Amp price difference - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 39 Old 07-30-2012, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys forgive me if this is a stupid Q. I am a noob when it comes to sound. Going from a AVR to seperates for the first time. I have been trying to read and lot of it is too technical for me. I have a pre amp in mind. When I started researching amps; I found significant difference in price between the ones I was looking at.

For eg, XPA-5 from Emotiva is <1K while A5 from Anthem is close to 4K. I am sure that there are amps out there that are significantly more expensive. So my question to u audiophiles is: why the significant difference in price? I am trying to justify spending 4K on it. Tough to compare one with other as the speakers and the room dynamics come into play.

What do you guys look for in choosing the amp?

I have paradigm studio 100 in front, CC590 in center, studios 20s in rear. Two subs: Paradigm ultracube 12 and HSU VTF-15H. Room is moderate size: 17X22.

Thanks in advance. Sorry if it has been covered before smile.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 Old 07-30-2012, 05:38 PM

Liked: 801
If you have to ask, you can't hear it.

The point, a lot of the differences which are heard are incrementally learned behaviors and if you've never been a separate kinda guy, then you'll be more than uber happy with the Emotiva.

OTOH, double blind tests have shown that if the Amp is hidden by a curtain, nobody can reliably tell the difference between which Amp is being used beyond statistical chance. And these double blind test have been done over and over and over again, over many years; not just once or twice, twenty years ago.

I'm rather shallow and look for an Amp with a reputation for using quality products, coupled with quality assembly/build and looks cool as all hell.

Nothing beats the cool glow of hot tubes at night.

biggrin.gif
post #3 of 39 Old 07-30-2012, 05:50 PM