proceed and which room correction system to use.
sharok is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 04:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,687
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 635 Post(s)
Liked: 1374
Just as having an Audyssey Pro installer use the Audyssey Pro software to more finely tune the Audyssey software, I'm sure the Diva installer will do an appropriate job as well with the Diva software. Mogorf answered your original question in post #2.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #24 of 24 Old 07-29-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks again for your guidance and suggestions. I guess I'll go with Diva.
sharok is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off